We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Winter sun in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad El Zohar
Ranked #13 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Winter sun in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from a stunning 4 day break in Marrakech. Riad El Zohar is immersed in right in the centre of the vibrant and bustling souk in the heart of the old town of Marrakech, most of which can be seen from a sun-bed on the beautiful roof terrace! None of the traditional Moroccan style or culture is sacrificed by the comfort and luxury provided in the Riad, my family and I were lucky enough to experience the best of both worlds. It really is a wonderfully decorated, and yet spacious and relaxing place to stay, and could not be better located to explore such a diverse and exciting city. The staff were kind, welcoming and extremely helpful, and it felt as though we spent the entire time amongst friends. Upon our arrival we were given a tour of the old town with expert knowledge and guidance by Allan, which set us up perfectly to explore for the rest of our stay. We really enjoyed a visit to the local bbq stalls in the evening, which are fantastic value for money, and I would recommend number 1 in particular for seafood, however I found that the chips in number 81 are the best! Also, I had anticipated being hassled whilst walking around the city, but this was not the case. Shop owners etc do try to get your attention, but it is always in an honest, open and friendly way and at no point did I feel harassed or remotely unsafe. I honestly couldn't recommend Riad El Zohar or even a trip to Marrakech enough! Its a must visit destination, an absolutely stunning place to visit for the scenery, the culture and the warm weather was very nice as well! I will definitely be returning, and greatly look forward to doing so!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meghoughtongilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
203
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

From the point of arrival at Marrakech airport to ensuring we had a light dinner on return from our four day trip into the Atlas mountains, the staff at the Riad El Zohar were welcoming, friendly and always ready to help. As other reviewers have already mentioned the Riad is gorgeous and all the rooms are beautifully decorated. The location is excellent and the Riad is perfect for escaping from the hustle and bustle of the souks. Breakfast was delicious, varied and ample and always served with a smile.

We would recommend arranging airport transfers with the Riad, especially if it is your first time in Marrakech. It's only a short drive from the airport but it takes the stress out of finding the Riad (it does take a bit of practice to learn how to do navigate around the Medina).

As we were staying in the Riad in December, it was not quite warm enough to make use of the sundeck and plunge pool. They looked absolutely gorgeous and hopefully one day we will be back and will be able to make full use of these facilities.

Thank you to all the staff for making our first stay in Marrakech such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhensNextTripnPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just back from a fantastic 4 day break at Riad El Zohar. Previously we might have imagined that travelling independently to Marrakech with 3 children and arriving mid evening could be stressful; but due to Allan's expert knowledge, support, advice and organisation from the moment we booked, it was actually an absolute delight and felt like a real adventure for each of us. The Riad is situated right in the heart of the Medina but more important is the luxury, welcome and haven of peace it affords. From the moment we stepped off the plane we knew we had made an excellent choice. We were greeted off the plane by our driver with a car plenty big enough for the five of us, transferred to our 'hand cart' escort and whizzed through the tiny streets, finally stepping through a door in the side wall and being instantly transported into peace and pefection. Every space in the Riad is beautiful and peaceful; the food is amazing and the staff could not be more helpful, providing us with everything we could wish for from 'English' tea to perfectly cooked boiled eggs at breakfast. (Although with the delicious crepes, breads, juice, fruit, drinking yogurts, pastries etc we didn't really need boiled eggs in addition!). A huge thank you to all, it was a pleasure to meet you, to stay in your beautiful Riad, and we will be back.... Furthermore several friends are already wanting to book!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This lovely little Riad is a place you can kick back and feel at home. Beautifully decorated without being stuffy, we drifted through the public spaces, reading on the terrace during the warm sunny December days (27C/80F), and playing Scrabble by the fireplace at night. The staff were unfailingly helpful, the place was immaculate and we had a great shower-super pressure and lots of really hot water. The room had an AC/heating unit that worked well, important for us because I feel the cold and get very cranky if I can't get warm.

The proprietors were away during the first part of our trip, and there was a bit of resulting confusion regarding transportation that they had arranged, but that was a minor glitch in an otherwise superb experience topped off by one of the best New Years Eve parties we have ever attended. We would certainly stay there again if we found ourselves back in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Second floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKM549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

we were staying in another place that wasnt for us,and this charming riad came to our rescue,so we only arrived on the day it was booked.the staff made us feel very welcome,and the room was good.the location is also good as its very close to the souks and square.it is a little odd that there is no safe in youre room but you are to trust it to a member of staff,but this too is ok as its there way,same as the rooms no locks but again ok.the breakfast is good but you need to asks for eggs if you want them.we would deffinatly stay here again as it realy is a little home from home.its also quiet at night for those of you who are light sleepers,and you soon get use to the early morning calls from the local mosque,but this is the norm in any area of the madina.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just back from a fantastic 5 days at Riad El Zohar. Allan and Malika welocmed us at the door as we arrived to stay in their wonderful Riad. Every room is beautiful and unique. The food is excellent - breakfast was a highlight every day and the dinners were also special. The staff led by Radi are endlessly helpful. The Riad is full of spaces to relax, read, talk, think...especially the roof garden which gives specatcular views over Marrakech with the Atlas Mountains as backdrop - fantastic for sunset. Allan and Malika are a mine of information on everything and they will advise, book and recommend - all very valuable. High spot is Allan's introductory stroll round the Medina.

Room Tip: All rooms unique and equally beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belfastwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Allan and Malika and their fantastic staff could not have been more welcoming during our short stay at Riad El Zohar in mid-November. We were at first amazed at the fact that the photographs of the interior of the Riad, whilst very nice, did not do justice to the reality, which needs to be seen to be believed.

We really would advise eating an evening meal at least once in the Riad since the freshly cooked food was absolutely wonderful. In addition to the very comfortable accommodation, spacious sun terrace (not to mention the best shower I have ever used!) and cosy salon complete with roaring open fire, we would literally have been lost in Marrakech without Allan's helpful introductory tour and signposting-pointers to guide us back to the Riad after a busy day in the souks.

We stayed in other locations after this and I can honestly say that the breakfast in El Zohar topped them all, in particular the coffee, the pomegranate fruit cocktails and the vanilla drinking yoghurt.

We would whole-heartedly recommend this Riad to any would-be visitors to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are probably a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMKM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#22 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Property: Riad El Zohar
Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing