We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stunning riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
Ranked #223 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Stunning riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stunning riad in the hearth of the old Medina of Marrakesh, conveniently located for the souks, museums and the crazy square Jemâa Fna. We were in the blue suite overlooking the Moorish court: Just perfect. Very good service and Hassan the manager has really done his best to satisfy all our requests of information, bookings and so on. Because of the special offer for the low season what we paid was very convenient. It was my first trip to Marrakesh and Riyad Al Moussika contributed a lot for its success.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    23
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
34
281
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandol, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staying at Riyad Al Moussika has been a very special experience. The warmth and friendliness reception and service, combined with the wonderful atmosphere of this historical Riad, plus the excellent position at 5 minutes walk from the main square, makes for a great, relaxing experience. The palace is stunning, beautiful garden with a long swimming pool, courtyards with white marble fountains full of roses, beautiful bedrooms and suites. We stayed in the green suite that was very suitable because of its private loggia and terrace, The breakfast served is copious and tasty served a la carte ...the orange juice alone justifies the visit ! We tried the hammam and massage that was very reinvigorating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaxei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Riyad al Moussika for 4 nights and found it to be our oasis in Marrakech. The service is top-notch. Hassan welcomed us with mint tea and pastries, and made sure we had everything we needed each day. The rest of the staff was attentive and friendly. We had a flight that left early in the morning, but one of our waiters was up at 5:30 am to make sure we had our breakfast of yogurt, fruit, breads, freshly-squeezed orange juice and a cappucino. Our room was beautiful . . . we felt like royalty. The restaurant here is also amazing, and their lamb tangine was one of our favorite meals in Morocco. Location is perfect . . . about 5 minutes on foot to the Jemaa el Fna. The only reason we did not give the Riyad 5 stars is the noise level. Our room looked down into the dining room courtyard; most nights the noise and music went on until midnight. We didn't mind staying up late, but if you do, you are going to need earplugs and/or a sound machine. Overall, though, excellent riyad. If we ever return to Marrakech, we will stay here a again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was quite doubtful to book a riad in the medina, wondering if the cleanness, the security and the modern comforts were acceptable... Riyad Al Moussika since the arrival convinced me that my wife was completely right by choosing it. For our wedding anniversary we spent there 4 fantastic days... Our suite, the blue one was amazing, with a marble swimming pool as bathtub! The quiet and the atmosphere of the place were incredibly relaxing despite the location in the heart of the medina and at only few minutes from the crazy main square. Large freshly made breakfasts and expresso, teas, orange juices, delicious homemade Moroccan patisserie, free of charge, all the day around! A wonderful hotel that we will remember with pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We loved this magnificent riad tucked away in a derb, as are called the streets in Marrakech, but close to all the action of Jema El Fna square, the museums and the famous souk. Service’s level is out of this world. The young manager immediately offered to upgrade us to a suite that was available, for free! Without us even asking! The suite was amazing, painted ceiling, antique carpets, huge marble shower, private terrace and a nice loggia overlooking the swimming pool. Large and delicious breakfast a la carte freshly made.
A great experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Riyad al Moussika mid-May 2013 and can only give it the highest praise. We arrived very early in the morning and from the moment we walked through the door we were welcomed "to our 2nd Home". Though we didn't expect our room to be anywhere near ready for us, within 45 minutes we were in that beautiful room. Each unique, authentically ornate, ultra-clean with fantastic linens, sizable and peaceful. We arrived in a heat wave (100+F) and the beautiful courtyard, lush plantings and first rate air conditioning cooled and calmed us.
The staff - led impeccably by the manager, Hassan - was outstanding. Not just because of their professional and Fine (with a capital F) service, but most importantly for their warmth and heart. No one we encountered ever had anything else in mind but our comfort. Really unusual. We left the Riyad to spend a week in the desert and when we returned, we were welcomed as if we were the closest and dearest of family.
Dinner at Pepe Nero was very nice. And exceedingly handy. We ate there 3 times. Breakfasts were abundant and elaborate.
I really could go on but I encourage people to try it for themselves. I cannot imagine disappointment. Again, thanks to Hassan and his outstanding staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights R&R after 7 days of trekking in the Atlas Mountains, therefore we chose the splendid blue suite with its huge marble bath to soak away our aches and pains.
The Riyad is easy to find and only 8 minutes walk to the main square (if you don't get sucked in to the shops!). It is simply stunning, beautifully restored and a perfect retreat from the city. The service is excellent, very welcoming and helpful and the suites are beautiful.
The only reason I give it four stars and not five is due to us coming in what seems like out of season for them as we were the only guests. Although this has it's benefits, we felt like it was our own home, the terrace let it down. We had to request the terrace to be opened and prepared for us each time we wished to use it which was not a problem, however as they only prepared a small seating area for us it still felt unkempt and not completely relaxing, with furniture stacked up and covered as well as maintenance being carried out.
Also as the restaurant is very busy and popular the noise levels are quite high till around 11pm. This wasn't a problem for us, however see my room tips below.
All in all it is an excellent Riyad and we will definitely stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shongile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#212 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#33 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#60 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#159 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Property: Riyad Al Moussika
Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing