We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Mehdi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palais Mehdi
Ranked #387 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Extremely rude staff, no service, and bad location.

Rooms and facilities are nice and clean, garden is beautiful, but this is about it. Poor location, no service, wooden mattresses, and rude personnel. We stayed here for few nights and it was worst experience during our trip. We did not check reviews before coming here, which was a big mistake. All negative reviews have a real ground. Marakesh has much better places to stay.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    34
    7
    8
    10
See reviews for
21
74
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
marrakesh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

beautiful ,class, good food , class place, good location , good service,
We be back soon!
Soon they will do a nice brunch and events for people in Palmeraie and Marroco, confort , peaceful , good vibe!


Cheers!

Room Tip: In front of the pool there is a nice suite and close to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priscila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you are looking for a venue to hold a big party just outside marrakesh this could be the place for you.

The main building is interesting and nicely organised with vista through from the beautiful entrance courtyard though the traditional styled reception rooms to the pool and well landscaped garden. The management can organise professional gig sound and lighting systems and a variety of different marquee / stagings to suit party /grand events. 

However, if there is less than 100 people in your group and you are looking for a
good quality hotel with good service with staff who want to make you feel welcomed and help you enjoy your stay this is probably not the place for you.

There are plenty of other better quality and more interesting places to stay in marrakesh, don't make the same mistake as us.

 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Simonlamprell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

There is no bar. The waiters are invisible. There is no menu for breakfast. The hotel does have fantastic gardens and pool, but that's about it. You need a twenty minute taxi drive to the main square which will set you back about 10 Euros one-way. We stayed for two nights (we were booked in for five via privee voyage), but instead opted for the Es Saadi, which did have a bar, waiters etc and was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

The only negative comment that I would make about this hotel is that they undersell the amenties that they have on site. The brand new spa is fabulous and the staff so eager to please. The new gym was equipped with state of the art equipment and plenty of it (considering the relatively small size of the room.) Eggs are available at breakfast if you ask - otherwise breakfast is a tad carbohydrate heavy for someone watching their weight like me! The lunch menu is more varied than the dinner menu and the Moroccan dishes are excellent. I would recommend using either the hotel transport or taxis ordered by them. Both charge a fair rate for the 15 minute ride into the city centre. The local yellow taxis do not!! The drivers are out to fleece the tourists and my one experience of hiring one left a very nasty taste ... I thought the hotel prided itself on its cleanliness and all the common parts/gardens were very well maintained. I would stay in this hotel again and hope to have the opportunity to do so. Oh - and the Dalmatian puppies are to die for! Footnote: if you do the Faim d'epices/Mythic Spa combo I would definitely recommend having the hotel spa Hammam Gommage treatment (I think that is what it is called) a day or so before visiting Mythic Spa.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CBird_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We booked through Voyage Prive and I later looked at reviews. I was actually dreading going.
We were shown to our suite (upgraded) which was fine, decent size, clean. My husband then went to look at a deluxe suite and was stupid enough to show it to me. Stunning! Huge beautifully decorated sitting room, good entrance hall ,fab bathroom with jacuzzi bath (not tried -I don't like them) and separate shower, and large bedroom. Patio doors front and back to patios and gardens. We chose to pay for the deluxe suite- our choice, the other room was fine. We ate in the hotel each lunch time and everything we had was delicious and we did not think overpriced.Better quality wine than in a Kempinski in Turkey at 25% less.
Great jazz club/ restaurant (the Block- must book for Sats) 10 min walk away with jolly good food and including 2 bottles Chablis was £80 for 2.
We loved the location being outside of the city. It was so peaceful and relaxing.
I would suggest anyone thinking of booking, to think Relais Chateaux rather than huge hotel chain. It just depends what you prefer. I would also suggest factoring in the upgrade, if not too busy there, negotiate a price.
All the staff were charming, helpful and friendly. Whenever drinks were ordered they always came with big plate of olives/ nuts/etc.
Take trip into Atlas mountains- just brilliant
We will be going back next year as we loved our 4 days there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jane11191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Beautiful lush hotel
Friendly staff
Tasty breakfast
Spotless room and hotel
A real treasure! I can't wait to go again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pseudonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#94 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#61 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#47 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#339 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#45 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#121 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Mehdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Mehdi

Property: Palais Mehdi
Address: Palmeraie de Marrakech | Circuit de la palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Mehdi 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Palais Mehdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Mehdi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing