We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The large room and roomy ensuite at Riad Julia was ideal to kick back in after the tiring buzz of the Medina”
Review of Riad Julia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Julia
Ranked #421 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The large room and roomy ensuite at Riad Julia was ideal to kick back in after the tiring buzz of the Medina. Ziad and the women who work here were helpful when asked and the terrace and courtyard were very pleasant spaces to relax in. The plunge pool would be very inviting in warmer weather too. The Lonely Planet map had us thinking it was miles out but it is a short walk to the square and close to other must-see destinations. No wifi but Marrakesh Korner just up the road has free wifi and great coffee on their terrace. All in all we could not fault this place.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank avocetexsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Riad Julia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 112 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

Lovely, tranquil Riad... simple rooms, well furnished, pleasant hospitality. A little shabby but very traditional and lovely plunge pool to cool off after a hot day's exploring and shopping... Best mint tea in all of Morocco... the girls who clean and make the breakfast speak almost no english, but with patience we all managed to understand each other...

They have a second Riad just a few streets away, with a reasonably good Hammam - if you'd like to try a traditional Moroccan steam bath, it's affordable and clean.

Rather difficult to find Riad Julia, but easiest from the Palace end of the Madinat... Taxi from train station should only be about 20 MRD but they'll ask for 70. Find the middle ground, or be prepared to walk as all the cabs dissapear... but only pay 20 or 30 for the return journey as they know you'll have wised up by then...

Don't trust the boys and men who offer to help you as you wind your way in and out of tiny streets and souks... better ask a shop keeper who has no interest in fleecing you for directions... Anyone who offers to help you will ask you for money and harrass you afterwards - it's like putting a big sign on your back "SUCKER"... so tell them "NO" emphatically...

While in the old city (Madinat) of Marrakech, do find the Hotel Arabia and take their Moroccan cooking class - worth every penny for the experience and a simply DIVINE Riad - too expensive for our budget but maybe one day...

Marrakech was lively and fun, great shopping and even the street touts made us laugh in the end.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Although finding the Riad Julia for the first time is not easy you will be pleasantly surprised once you have found it and entered the front door finding yourself immersed in Moroccan charm.
Omar is the genuine and helpful owner who will talk to you and help with anything you may require. He speaks excellent English too!

Staying here on three separate occasions it became a welcome return each time as this Riad has a homely charm about it. A very informal atmosphere and simple amenities but with a delightful plunge pool to use when it’s hot.

I would be more than happy to return to the Riad Julia so I can recommend it as a place for you to consider if you are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I just got back from my week-long stay at Riad Julia, and couldn't be happier with the experience! Everyday we woke up to a delicious breakfast prepared in the riad's kitchen, traditional Moroccan breads and jams, coffee or delicious mint tea.fresh-squeezed orange juice. We stayed in one of the air-conditioned rooms on the second floor and slept very well, the room was nice and cool -- it's definitely worth the few extra euro for the air-conditioning.The riad itself is well-decorated and clean, and has a neat pool in the central courtyard. It's an easy 10-15 minute walk through bustling souks to get to the famed Place Jemm El Fna.

The staff are awesome, polite and very accomodating. Our very best meal in Marrakech was when we stayed in at the Riad and one of the staff ladies made us a homemade tagine. Delicious! If you're lucky, you can convince them to cook you a meal, too!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manintial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We had a great stay here--the rooms we had were extremely comfortable, the air conditioning worked well, and it was lovely. Each day it was such a pleasure to come back in the sweltering heat of the mid-afternoon for a break and a dip in the plunge pool.
To speak to some of the other reviews here, we were very happy with the breakfast--excellent coffee and fresh orange juice, bread, crepes and jam beautifully presented in the courtyard.
We arranged to have dinner on the roof one night and it was the best food we had in Morocco. You have to arrange it in advance, and it's absolutely worth it!!
The one complaint we had was with the guides who met us to take us from the airport shuttle to the riad. We'd arrived at night, and these young men were absolute bullies. They shouted at us and demanded 20 Euros--several days' wages for a Moroccan worker--just for leading us about 3 blocks, and shouting the whole time back and forth with their friends. Once we arrived there was no one else there--no manager or staff--and we were very confused. We assumed it was just bad luck, but then we witnessed the same bullies leading another couple to the riad, and demanding 40 Euros. Really obnoxious. The management really needs to sort that out.
Oh and the TV room--ha, we didn't know that was even supposed to be a public space. We thought that was the manager's room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catinedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Three of us stayed here for three nights in the Amir room, then for a night in the Wazir room. The Wazir room is far nicer than the Amir room, though neither were worth the 750dh we were paying per night.
On arrival we received mint tea, but no real welcome. Our first room had a broken toilet that leaked everywhere, and one night we had to kill a cockroach that had decided to camp in the bathroom. The second room was lovely and much more of the level that you'd expect from a decent riad, it's just a shame we only stayed there for one night. The manager spends most of his time topless, lying in the living room watching tv and smoking with his friends, so we were not able to use this room.
Breakfast was rather poor, fresh orange juice and coffee (sometimes) with traditional pancakes and rather greasy fried french bread with sugar on.
The roof terrace is very nice, if a bit dusty, and altogether the riad is in a quiet location and its standard would be brilliant for a few hundred dirhams less! Takes about 10 minutes to walk to the Jemaa el Fna, and 5 to get to the souks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Better than any 4* hotel in the Palmeraie!!! Ideal for a romantic week break; you couldn't be further from the hecticness of the Medina and yet you are still right in its heart. This amazing family-run riad provides an astonishing breakfast of local delicacies and pastries, an elegant open courtyard with exquisite archectiture and dream-like poster-bed bedrooms. Drinking mint tea in the Berber tent on the roof terrace is memorable - this space is perfect to sun-lounge in the afternoons, taking a well-needed break from the intensity of the main square Djemna El Fna. The staff were very welcoming in English and in French, and very approachable for a social conversation over tea. True Sofia is tricky to find at first; it is advisable to get an airport transfer or manager Omar to meet you somewhere near Koutoubia, and yes the swimming pool is more of an ornament decor than an actual facility but this Riad is one of the most luxurious guesthouses you could stay in worldwide.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33ytu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#223 of 502 in Marrakech
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Sofia
Riad Sofia
#216 of 1,160 in Marrakech
144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad la Fibule
Riad la Fibule
#409 of 1,160 in Marrakech
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Moulay
Riad Moulay
#616 of 1,160 in Marrakech
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Julia

Address: 14, derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #421 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $47 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Julia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Julia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing