We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and romantic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Clementine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Clementine
Ranked #59 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful and romantic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I were traveling in Morocco and decided to treat ourselves to a couple of nights in this beautiful riad. We were stunned - not only is the riad beautiful, but the hosts are lovely, the food is delicious, the riad is conveniently located to the Medina, and it was in our budget!
Our hosts were delightful - offering tips on where to visit, what to do, and even what to expect to pay in a taxi ;) In addition, I have food allergies and was concerned that I would have to avoid all Moroccan cuisine. Not so! They were so thoughtful in their food preparations, and I enjoyed many a delicious tajine at the riad, worry-free. Our room was lovely and romantic (we were on the pool-level), and to top it all of, we got engaged in the riad's stunning courtyard. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
83
232
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this Riad. So peaceful and the staff so attentive. After busy streets returning to the lovely courtyard, sunbathing and a dip in the pool made it a perfect spot for our trip. The food was also really good breakfast in the courtyard or the evening meals. The attention to detail in the bedrooms and the whole building was wonderful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We chose the Riad Clementine for our recent first visit to Marrakech after reading the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor, and it was every bit as special as we`d hoped. Angela and Antoine were charming and helpful hosts, and all the staff were delightful. We particularly loved the courtyard garden with its flowering citrus trees and central fountain - magical by candlelight by night, also the roaring log fires in the sitting and dining rooms which added to the warm ambience, and the superb decor and attention to detail throughout the Riad.
We chose Room 3 as it suited our budget and found it charming, comfortable, and ideally located near the swimming pool - what more could we want? Breakfasts were perfect - typically fresh orange juice, fruit, yogurt, eggs cooked to order, pancakes etc and we had dinner in the Riad 3 out of our 4 nights because the food and wine were so delicious.
Have to admit we did find walking around the medina challenging at times - we actually much preferred Essaouira with its quieter, laid back atmosphere - but our stay at the Riad Clementine was absolutely perfect and if we return to Marrakech we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flagstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We absolutely loved this riad and the owners were delightful. It is everything you want a Marrakech riad to be. The decorations are beautiful and the food was the best ( and most varied) that we had in morocco!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We liked the riat from the first step we walked it. It's spotless, very charming, with the swimming pool and kind-of terrace on the top floor. The personal is extremely helpful. Our room was on the first floor and our windows were just opposite the dining area where everybody had breakfasts and dinners. I do not recommend the room on the first floor - the lack of privacy is guaranteed. Observing the life of the riat you could easily understand there certain rules of it. One of them was to unshutter the windows whenever they saw us awaken. That was quite inconvenient coz we were living on the first floor. For me it was tooo clean, toooo perfect, like something ( a soul ) was missing. Like a Golden Cage in the middle of Morocco.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and our windows were just opposite the dining area where everybody h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tushkanchik220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This Ryad is absolutely great. The fruit trees in the courtyard are beautiful, the decoration is perfect and it always smells great. It is an incredibly romantic place. I don't think the webpage photos do it justice - it is much better in reality.

Staff are really friendly and know exactly what they are doing, paying attention to every little detail. The food was absolutely delicious. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was always perfect. We also had dinner once and it was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech.

We totally recommend this Ryad. Marrakech is a very hectic place and when you travel there it is absolutely essential to have a place like this to get a break from the craziness of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camilogaravito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first time to Marrakech and arrived via a taxi at the Bab Doukkala entrance. It's a local market area and its like walking onto the filmset of Raiders of the Lost Arc. Its quite a dirty area, but no different from anywhere in the madina. Dont let that put you off. A short walk through a quieter part of the madina brought us to a large darkwood door and Riad Clementine.

We were greeted by Angela and given a crash course of what to do and what not to do, and some orientation while sipping Mint Tea. After being shown around we crashed into our room, Room 6 which was beautiful. A real fantastic room with big bath, and large comfortable bed. The extras in the room extensive, but take it from me, there was so much emphasis on detail it made it very speacial.

We relaxed on the roof the rest of the day, got a bit of a tan and had a lovely swim in the small pool, drying off and supping on a few 'Cassablanca' beers.

We ate 3 main meals, and a couple of snacks during our stay. All food was fresh, and although limited in choice (you eat what they have) it was the best food we ate on the whole trip. All main meals consist of 4 courses, and there is a choice of beers and wines etc. The lamb tagine was fantastic, as was the beef and chicken. Each night we had a bottle of red and a couple of beers and we found the prices to be fair in relation to bars elsewhere. We found that the value for money for food was also very very good.

We couldnt believe that once through the door of the Riad, you were in a peaceful paradise, especially relaxing in the garden which was traditional with its fountain and trees in all four corners. Apparently if the gardens not set up like this, its NOT a Riad but a Dar... well there you go.

All the staff were attentive, and although the main language was French we got by and everything was clearly understood. Both Angela and Antoine, the owners speak English. In fact we cant praise the staff enough. They were a credit to the Riad and Morocco, and were always on hand and worked hard through the day keeping everything nice.

If you want to experience Riad life go to this Riad. Its placed in a great place. Easy walk to square and souks, and also near the taxi rank to take you anywhere else.

We have a million pictures of the Riad, and Marrakech but the same as you can see on their web site. Also, trust me, living it will be a hundred time more fantastic than a picture.

Just as a footnote. Angela arranged a guide for Marrakech. Said arrived at 9am and took us everywhere in the madina arriving back at the Riad at 6pm. It cost 50 Euro for the full day, and he does do a half day for 30 Euro, but we went into places off the tourist trail. Said is a 50 year moroccan who knows his stuff . Especially History. Its really worth having a guide, and Said is not like some of the fake guides you see on route. Said can be booked through the Riad. Speaks English and French/Arabic etc etc

Be careful not to be ripped off in the souks though. We were told a standard tagine cost 2 Euro to produce. Spices were about the same price as at home, but some are hard to get at home. Do your homework and buy from a registered spice seller in a shop. Said did have contacts in the souks which we think were partly good value. All guides are usually in on the deal, so walk away before you ever buy anything. We usually hagled to half or less of what they wanted.

We travelled to High Atlas with Légendes Evasions, bookable through the Riad.

Phillipe our driver was brilliant. French, but perfect English. We shared the trip in a 4 Wheel Drive with a Belgium couple. We laughed all the way, did a lot of off road and took in some fantastic scenery. Stopped to meet locals in villages, camel ride (optional) etc etc. You tailor make the trip to suit. Cost us 80 Euro per couple, and was well worth it. We stopped at a fantastic hotel (L'Oliveraie de Marigha in Ouirgane) for food. Excellant, cheap and a very memorable location with The Atlas in the background.

Take some sweets for the kids in the village. They dont use money.

Have a great time

Room Tip: We had room 6, which is near to the pool. There are only three rooms on this level. Below the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAH423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#151 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Lauriers Blancs
Riad Les Lauriers Blancs
#82 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Zouina
Riad Zouina
#151 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Chergui
Riad Chergui
#29 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#22 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#8 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Clementine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Clementine

Property: Riad Clementine
Address: Derb Sidi Messaoud 38 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Clementine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad History The house was built in the eighteenth century, in 1880, a hundred meters inside the ocher walls of the twelfth century, in the famous and lively Bab Doukkala. The house has always been inhabited by the family El Belaidi, which gave it the name of Riad El Belaidi. Acquired in 1999, the building was restored in the traditional Moroccan architecture, with the standards of modern hospitality. To preserve the original architecture, including the large traditional patio with glowing light, the pool was built in the 1st floor terrace. This rare choice proved to be extremely wise because the pool today enjoys the utmost privacy; the patio is a place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Clementine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Clementine Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing