We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Talaa 12

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Talaa 12
Ranked #214 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Talaa 12 is a wonderful place to stay if you are planning to spend a few days in Marrakesh. rooms were just superb, the riad has a most fabulous terrace where we often had breakfast, and there are a number of super lounge areas if you want to get away. The location is terrific as well, right near the Museum and the Medersa. Could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhd50london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 138 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

We've just got back from Talaa 12 and wish we were still there. It is so perfect and couldn't recommend it enough to anyone. Right next to the souks which were great fun.... however when you're in the Riad you could be 100 miles away with the gorgeous orange trees and tweeting birds.

Everyone who worked there was so lovely, always looking after us, helping us with our bags and taking us to great lunch places.

We went out of season so prices were even better. The breakfast is amazing, and so was the dinner in the hotel. Nothing to fault at all, (apart from there were a few ants in our room)! Added to the charm though.

Can't wait to go back! Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portugal611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

In the midst of the chaos of the old town, this hotel was perfectly placed as a base from which to explore the rest of Marrakech. The decor was serene and beautiful and the hotel was a welcome oasis of calm and relaxation. The staff was exceedingly helpful with questions and eager to provide excellent service. Best kept secret: the food during dinner was the best I had in Morocco and was worth far more than what was charged - which was less than one could probably find at any other fine restaurant in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeriouslyEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Our stay at Talaa 12 was recommended by Mr and Mrs Smith. Knowing how many choices of riads you have in Marrakech, we thought we should ask some help with the famous website. We weren’t disappointed at all. Besides the fact we found a bit difficult to find the riad in the middle of the Medina, we were welcomed nicely in the middle of the day. We were offered drinks and were taken to our room on the ground floor that has the view on the nice fountain patio.

The décor of Talaa 12 is really thought through and our room was really nice and warm for a few days.

The breakfast is continental with traditional yoghurt and cake with some fresh orange juice served either in the living room of the riad or on the terrace.

We also tried the hammam for the first time which a pleasant surprise for both of us. We definitely recommend to try the hammam there.

We thought the staff was very friendly, especially Muhammed who had to wake up early and make us some coffee for an early departure at 6am.

Something to be aware of is that the riad is jointed with a mosque and therefore you will be waken up every morning around 530 - 6am before the sun rises. So make sure you bring with you some ear plugs if you want to sleep until late in the morning.

In a nutshell, we definitely recommend this place for guests who want some peace inside the Medina.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GdeLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

A gem of a place. The location on the edge of the souk is perfect and provides respite from the craziness, being able to dip in and out of the souks is a real bonus.
Breakfast on the roof terrace is an amazing experience, the 360 view is spectacular. We had a Hammam for two which is also a must.
Best of all are the staff, who were a delight, always on hand yet unintrusive. The manager Mohammed was very friendly and extremely helpful - topped off by walking us through the souk with our cases to find out taxi.
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

staff is super friendly, riad is a beautiful place. only thing missing is a little pool to refresh now and then... everything spot on except location next to the souks might be a bit hectic as you always have to go through this crazy place to actually go somewhere.
also, we booked a tour to the atlas mountains through the hotel and we found it a bit touristy - the driver stopped at several places where you are more or less forced to buy something.. not ideal but i guess thats the way how things work ..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank il31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

After reading other reviews on here we decided to cancel where our guide had booked us into (hideous big hotel nowhere near the medina) and we stayed here for a total of 5 nights. The Riad is like a totally different world to what is happening outside. The location is excellent along a quieter part of the souk and next to a few monuments in the very old part of the medina. The staff are excellent - we can't say enough about them.

The food at the Riad is brilliant so try and have dinner there a couple of nights. We dined up on the rooftop terrace which was so peaceful and beautiful and the staff even went to the extent of allowing me to have a cooking lesson with the chef, so I helped prepare our dinner - a lot better than any cookbook! The Riad is near Le Fondouk which is also very good and seems to be a very popular place for European travellers.

Overall we would definitely stay here again and would recommend Riad Talaa12 to anyone going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaAlpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#130 of 500 in Marrakech
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar 73
Dar 73
#146 of 500 in Marrakech
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#83 of 500 in Marrakech
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 500 in Marrakech
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#78 of 500 in Marrakech
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Talaa 12? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Talaa 12

Address: 12 Talaa Ben Youssef | Medina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $127 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Talaa 12 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
alaa 12 … quand un riad vous choisit pour être ses hôtes … Situé au centre historique de la médina (Km 0), à côté de la Kouba, ce somptueux riad, lumineux, aux beaux volumes, propose avec justesse une rénovation traditionnelle et une architecture contemporaine au caractère sobre et épuré. La décoration aux couleurs et aux matières subtiles et raffinées donne à cette demeure une ambiance apaisante et sereine. Dans un magnifique patio planté d'orangers et de palmiers, un jardin aromatique entoure la fontaine. Les larges terrasses offrent une vue à 360° sur la médina et son menzeh (sa haute tour) domine le Musée de Marrakech, la Médersa Ben Youssef et les souks, avec pour toile de fond les montagnes de l'Atlas. Tout est réuni pour en faire un lieu d'exception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Talaa 12 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Talaa 12 Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing