We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Albatross Garden Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Ranked #411 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just got back from 5 days/4 nights at the Albatross Garden. It's handily placed half way between the airport and Marrakech old town. For information it took about 15 mins to walk into town, if you decide not to take a taxi - avg price 40 dirhams. The hotel is very well appointed, the public areas are very grand, with lot's of marble and mosaics, the spa is extremely good - try a Hammam and a gommage, which is basically having a sauna and then having your whole body rubbed by an exfoliating glove, which feels like a wire brush! Sounds terrible, but was fantastic!

The rooms were spacious and well equipped, and ours overlooked the main pool (their are two) with a swim up bar. The only down side was the food in the main restaurant, we were stopping half board, and the hotel provided a huge choice of options but the quality was not as good as we expected, also the drinks in the hotel were very expensive. That said it was ok and apart from eating in the main square one night to try the street food was adequate.

I was expecting a lot of hassle in the Souk's from traders, street kids, etc but it never happened, generally if people knew you weren't interested in the shop/goods then they left you alone and the battering was a laugh, it was all done with good humour and if you weren't happy with the end price, my advice would be to walk away, the stall owner would generally run after you and agree to your price. Again the only dissapointment we had was on our way to the Tanneries; you'll get spotted as a tourist and "befriended" by someone on there way and despite them saying their is no charge as they are on their way, at the end of it all will ask for money and be very put out that you won't give any.

Overall, a great hotel and a great place and I've no hessitation in recommending it - by the way don't miss the Jardin de Majorelle, definitely the highlight!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 427 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

We visited this hotel in mid to late January, as members of a tour visiting various cities in Morocco. The hotel is stunning inside, all public areas are attractive, bedrooms are very good and comfortable with all mod cons including separate bath and shower, unfortunately there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, which would have been most welcome. These are usually part and parcel in 4/5 * hotels, but obviously not in Morocco! The pool area is attractive, but know idea what would be like in the summer months, possible not enough sun beds. However our stay was spoilt by all the public areas including the evening dining room being absolutely freezing, we had to wear layers to keep warm at dinner! The food once we were allowed to choose from either the international or the Moroccan menu was adequate. The waiting staff in the evening seemed to be bad tempered and not want to be there. The staff at breakfast were delightful and always attentive.......evening staff could learn a lot from them! Breakfast itself was good with freshly cooked omelettes etc. The hotel is relatively well placed for visiting the main square and souk (fifteen minute walk).The hotel really let itself down by the frosty atmosphere at dinner and the temperature within the public areas. I'm sure in the summer months the hotel comes into its own and is very cool inside and pleasant away from the searing heat, but do take your thermal wear in January!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is my first review.Just returned from Marrakesh 5 day break.Tha manager "YASIM"at the hotel was very friendly as were all the staff.Being out of season there was quite a lot of staff and they were falling over themselves trying to be helpful. We had no problem changing to a room overlooking the pool and the hotel was spotless.Some of the decor was approaching its "sell by date" but still to a good standard.The ceilings were hand carved and hand painted and amazing.I'm a picky fussy eater but had no problems with any of the food Breakfast or Dinner both had a wide choice.ONLY criticism I would have is that beer was a bit pricy but then what can you expect in a muslim country.I would reccommend the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: try to get a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnybgood_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I always read and trust other reviews on Trip advisor so booked this holiday on price and the positive reviews far outweighed any negative ones. I will firstly tell you who we booked with as I think the agencies were largely responsible for our unfortunate holiday start.
Booked Through:
Teletext: using Fleetway travel and the agent in Marrakech was a Major Travel Services MTS

On arrival at the airport we could not find our point of contact for the transfer. we waited for 40 minutes and then on finding our person he then said he had to find others for a further 1/2 hour- no"others" showed up.

We arrived at the hotel and the hotel then told us they had a booking for us but that Major Travel Services had cancelled any bookings taken from the dates we had booked. Apparently the holiday had been undersold on price. We however were not made aware of this until our arrival and the fax they showed us with the cancellation was sent weeks before our arrival.

We were asked to pay 100Euros to stay the night-that wouldn't be charged to us though if the agency came good on the booking. At this stage we had no idea of what the situation was and our transfer guide simply said we'd work it out tomorrow and that we would be compensated. He said we should be able to move to the Albatross Garden Hotel which we would prefer with an all inclusive package( again another lie).

I must note here that I asked the hotel to call the agency we booked with in the UK and they refused. They said that we had to call them as it was our problem and that if they called the UK it would have to come out of their wages. I find this a little peculiar considering we were told on a number of occasions that the "royal family" stay here!
I spent Over £100 calling the Uk premium number for Fleetway and paying for receiving calls to sort out this issue.

So we checked into the hotel room 5 hours after our arrival and tried to organise ourselves the next day.
Our agent did not come to the hotel at 9 am as promised and he then walked us to the hotel he had suggested.We walked around it and decided that it would be a better option.
Unfortunately it was not that easy! We were told we had to call our travel agents in the Uk to confirm that this could be done- more time spent on my phone and further expenses entailed. In the meantime we had now wasted most of our day.
The answer was negative. Because of the deal we had got at The mirage hotel we would have to pay the difference to stay at the ALbatross.
No compensation was offered from either parties.

Hotel review:
We went over Christmas.
Good Points:
Room quite large with good sized beds and a great shower and separate bath tub.
Breakfast was amazing!! The restaurant staff were very polite and attentive. They were the saving grace of this hotel.
The inside decor is very Riad style. Looks fab
Excellent Location Just one road behind is the Herviage are near the Sofitel and there is an excellent place to grab something to eat called Extrablatt!
Other places to check out are Cafe de la Poste: quite pricey for Marrakech but very nice to chill out with a glass of wine.
Chez Brahim for a tagine and some morroccan music.
Any of the salon de The in the square for a sunset view
A trip to les bains de marrakesh- pre book before you go as it is SO popular
OR
Albatross Hotel Spa for a hammam and massage

Bad Points
The pool was freezing and no one used it.
The hotel was for mainly Arabs at this time of year and no one was pool side in bikinis or swim suits even though the weather was hot enough for it we felt that we had a few looks when we did so we went to another hotel to sunbathe.
A little worn but nothing major; dirty spots on the wall, and balcony overlooking the air conditioning, and a broken doorhandle on the toilet door.
The walls are really really thin and we could hear everything from the room above and next door.
Felt like staying in a shell. No atmosphere at all in the hotel- I do NOT mean singing and dancing as I usually am not keen on the "entertainment" holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gaildivine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Best hotel I have stayed to date in Morocco. Only poor management, lack of services and rennovation prevent it from achiveing or maintaing 5 class status. A tip for tourist if you arrive in a suit or for breakfast suddenly the management will appear from nowhere and get you fresh tea and breakfast. Otherwise you find no hot water and the breakfast manager scrounging for breakfast bowls. Best things about the hotel spacious rooms,comfortable beds and good housekeeoing. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheMilkyBarKid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The interior of the hotel was extremely impressive. Stunning foyer, and our room was lovely. It was a good size, with a balcony (but no view), and a nice large bathroom. The pool was big and we had no problems getting loungers or towels. There were quite a lot of birds around the pool area and some poop issues here and there. To be honest it didn't really bother us as everything was otherwise very clean and this couldn't really be helped, but maybe if we had kids it would be a problem.

Apart from the physical structure of the building, ie twinkly bits to look at and a pool to swim in, there were zero amenities. Lots of thing were advertised, but nothing actually existed.

Breakfast was nice. Lots of options in a classic buffet style, including fresh omelettes which was a nice touch.

The staff were ok. They were polite and helped where they could, but definitely angling for tips and didn't go out of their way to serve. However we did visit during Ramadan and so in no way expected jesters!

Nice stay if you're like us, after a nice environment, a morning dip before an afternoon adventure. Don't expect to have any kind of entertainment. This is definitely for couples and not family friendly.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room with a view, and not where the balcony looks onto other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poultox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resalux, Manager at Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

I want to thank you so much for taking the time for your input to let us know about your stay, and we truly care about our guests and want everyone to enjoy their experience with us, we very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast , we hope to see you again soon.
We appreciate customers who take the time to tell us how we can better serve them, and we will make sure to work harder on improving our amenities to meet you expectation,

with thanks and best regards
Amal Rebbaj

Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Although a 5 star hotel, it has seen better days. Many 5 star features were not found and the poor quality of service was particularly noted mainly due to lack of personnel. Many areas of the hotel were short of staff (breakfast room, spa, luggage boys) and when staff was available they were quite lazy. The rooms are the main positive aspect although in need of small repairs. Breakfast was sub-standard for a 5 star hotel. The location although good (quiet, safe and trendy neighbourhood, closer to main attractions and in the way to the airport) suffers from nearby discotheque which can cause you some sleeping problems during night, thus rooms with swimming pool view are better for rest purposes.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#252 of 502 in Marrakech
2,508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#459 of 502 in Marrakech
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Hotel Farah Marrakech
#435 of 502 in Marrakech
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#143 of 502 in Marrakech
1,049 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech

Address: Rue Paris, Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#213 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $70 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing