We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a revisit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
Ranked #221 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Definitely worth a revisit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Was our first trip to Marrakesh and Riyad Al Moussika contributed to make of it a complete success.
Located quite closed to the main square, but in a quiet area, with easy access to all the important points to be seen, Riyad Al Moussika is magnificent. An old pashas’ palace superbly refurbished with a nice swimming pool in a garden, beautiful saloons and courtyards with several marble fountains full of roses. Very peaceful despite the location in the crowed Medina, an oasis full of peace and enchanted atmosphere. Our suite, the green one is beautifully decorated and has a private terrace and a loggia as well overlooking the garden and the pool where was very pleasant to rest after the exhausting experience of the souks, enjoying a nice cup of tea with the delicious patisseries complimentary offered. The service of the young team of boys was just perfect, very professional and always with an additional smiles at all your requests. Definitely worth a revisit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaH416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    23
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
34
281
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited with two friends and stayed in the 'green room'. First visit to Marrakech and could not have booked a better place. The room, staff and service were all great. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was the best meal we had in Marrakech. Breakfast really good also. What was so nice was when you had been out all day you were welcomed back with mint tea and cakes. Will definitely come back and visit this lovely little hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChippyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Back to Marrakech for Easter, we wanted this time to make the experience to stay in a Riad and our choice of Riad Al Moussika was the perfect one. The riad is perfectly located at few minutes from the main square, the souks and the museums. Our green suite with the private terrace was gorgeous and the riad just amazing for its beauty. Very good service from the beginning to the end, with the director, Hassan, who didn’t spare efforts to make our stay great. Delicious breakfasts and fantastic hammam experience. We will come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel_Sel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to this spectacular Riyad and it just has gotten better each time.
We reserved the spacious "Blue Suite" with spectacular tile work and painted ceiling. The sunken bath tub is large enough to swim in. It is a very special suite and highly recommended.

The first two times we stayed at the riyad were before they opened the Pepe Nero restaurant. It is by far the best restaurant we have eaten at in Marrakech. Khalid is a supremely talented chef with both Moroccan and Italian menus. You can not go wrong with either choice.

Thanks to the Riyad's manager Hassan for keeping everything running smoothly. All the staff are attentive without ever being intrusive and all of them willing to go the extra mile if needed.

Almost daily my wife and I wonder...Who is in our suite tonight?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had an incredible stay at Riyad al Moussika - the service is amazing, the food delicious, and the rooms sumptuous. I cannot say enough good things about the quality of the staff. Everyone was beyond accommodating and kind - the staff made us feel welcome and took care of us over our week long stay. At one point our group rented every room in the riad and I can honestly say they are all lovely and immaculate. Do not miss eating at Pepe Nero, the onsite restaurant at least once (if not more!) during your stay.
Location wise the riad is well situated with close walking distance to the Jemaa el Fna but also has a courtyard adjacent that allows taxis easy access. Dining out late you can always get a taxi back to the riad without any fear of getting lost.
I have been coming to Marrakech since 1995 and have stayed at many riads over the years - Riyad al Moussika definitely tops them all. We will be coming back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Upon arriving by taxi we were greeted by staff from the Riyad who walked us through the little alleys. It was our first time and we didn't know what to expect.

The Riyad is beautiful with the entrance having the luxury of a pool in it's centre. It was freezing in Feb, so only dipped a toe in. We were led to the library where we were told to make ourselves comfortable and we were brought the first of our Morrocan teas and pastries. Both very enjoyable and complimentary. I loved the tea.

We had the comfort room which was fairly large and nicely appointed, with a generous sized bathroom. This room is over the kitchen courtyard so could become quite noisy, but it didn't bother us as we can sleep through most things.

Breakfast was a feast and totally set us up for the day. The staff are really kind, especially the manager who couldn't do enough to help you.
He gave us a map and told us a few tricks that the young boys might try. Even after this pep talk we walked straight into the scam when an older teenager told us that the alley we were choosing was closed due to prayers at the mosque until 10am...we ended up giving him a fiver because the shop keeper didn't have any smaller change for us ....He is there every day and he can spot the newbies a mile off... It is very easy to navigate when you get over the initial shock of the winding alley's and it's great fun.

After dinner one night we asked if we could have a champagne bucket sent up, they did this for us and also provided nuts and olives which was a really kind gesture, and much appreciated. The plus side of our room was that it was connected to the library so we had the champagne sat in our robes on the lounge chairs in the library. Total relaxation.

The terrace has a few sun beds at one end and some comfortable sofas and tables at the other end. We had tea, pastries and the not so ubiquitous wine up there. It was most enjoyable to sit in the peace and quiet of an afternoon before the onslaught of the evening square.

Checking out was simple and an error on the bill was immediately rectified with profuse apologies.

I would recommend this Riyad and its staff as they are all pleasant, helpful and funny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshKitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. The team who runs the riad is very welcoming and provides an excellent service. The building is an old palace of the last Pasha of Marrakech beautifully refurbish and with a lot of character.
We stayed at the green suite that has a private terrace and a loggia in front of the room: Very comfortable.
Try the hammam and the massages... a great experience! We will come back one day with pleasure.

Room Tip: The green suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#213 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#88 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#54 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Property: Riyad Al Moussika
Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing