We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“5 star by any standard - excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Mehdi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palais Mehdi
Ranked #409 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
145 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“5 star by any standard - excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

It gives me great pleasure to write this review. I booked this hotel with the Travelzoo offer then read the negative reviews. Consequently, I had no expectations and even considered losing my deposit and rebooking elsewhere. I can honestly say, having travelled all over the world, that this is the kind of hotel I have aspired to stay in for many years and I would return in a heartbeat - in fact, we didn't want to leave!!
Ghizlane met us upon arrival and explained the check in process, sat us by the pool, organised our welcome drink and walked us to our lovely suite. Rose petals everywhere, welcome snacks, lovely dressing room, bathroom and private patio - could not have been happier! We had a lovely lunch by the pool, then a rest after a sauna, then were driven directly to our dinner reservation in a famous restaurant and were picked up again bang on time by the hotel car.
Next day the breakfast by the pool was faultless, and instead of going shopping as planned we decided to spend the day at the hotel as it was so welcoming and beautiful and the weather was fantastic. We had a truly wonderful day, relaxing on the various pool furniture and getting some rays. The staff were attentive, bringing anything we needed, but were not overbearing. We enjoyed meeting the dalmatian puppies too. We had dinner in the evening at the hotel - we didn't need lunch as breakfast was so plentiful.
The Palais Mehdi made our holiday very special, not least because of the beautiful courtyards, rooms and furniture. It is a wonderful place to be. With the Travelzoo offer I feel we got exceptional value for money. I honestly can't fault the place - I'm sorry that other reviewers did not experience the service, politeness, environs and value which we did.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    33
    7
    8
    10
See reviews for
20
72
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Travelled with some apprehension having read mixed reviews on tripadvisor, but was very happy with our 3 night stay. All the staff were very friendly, including the Manager, and we felt very welcomed. Car was waiting for us at the ariport, the grounds are fantastic, the room was huge, clean, and very inviting, with a welcome pack awaiting us. Although not perfect in the Hilton way, it made us feel we were in Marrakech and not some sterile hotel room anywhere in the world. Food wasn't the cheapest but was good and it was nice that you could eat wherever you wanted. Breakfast was varied and extensive -- much more than we could eat. Do try Al Fassia restaurant, but best to book in advance as we only just got a table the night we visited.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandJudy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

my husband and I chose this hotel in Marrakech through one of the offers courtesy of Travelzoo. As we had never visited Marrakech before, we thought the luxury of a 5* hotel would be the perfect antidote to the obvious culture shock of a Moroccan city. It was indeed beautifully decorated and furnished. A couple of little niggles; the grounds were a little unkempt as the grass needed cutting and the borders weeding. The swimming pool was freezing cold and had black algae in the middle and if you grabbed the edge with your fingers then slimey gunk met your hands! Some of the sunbeds were old and falling apart, and they could had done with more of them. I have doubts if the sunbed towels were washed everyday; they smelt like they had just been dried and folded! It was however, very peaceful but felt a little like the 'Marie Celeste' sometimes as there really was hardly anyone around at certain times.
There is no restaurant in this hotel (you ate in the corner of the reception rooms, where it's very dark) and absolutely no atmosphere in the evenings. Not surprising as the drinks were extortionately expensive, likewise the food, 15 Euros for a club sandwich for instance. You possibly would expect this in a 5* hotel but this is definitely not one!
We were persuaded to have the typical moroccan buffet on the saturday night, which although should have been hot, was lukewarm and cold. When we complained they very indignantly took it away and microwaved it to an inch of it's life. Needless to say, mine wasn't eaten. The following morning when we complained to 'Le Directore', (French speaking, with very little English), he was loud, rude, obnoxious and totally unrepentant and was having none of it. Incidentally, we got friendly with 2 other couples while were there and they had the same experience. This man should not be running an hotel!! We would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone until the management is changed. As I say, nice hotel but shame about the management.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Having read the reviews before we travelled (both good and bad) we arrived with an open mind.
On the whole this hotel does not function to the standards advertised and even though we realised that a 5 star Morroccan hotel would not meet worldwide standards, we found it lacking in several areas.
The first room we were given was very poor with holes in the bathroom curtains and a rear courtyard so overgrown with weeds and debris that I didn't want to step outside let alone sit out there. Right outside the front door was a building site with noise from morning to night. We asked to change rooms and we were charged a suplement of E60 per night.
The menu was the same for lunch and dinner which consisted of limited, overpriced fare with overpriced drinks to match.
The pool had moss and lichen growing up the sides and the water in the hot tub was a milky white colour.
The hotel dogs while very cute (one had a litter of puppies) had left their doggie deposits on the hotel lawn and there it remained for the duration of our stay.
I don't understand how people could think that there were enough sunbeds as I counted 6 in total with a few chairs and sofas as well.
In my opinion which I know is different to the next persons, this hotel is badly managed and could perform to a much higher standard than it does at present.
We certainly won't be staying again!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HowdenEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

What a pity - lovely place, splendid Moorish public rooms, great gardens, bedrooms, swimming pool - in fact a real haven of peace and tranquility as an escape from the souk and city centre. But badly let down by the food - a restricted menu, poor quality, expensive, and often cold. This did undermine the enjoyment of the place as it meant having to take yet another taxi for the 15 minute trip into the centre for dinner each evening. And when we complained about the quality and standard of the food, the response of the Directeur made Basil Faulty look really quite diplomatic. Best avoided unless the hotel can buck up its ideas about its food - and send the manager on a customer care course - even basic politeness!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinpellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Very nice hotel, just 23 suites and ours was spacious and very well equipped.
The pool was perfect for lounging around, the breakfasts were excellent and the staff very accomodating.
It is in the Palmeraie area so its a 15 min taxi ride into the medina for €10 but that didnt pose any real problem, the hotel would provide their own car for the outward journey, and you could then enjoy the bumpy ride back in a the small local taxis.
Very good value and a lovely setting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me_yes_its_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Firstly, i am not sure if someone rubbed the reviewers up the wrong way or they just didnt like it........but we had a lovely time.

The hotel car was waiting for us upon arrival at marrakech airport and the journey time was 25mins to the hotel.

Having read some of the reviews i was very sceptical if not thinking about re-booking the accomodation because of what people have said.

The main hotel was beautiful, very luxurious......fountains with rose petals, main pool area was lovely with many sun loungers and PLENTY of towels......but if they had run out then one of the staff would happily supply more if needed.

The room we have was lovely, large bedroom with flatscreen TV and two sofa's......very clean and the aircon was adequate for the room, bathroom was lovely.....double sink and bath. Ok so there is no hook to hang the shower attachment......big deal.

The staff where very attentive and always onhand to help you in anyway.....the maids would visit in the morning.......then also in the evening as a turn down service.

The only one problem i have with the hotel is the price of the food and drink......it is very expensive which in my eyes puts people off drinking there.....if only they reduced the prices then more people would eat at the hotel. 30EUR for a bottle of wine we could get for 195DIHRAM (£16) in a very nice restaurant.....Grande Cafe De La Poste.

The hotel car was always available to take you in the evening and during the day to your destination and very resonable at EUR10......if you rather not the hassle of a scary local taxi.

Please Please.......do not be discouraged by other reviews......the hotel is lovely, it is nice to be out of town with the medina so crazy busy......you can relax in the peaceful surroundings.....with attentive staff. My feelings are someone has a vendeta against the hotel as i did not see it as they had written it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#49 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#141 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
5.9 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#61 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#73 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#334 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#243 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Mehdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Mehdi

Property: Palais Mehdi
Address: Palmeraie de Marrakech | Circuit de la palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Mehdi 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Palais Mehdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Mehdi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing