We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Expectations surpassed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad El Zohar
Ranked #13 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Expectations surpassed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Alan and Malika are the most welcoming hosts and make you wonderfully comfortable without in anyway imposing themselves on you. Their staff team is excellent - friendly and helpful.
The location is fantastic - in the heart of the Medina and a magical place to arrive at. All the arrangements Alan and team make work so smoothly.
Alan helped us to find our way on the first morning and gave us an orientation walk which was not just helpful but very enjoyable. The maps provided are perfect and although the area seems at first sight a labarynth it is really easy to get around with all this support.
Marrakech has lots of great places to eat but the meals on offer at the Riad are delicious and for our small group of fiends it was like a house party and lovely to have a relaxed last evening meal in house just for us! Thank you again to Alan and Malika and the team!
The

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are beautiful and would be wonderfully cool in the summer - the temperature d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionalikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
203
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wonderful time at El Zohar, Allan and Malika were so helpful and the staff were wonderful. Do make time to have one meal at the riad, the food is excellent and some delicious choices. Lounging on the terraces with a glass of wine watching the sun set is magical.

Room Tip: All if the rooms are lovely and individual, if in doubt email Allan and ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have just returned from a few days in Morocco, arriving at El Zohar with colds and exhaustion. We received a wonderful welcome in this small,charming and intimate riad. Our hosts were so kind, so full of information and great suggestions but managed never to be intrusive. A rare gift.
Rooms were super, lots of spaces in the riad to sit and relax and soak up the local atmosphere. An oasis of calm in the bustling medina, the riad has a perfect location for exploration of the citys sights and experiences. All within an easy walk.
An outstanding stay. Alan and Malika will help organise your itinerary, you can feel totally confident in their advice, a wonderful couple wanting their clients to have the very best Moroccan experience possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heathraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Many have described the approach to ElZohar , but it's the approach of Allan, his family and his staff that is the true pleasure, a real haven from the hussle and bustle of the Medina and its Souks , the Riad brings you , stylish comfort , welcome and an abundance of gently delivered information from Allen the owner who's love of the city and Morocco shines through .
Situated almost dead centre of the Medina , it was perfectly situated for our visit, the superb breakfast on the roof to the log fire lit ,dinner served in the upper Salon , where you can share your experiences of the day with fellow travellers ,pick up tips and recharge your batteries for the next foray ! Brilliant .
Tastefully restored , excellent food and services ! What more can we say !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longleggedlynne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Well this was a place to remember forever, Alan and Malika were the most incredible couple to stay with, the Riad itself is just so amazing and beuatiful just like a mini historical palace.The walk up the alley ways inside this walled city you think where are we heading, then you arrive at the lovely wooden door and beyound this is just another world....OUTSTANDING... The staff are just so helpful and friendly, the food they prepare and cook just amazing tastey and fresh.We met other wonderful people while staying here and had so much fun and laughter together with Alan and Malika, If you are going to Marrakech this is a must stay place.We had the most amazing experience and time thank you both.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic, just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna23975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I took my mother to Marrakech as a birthday 'surprise' and felt slightly hesitant as we approached the Riad through the small alleyways. However, we were soon totally at ease as the door opened and we stepped into another world. The Riad is charming and Allan, the owner, has done much to retain many original features of the building. The courtyard is magical, surrounded by balconies with trailing plants, and at its centre a plunge pool. We had supper in the Riad and Allan gave us maps, local information and the following morning gave us a guided tour of the area. We were then confident to find our own way around and had great fun bartering in the market. The Riad's location is perfect, being in the middle of the Medina. I greatly recommend it as it felt like a truly Moroccan experience, yet with a lot of comfort and a feeling of security.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Riad El Zohar and Allan, the owner, are both incredible. The Riad looks like a palace; the tiled ceilings are breathtaking, the furnishings and decor made us feel like royalty, and the sunny rooftop terrace with its view over the Medina was very popular with the guests.

The pool was refreshingly cool after a hot day sightseeing or wandering through the souks. The location is perfect for wandering through the souks or going to the main square, and amazingly quiet considering the central location. Rooms open onto a central courtyard only, so there is no noise from outside the riad.

In 30 years of traveling, the best customer service we have ever experienced was provided by Allan, the owner, a UK transplant with an acerbic wit. We arrived mid-afternoon and were absolutely famished. Allan walked us to a nearby restaurant that was open mid-afternoon, most importantly pointing out landmarks to help us navigate back to the riad afterwards. As the alleys through the souks have no visible names, it is easy to get lost. Later, Allan offered to take us on a short walking tour to help us find our way around the souks. Not only was Allan fantastic in pointing out landmarks to help us navigate by (note the window box straight ahead of you, go past the smelly drain, turn left at the Bougainvillea Café, take the alley to the left of the wrapped building, etc.), but he also pointed out several reputable shops, food stalls and restaurants (as well a few that he suggested be avoided), and introduced us to some of the reputable shopkeepers. The "walking tour" lasted about 45 min. and was invaluable to helping us navigate the maze of alleys.

Allen was also extremely knowledgeable about the prices of products, and gave us several good tips to help us bargain. And the customer service didn't stop once we left the riad. Two weeks after we left Riad El Zohar, the area where we live was hit by a bad hurricane. Allan sent us an e-mail wishing us well. Customer service just doesn't get any better than this.

Riad El Zohar is a reasonably priced accommodation in a great location with stellar customer service. Thank you Allan for making our Marrakesh portion of our vacation absolutely fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvToTravel040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#5 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Property: Riad El Zohar
Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing