We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful on both occasions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Dialkoum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Ranked #11 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful on both occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have visited this Riad twice now, once with my partner and once with my mum and both times it has been an amazing and beautiful place to stay. We recieved such a warm welcome from Laurent and muriel on arrival and throughout our stay they were so helpful and approachable advising us on places to visit and aiding us in our navigation through the medina.
The riad is located in the medina, a traditional building that is something very different from the modern built hotels that are normally on offer. Its interior is beautiful, tranquil and perfect for just relaxing in the afternoon when in need of a rest. Staying there was an experience all of it's own and I loved it both times. Marrakech is an extraordinary city, somewhere I have loved visiting and would return to again and again, riad dar dialkoum is the place I would always choose to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docandsonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    49
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
156
529
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This really is a special place but two things first : the sound proofing is not and cannot be as effective as would be ideal because of the structure of the building and the beautiful, authentic doors/windows. But with consideration/discretion it was fine. And secondly, the bed mattress was I am sure "traditional" but a bit firmer than I like - fine if your own bed is a futon! But...

...a lot of care, good taste and attention to detail has gone into the furnishing, facilities and decor which I loved! It felt luxurious but on an intimate scale!

I want to mention Amina because she worked hard but with such charm and kindness! The food was good (value) and I wondered whether I could watch the cook to learn some new skills!

Advice from Laurent and Muriel was peerless! The fish restaurant Al Bahyia was great and we really DID need to drink more water to stay hydrated!

Laurent and Muriel deserve their success because they clearly understand what matters most about creating a wonderful, multi-layered experience not just a short stay in a small hotel. It is about passion, integrity, kindness and doing as you would be done by!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is such a peaceful and friendly Riad. Muriel and Laurent are wonderful and their introduction to Marrakech and map on arrival meant we made the most of our stay. Breakfast was fine, with plenty of great coffee and hot milk which I love, but not very varied, although eggs were available if you asked for them. All the rooms were good, with bottled water freely available, and fresh fruit in the room. One of the showers only produced luke warm water - maybe due to it not being very sunny as the supply is solar powered I think. The roof terrace is a sun trap and you can have meals up there, but it is a bit of a trek up and down the stairs for the poor staff! We would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone, whether families, singles, or couples. The location is brilliant as well. On the outer edge of the Medina, which means it is quieter but easy to walk everywhere in the city. The wireless only works in certain places in the Riad, but you can easily find a place to sit and use it, if you cannot get it in your room.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. If you are traveling with friends or need rooms near one another, and want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seethingtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We have just got back from staying here for four days and could not have asked for more! Muriel and Laurent were so incredibly helpful and kind to us during our stay. The Riad is in such a great location for walking into the souks and also to get to the new city. The breakfast every morning was very varied and filling for a long day! As this was our first trip to Marrakech having someone sit down with you when you arrive telling you good restaurants, good sights and the best places to makes the most of the trip and your money was such an amazing help and made our trip what it was. i would recommend this Riad to anyone!

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely - we were lucky enough to be upgraded which was a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henryp1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a charming and beautiful place to stay run by Muriel & Laurent and their friendly team.

We arrived on an evening flight and welcomed the easy pick-up from the airport and the good food, served in the courtyard under orange trees. Marrakech is a great city, but you do need to ease into the culture of negotiation and constant offers of 'help' - Muriel & Laurent do this superbly.

Both of them spent a good deal of time with us advising us what to see & the best times to visit. We largely spent our three days following their faultless suggestions (which is unusual for us, we are pretty independent minded). We particularly recommend the Maison de la Photographie and the government run, fixed price Ensemble de Artisans which is great for shopping without the hassles of the Souks. I'm sure some people love the banter and bargaining... but it can take a while to get used to!

The Riad itself is a delight - our room was comfortable and elegantly furnished with extra touches of rose petals, dressing gowns etc. It was also great to have help with buying genuine saffron and organising a henna tattoo (a fun thing to do, but potentially dangerous in the square). It is about a 15-20 minute walk from the centre of the Medina, which is a good thing - it is in a much more authentic feeling part of town, away from the hassles but with all the charm. Quite simply a joy to stay here.

Room Tip: Malika room is quiet and comfortable, towards the rear of the Riad up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here over New Years eve and were treated to an unforgettable experience of Morrocan food and music.

The rest of our stay was equally delightfull. The riad is beautifull and our hosts made us feel very welcome and provided us with great insider information on where to eat and what to see.

I would liken it to staying with friends, a refreshing change from faceless hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a great welcome from Muriel, Laurent and their team at this delightful riad in the old city. It's the perfect place from which to explore the medina and the new city. Key attractions such as the Jemaa el-Fnaa square are a walk away. The riad itself is a peaceful haven in this bustling city and you will not find more comfortable mattresses if you tried! The breakfast is superb and it's also well worth having dinner at least one night in the riad. Also, try the Moroccan wines...especially the Gazelle de Mogador (red and white). The key to the success of the Riad Dar Dialkoum is the superb assistance you get from the owners and staff. They are a mine of information and will help you navigate with greater ease through this complex (and at times positively mediaeval) city. Importantly they can also help you arrange transport to and from the airport which is a welcome break from having to haggle yet again with a cabbie.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoemieConwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#15 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#18 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#12 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Dialkoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Dialkoum

Property: Riad Dar Dialkoum
Address: 317 Derb Jdid, Derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Dar Dialkoum (your home) is a Boutique Hotel located in the picturesque and authentic district of Bab Doukkala, within 10 to 20 minutes walking from the main attractions of the medina and the new town. This very old traditional house of the late nineteenth century was restored in the purest Moroccan tradition in 2002, then enlarged and refreshed in 2009 by the new owners, Muriel & Laurent. Haven of peace, the Riad Dar Dialkoum includes 4 rooms and 3 suites, all decorated in different and elegant styles, 2 patios with fountains, one with heated pool, 2 terraces with flowers, trees and solariums, a pergola and a Berber tent, 4 lounges, 1 with Satellite TV, and a dining room. Our Chef will spoil you with the cuisine, legacy of secrets of the tradition of several generations. She will offer you a variety of dishes with subtle and refined flavors, elaborated with the best fresh products from the market. The dinner will be served at the glow of the candles on the terrace, in the patio, near the pool or in the lounges as you prefer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Marrakech
Dar Dialkoum Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing