We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil oasis in the middle of the very hectic Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
Ranked #221 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Hereford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil oasis in the middle of the very hectic Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights R&R after 7 days of trekking in the Atlas Mountains, therefore we chose the splendid blue suite with its huge marble bath to soak away our aches and pains.
The Riyad is easy to find and only 8 minutes walk to the main square (if you don't get sucked in to the shops!). It is simply stunning, beautifully restored and a perfect retreat from the city. The service is excellent, very welcoming and helpful and the suites are beautiful.
The only reason I give it four stars and not five is due to us coming in what seems like out of season for them as we were the only guests. Although this has it's benefits, we felt like it was our own home, the terrace let it down. We had to request the terrace to be opened and prepared for us each time we wished to use it which was not a problem, however as they only prepared a small seating area for us it still felt unkempt and not completely relaxing, with furniture stacked up and covered as well as maintenance being carried out.
Also as the restaurant is very busy and popular the noise levels are quite high till around 11pm. This wasn't a problem for us, however see my room tips below.
All in all it is an excellent Riyad and we will definitely stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shongile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    23
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
34
281
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It is a great place to stay but being so small it has its flaws. I will start with the PROS:
1 - It's a beautiful serene enchanting little Riad. Once you step through the doors you almost forget you are in the heart of the Medina madness
2 - The staff is very warm and welcoming.
3 - Food is excellent. Breakfast is delicious as is dinner. Their in house restaurant Pepe Nero is indeed very good and always busy.
4 - It's only a short 8 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna.
5 - It has been restored to perfection. Its ceilings, courtyard, library, etc look stunning. At times it feels you are staying in a museum.

CONS:
1 - It's very loud at night. The restaurant is the main business, not the riad itself. So expect loud music pumping through the speakers til very late.
2 - Being so small comes with problems. I had to wait two days until they were able to replace a lightbulb in the toilet.
3 - Breakfast although delicious takes forever. Some days it would take up to 30 minutes to arrive.

All in all I'd recommend as long as you don't mind going to bed late.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Vargian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Al Moussika is a wonderful Riad. The staff was absolutely great, and extremely helpful all the time. The room was very comfortable Moroccan style. Nice and large breakfast in a very nice courtyard. My husband and I spent four nights here. The location is excellent, close to the main square Jemaa El Fna, the souks and the museums. Deserves top rating, greatly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The decor and tranquility of Riyad al Moussika were amazing. We stayed in the green suite and it was absolutely fantastic. Spacious, beautiful interior, beautiful bathroom with it's own private terrace! Amazing.

The manager, Hassan was incredibly kind and thorough. He was always available to answer questions, make bookings for us and help us plan our day.
He ensured that our trip was spectacular from end to end.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My Mum and I went to Marrakesh for a long weekend and stayed at Riyad Al Moussika. It was a fabolous hotel, in the centre of the old medina. The location was great, the staff couldn't do enough for you. Great breakfast , with lovely fresh food. The best orange juice I have ever had! We got a good deal for a late booking which made it fabolous value for money. I will certanly go back at the first occasion... Marrakesh is captivating!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have discovered Riad Al Moussika on occasion of a dinner at its restaurant last year, so for our trip to Marrakech this year we decided to staying there.

Perfect choice! We chose the blue suite ... an absolute delight! As the whole riad, with its marble fountains full of roses, the magnificent Moorish courtyards, swimming pool and hammam. Service at the level of a five-star hotel

Marrakech with its charm has become one of our favourite spots for a long weekend and certainly our favourite hotel will be from now on, Riad Al Moussika.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Perfectly situated, a very short trouble free walk from Jamaa El Fna square, this little oasis is such a welcome 'home' after a days outing. The staff are kind and professional. Nothing seems too much bother for anyone involved within this Riyad.

The five rooms are traditionaly decorated and individual and about as far away from a chain hotel as can possibly be. Having visited La Mamamounia with a speculation for future visits, we both agreed that our first choice on return will definitely be Riyad al Moussika.

Inside the Riyad is two courtyards, one of which has a swimming pool, small, narrow and long but fed from a fountain full of rose heads and petals. The second courtyard hosts breakfast and dinner.

The secluded roof terrace is nice for an early evening pre dinner drink.

Beds are really comfortable, a must for being away from the comforts of home.
Cleanliness and hygene is faultless.
Everything is in it's place here.

The Riyad also incorporates the PepeNero restaurant, open in the evenings. Lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#214 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#52 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#86 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#55 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Property: Riyad Al Moussika
Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Prestigia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing