We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Lena & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Lena & SPA
Ranked #162 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We booked Riad Lena by chance, but from the time of booking I knew we had done well. The riad staff were great before our trip, keeping in touch by email about any arrangements we wanted to make, and airport transfers (Courtesy of the fab Ishmal).
The riad itself is beautiful, very traditional and authentic but extremely comfortable. It's a real oasis in the madness of Marrakech. The atmosphere is very relaxed, staff helpful, breakfast delicious and our suite (Canelle) was spacious and cool.
There is a lovely roof terrace where you can catch some sun or relax in the shade, and a wonderfully cooling plunge pool in the centre of the courtyard, which was very welcome after a walk round the souks.
The riad were also very accommodating on the day we left, helping to store luggage and provide a room where we could shower before leaving in the evening.
I would definitely recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech, and Abellatif and the team will be more than pleased to help you with any aspect of your visit.
Loved it, would definitely go back ! A taste of the real Marrakech.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed lovely, but go for one of the suites for extra space, very little difference in cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 400 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

As others have said, this riad is very unique and beautiful. Our room was small but perfectly fine. The shower was a bit dark, but the details in the bathroom (lights, sink, etc) felt very authentically Moroccan and I liked it overall. However, Abdel the manager is one of the only ones who speaks English. My husband and I sadly do not speak French, so occasionally we had a hard time communicating. But everyone was very friendly and tried really hard to communicate with us. Unlike some other reviews on here, we didn't have any problems with overcharging. We only ate breakfast there one of the mornings because we discovered we could get many of the same things much cheaper out in the souk. We did eat dinner there one night (which, as others have said, you must arrange in the morning). The food was very good, and I was surprised that they had wine, which can be hard to find in the medina, but which I appreciated greatly. I would recommend dinner there at least one night.
They also helped us to arrange a hammam at the spa across the little alley, which was probably a highlight of our trip. So relaxing, but, yes, definitely very different from more "European" massages, so make sure you know what you're getting into.
Finally, as noted by others, it is a bit difficult to find at first. But we had no trouble getting picked up from the airport - our flight was even a bit delayed but the gentleman was still waiting there for us when we arrived, and then another person was waiting at the entrance to the back alleys to walk us to the riad. Just make sure you arrange it beforehand.
Overall - not for everyone, probably, but unique and a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abdellatifduriadlena, Propriétaire at Riad Lena & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014
Google Translation

First of all, thank you for your comment and sorry for the english of the team!
Comme vous le dites fort justement, le Riad est un peu difficile à trouver, donc le plus simple est de nous demander d'organiser le transfert... petite remarque pour les visiteurs qui souhaitent se rendre chez nous.
Nous sommes surtout très heureux d'avoir pu rendre votre séjour le plus agréable possible.
Et pour le Spa, nous continuerons d'essayer de faire découvrir à tous ceux qui le désirent, ce qu'est un hammam authentiquement marocain!
Au plaisir de vous revoir,
Philippe, Abdellatif et toute l'équipe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

1) Pickup:
We reached Marrakech at night around 9 PM and had called the Riad in advance to pick us up since taxis do not enter the narrow streets of Medina. Although we gave advanced notice, we had to wait for 45 minutes for the bell boy to arrive. Also, he came without a cart and we had to haul the baggage ourselves (this is not experienced at other Riads).

2) People:
The bell boy was a happy-go-lucky kind of creature, nobody speaks English except the manager & the manager is never around to be found. We could not even make local phone calls since those are allowed only during manager's presence.

3) Rooms:
No heater in the room, walls with wetness/mold, bathrooms with no doors. In short, run away from this place!

4) Breakfast:
Very basic and it repeatedly took the staff 30 minutes to serve the breakfast, every single day of our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sona_G81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abdellatifduriadlena, Propriétaire at Riad Lena & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Sumi, merci de votre commentaire. Nous considérons tous les avis comme étant constructifs et nous en tiendrons compte à l'avenir, soyez-en sur!
Toutefois , nous regrettons de ne pas avoir pu en parler ensemble pendant votre séjour: peut-être aurions nous pu améliorer la qualité de votre hébergement, mais vous ne nous avez rien dit étant sur place: dommage, nous aurions été heureux de pouvoir répondre à vos attentes.
Revenez nous voir et nous ferons un maximum pour que vous puissiez après votre séjour, laisser un commentaire plus positif.
A bientôt.
Philippe et Abdellatif.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I am very surprised to see many positive reviews here. Spent 3 nights here after 3 fantastic nights in a Riad in Fes. The building has a very run down feeling to it. Tiles and painting need serious refurbishment here and there. Decoration is very unclassy and rather cheap, including that of the room. Location is ok for the NW side of the Medina, some 15 minutes walk to Djemaa el Fnaa.

The appalling thing is the service. The manager is the only English speaker person in place, and he only works a few hours per day - in his absence staff are not allowed to do anything. We had to wait for over an hour to be taken to our room as he wasn't there when we arrived, and only returned after several frantic phone calls made by the Riad staff at our request. Dodgily, we were never asked to fill any registration form. Staff were also not allowed to check us out, so we had to accommodate in order to match the schedule of the manager for that.

Service was so lame we had to clean our breakfast table ourselves as their staff were really bad at doing so themselves. On departure we had to make the riad staff phone the manager so that he booked a 'green cab' for us to reach the airport - but he failed to do so, and didn't tell us. Instead one of the cleaning guys went outside and got a taxi from the street. He was suspiciously very adamant that we pay him in the hotel, before going out. After talking to the taxi driver I discovered he had kept half the money I gave him. Whether that's a 'commission' or a rip off, I'll never know. These guys are very unprofessional and I can only recommend to avoid this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danielarroyoperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Riad was incredible staff amazing comfortable suite and ideally located for souks and jemaa el fna square strongly reccomend this location and riad.the riad was spotless the decor was very good and the breakfasts were delicious. Plunge pool and hot tub were brilliant after a hard day exploring and terrace ideal for a glass of wine to round off the day.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

So many things went wrong with this place. I am only giving this two marks because the room and riad was beautiful and the staff was friendly. Here is everything that went wrong:

1. They confirmed our pick up from the airport. No where to be found when we arrived. We called a few times and no one picked up. We waited about 45min to and hour. We then got a taxi and of course had to hire a guy to take us to the riad. They didn't say anything to us about not picking us up.

2. They do not tell you beforehand that if you want dinner at the riad you have to order in the morning (we arrived in the early evening). If we had known we would have made sure to order dinner via email before we arrived. But now when I think about it...they probably wouldn't have given us that since they didn't pick us up from the airport.

3. We told them we wanted to pay by credit card and they didn't let us upon checkout. I had to scrounge for cash. There was clearly a credit card machine on the desk. They should have told us beforehand that we NEEDED to pay in cash.

4. They overcharged us. When we got the final bill for the one night we stayed it was more than what was expected. He then told us it was for the breakfast. First of all, our breakfast was suppose to be included. Second, when I told him we needed to leave by 8am to go on our trek and that we needed breakfast at 7.30am he said not possible. Only to later find out that we could have. Third, we didn't get to even eat the breakfast.

5. We rented an apartment for 4 people. It was nice but beware that the shower does not have any covering.

It was just a disappointment. I am glad we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRosas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you travel to Morocco you must go to Marrakech, Fez and Essouaira; Marrakech and Fez for the hustle and bustle of the busy Medinas and the shopping (be brave with you bargaining guys) and Essouira for a seaside break from the cities. When in Marrakech and Fez be sure to stay in the Riads for a really authentic feel. Riad Lena is a fine example of a comfortable Riad about 10 minutes walk (once you get good at navigating around the Medina) from Jamaa el Fna (the main square). The plunge pool is nice to cool off in during the day and you'll find the breakfasts and the morning staff very pleasant. If you are not familiar with the Arabic architecture you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Book ahead. Send a confirmatory email about your arrival time and other requirements. Always have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#166 of 502 in Marrakech
414 reviews
1.4 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#28 of 502 in Marrakech
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#40 of 502 in Marrakech
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#28 of 1,170 in Marrakech
613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#3 of 1,170 in Marrakech
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#50 of 1,170 in Marrakech
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lena & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lena & SPA

Address: 8, Derb El Hammam | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $60 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lena & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lena & Spa welcome you to their house, ideally situated in the Medina near the DAR BACHA Palace and eight minutes from the markets and Place Jeema el Fna. The riad has been traditionally renovated with much thought given to your comfort. The riad consists of 10 air-conditioned bedrooms, furnished in pure Moroccan style. All rooms look on to the patio and the swimming pool permitting you to cool down after sunbathing on the terrace with views of the High Atlas mountains. A first class riad in the heart of the Medina and markets, with terraces, a swimming pool and easy car access.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Lena & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lena Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing