We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
Ranked #221 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

I stayed at the riyad for four days.Superb service by the staff. was the highlight of my stay in Marrakesh. Ever obliging and courteous.Seldom have I come across such service in my extensive stays in hotels across the world. The riyad is of moderate size and located within walking distance to the Jemaa El fna. Great experience walking through the souks to reach the Jemaa.Takes between 5 to 10 minutes. The hotel is tucked in a cul de sac. The rooms are furnished in a very Moroccon style but with modern amneties. The library is well stocked with books on Morocco. Enjoyed my evenings reading books on Morocco, to better understand local culture. The food was superb. Requested for pastilla and this was duly served the same evening. Arranged for day trips to Imlil and Ait El Bendahou via the hotel.These trips were reasonably priced with knowledgable guides who spoke good English. The riyed was originally built by the pasha of Marrakesh ( sort of a ruler who was the the chief of the Marrakesh area ) during French colonisation. So there is a lot of history in the riyad.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madhavkudva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    23
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
34
281
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Riyad Al Moussika was perfect. My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.The ambience and atmosphere was beautiful. The rooms were spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The staff were very helpful, many thanks to Hassam and Allal for making it a special stay. The chef was great, the morning breakfasts were a good spread of fresh fruit, pastries and omlettes. The birthday cake and canapes were amazing. The riyad was about 5 minutes from the main square. so good location and was very peaceful away from the hustle and bustle.
The hammam experience at the riyad is definitely a must. Really recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank din77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed in the blue room for a week. The room was beautiful with lovely duck down pillows and duvet and the softest of sheets. The bathroom was magnificent with an enormous walk-in bath. The rest of the Riyadh was equally beautiful. from the patio with marble fountain where we ate, to the pool, the roof terraces and the public rooms. The food was excellent and varied - French, Italian and Moroccan - with much of the food grown on the Riyadh's own farm. The manager Hassan was charming, Allal was an absolute treasure, and the rest of the staff were so helpful and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. The location was great - very close to Jemaa el fna, and easy walking distance to most of the main sights. But you'd never know you were so close to all the hustle and bustle as it was so peaceful once inside the doors. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-and-Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We would like to thank Allal, Hassan, Atiqa and the rest of the team for making our stay delightful. They could not do too much for us. We had two sessions of hammam and massages with the brilliant Mahjoub Taofiq, which along with the chef's first class breakfast and lunches and the gorgeous music rejuvenated and inspired us. A special place in my heart for Allal, a fellow artist who welcomed us the first day with tea and gorgeous pastries and with whom throughout our stay we exchanged thoughts on art and life. The Riyad is wonderfully placed, both close to the wonderful bustle of Djemaa el Fna and the Mellah and a deliciously quiet place to withdraw to. Its elegant Moroccan decoration a pleasure to the senses. Outside we immersed ourselves in a vibrant life of philosophising and haggling with the fantastically rich diversity of people who populate Marrakech. We admired the Bahia Palace, the Saadian Tombs, the old school Ben Youssef Medersa, the museum, the Almoravid Koubba, the Kasbah, the covered and the local’s markets in the Mellah and the unforgettable Djemaa el Fna; the mosques and the songs calling for prayer. Hence, we shall have to return since there is plenty more to see and experience in and around beautiful Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Our stay at the Riyad Al Moussika, and the attention everyone provided us, are what made our trip so memorable. The Riyad, with its intricate decor, are uniquely Arabesque and took us back to a by-gone era. We stayed in the Blue Room, which was very comfortable, had all the modern amenities and still maintained its Moroccan charm. From the music in the courtyard to the fragrant soap in the palatial bathroom, no detail was forgotten. The food was authentically Moroccan and superb, as were the afternoon tea and desserts. We never hassled with a taxi to or from the airport, and were assisted with any excursion outside the Old City as well as with any walking tour through the Medina. In short, our every need from a hotel in a distant country was met by the Riyad Al Moussika.

However, it cannot go unmentioned that anytime my wife and I recount our trip to Marrakech, we remember the fantastic staff. Aalal's warm welcome, the multi-tasking and efficient Hassan, Kamal's cheer and smile, Toufic's attentiveness and Badar's sharp focus will stay with us for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony-and-Ruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Riyad Moussika is an oasis in the heart of a very busy city. Highlights include the friendly service, the gourmet lunches and the private hammam. There is an attention to detail in the selection of books for the library, the soaps and lotions chosen for the bathrooms and the quality of food selection. Highly rcommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

A taste of royalty.....everything and more...first class service (merci Hassan) throughout: restorative teas, five star meals, blissful hammam, private rooms, quiet sleeps. Grateful for the pre breakfast room service lattes which reduced jet lag! Undoubtedly, the most authentic riyad in Marrakech. Restored beyond belief, better than other royal palaces in Morocco. Notice the detail of carved alabaster fountains, filled with roses, tinkling water. Palm lined porticos, shady roof top terrace, comfortable beds, modern bathrooms. Delightful staff. A central location as well. Highly recommended for independent travelers looking for a rich experience that reflects Morocco. After 3 weeks travel in Moroc, never came close to anything as beautiful as this.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#213 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#88 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#54 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Property: Riyad Al Moussika
Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing