We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This romantic, classical place will bring out the best in you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riyad Al Moussika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riyad Al Moussika
Ranked #239 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Epe, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This romantic, classical place will bring out the best in you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

I was looking for a romantic, typical Moroccan hotel to spend a week with my partner. It took me quite a while to find just the perfect place. They all look nice and they all serve a good breakfast, but Riyad al Moussika was somehow way beyond the others.

We were picked up from the airport by a driver and within 10 minutes we arrived somewhere in the middle of the Medina, in a place you wouldn’t imagine there could be a hotel or even a descent house. Via some narrow passages you actually reach a door that says ‘Restaurant PepeNero’. I had a nice correspondence with the owner and when we arrived, we got a warm welcome by him. He told us about the history of the Riad and showed us each room and place, telling all about it. I was happy and somehow surprised to hear Chopin play. They served some nice Moroccan mint tea with lovely sweet pastries after we inspected our room. The room was lovely decorated with hand painted doors and windows. Not the type of room you would like to spend a lot of time in however, because this is the smallest of them all, the Junior Al Asfar. But this was the only room available. I had set my mind on Riyad al Moussika and we got a nice discount (to be honest, any other room would not have been affordable for us, prices would have been 3 times higher).

Junior Al Asfar is situated right next to the restaurant, upstairs. Around 6 pm the staff is getting busy preparing for diner. They heat up the courtyard by using three big patio heaters and the warmth is crawling up the walls towards the small room. Every night the restaurant is fully booked. There is a really romantic atmosphere and even if you don’t enjoy diner downstairs, it’s lovely to look over the romantic scenery with all the candles burning and listening to the classical music. We needed earplugs to get some sleep, but that is just because we didn’t go out late at night nor eat at PepeNero.

It’s very personal, but the thing I loved best in the riad was the classical music. There was an Italian couple sleeping right behind the library (Al Wardi room, which has more privacy, less noise from downstairs and a lovely green bathroom) and they were, like us, crazy for the wonderful sound that was produced by the Bose speakers. In the morning they popped in ‘Adiago’ and turned up the volume so that the wonderful sound was filling everyones ears. We kept this tradition alive when they left, since the system was in the library, which was next to our door. Above our door was a Bose speaker, so this causes some extra loudness at night. If you don’t mind, there is no problem, but should you want to enjoy the silence like there is the rest of the day in the riad, pick another room. For example the suite Al Akhdar, which is situated at the other courtyard and has a private balcony as well! Very luxurious room. We didn’t get a chance to see the blue room, the Al Azrak, but since it is above the restaurant, like our junior suite, this is perhaps not the best choice (but still a very, very nice and spacy room though).

Breakfast in the morning is a wonderful little party. They heat up (February) several parts of the restaurant and spread up the few people in the hotel, so there is enough privacy. The sweet food just keeps coming… You can enjoy wonderful tasty yoghurt, fresh fruit cocktail, the best Italian coffee, traditional Moroccan tea or black English tea, eggs, toast, all kinds of bread and pastries, lovely fresh orange juice, water etc. The entire staff is very kind. Each and everyone is happy to assist you and to let you experience a wonderful time in Marrakech.

We didn’t use the free hammam, but it’s included in your stay. So are the soft drinks and afternoon tea with sweet pastries. Whenever we came back from a long walk, it was nice to relax on the roof terrace and have some tea. It’s funny how quiet it was on top of the building and inside the riad, while being in the middle of hectic Marrakech. Just the singing birds and in the distance the music of the snake charmers.

After a week in the romantic riad we had to say goodbye. Most memorable to me was that the owner himself carried our bags all the way to the small plaza near the hotel, where the taxi would arrive. We had to wait for a few minutes and instead of saying goodbye directly, a few members of the staff and the owner sat there together with us. We got a hug and a hand and so the story ends…

You feel a warm welcome inside the riad. It is a luxurious and very comfortable place to be. A perfect spot, close to the main square (Jemaa el Fna) but nicely tucked away, where you can enjoy the silence. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes classic Morocco, and who can appreciate the wonderful surroundings of the riad. If you bring a camera you just keep taking pictures here. Very photogenic place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Groenepepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    23
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
34
281
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

3 days was for me as a dream
Staff nice, rooms good
I will come back for sure

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I treated my wife to a surprise 40th Birthday present, a trip to Riyad Al Moussika.
The whole experience was tremendous, from checking in to checking out.
We gave the Riyad our Flight details and they took care of private transfers from and to the airport. Transfer time only 15-20 mins.
We stayed in the Green Room, which has it's own private rooftop terrace and it's own balcony overlooking the pool. The room itself was amazing and very clean, from the intricate details around the bed to the large bathroom, with enormous walk in shower. Bed was very comfortable and was made up everyday, whilst we were at breakfast.
Breakfast was included in the stay, and was very plentiful. Fresh orange juice, honey infused yoghurt, mixed fruit, pancakes/crepes with honey, toast with homemade marmalade and lots of fresh coffee. We didn't have to eat again until dinner!!
The staff were always available and ready to make us reservations at other venues.
We ate twice at Pepe Nero's, which is also located in Riyad Al Moussika, the food was that good. You could choose between Morrocan or Italian food and there was a good wine selection.
We also had a Hammam and massage at the Riyad, which was brilliant, we both felt completely refreshed, clean and relaxed - worth the €40 each.
For nervous first timers to Marrakesh, this is an excellent place to stay. One member of staff escorted us all the way to Djemaa El Fna square (about 5-10 mins walk), giving us useful tips along the way - saved us a lot of money. Just watch out for the Mopeds.
In conclusion, I would rate our stay and Riyad Al Moussika as unforgettable.
A big thank you to Hassan and all his staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but the Blue and Green room are the cream of the crop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseybulldog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

My mum and I had stayed in this little gorgeous hotel for 3 nights in November. The service is undoubtedly top drawer. Staff is very obliging and friendly. They will bring/arrange whatever you asked for. They supply you with pastry all day without charge and it is delicious! The building is very pretty and well-maintained. Very impressive!

It is 5 minutes away from the medina and the palaces. very good location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at the Riyad Al Moussika in October 2011 and had a wonderful time. My wife and I stayed in one of the double rooms and her brother in the single. The double room was lovely, nice size and comfortable. The single room is on the small side but it is absolutely beautiful. We got a tour of the larger suites and they are stunning! Would definitely splurge on the larger suite if you're celebrating a special occasion. We have never experienced such hospitality! From the moment we entered the courtyard until the day we left, everything was absolutely perfect. The food was amazing and the service impeccable. They truly made us feel like we were at home and made our trip to Marrakesh one that we will never forget. The location was perfect and within walking distance to the souks. Anything we wanted, all we had to do was ask. We hope to visit again one day soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasJoe0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We initially discovered pepe nero, the restaurant in Al Moussika,which we attended three nights in a row.Consistently amazing food.We loved it so much we decided to leave our modern riad to stay an extra night and check in at Al Moussika.Hassan and the staff were amazingly hospitable.Nothing was too much to ask.We cant recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We had a fabulous stay! Lovely room, delicious meals and absolutely wonderful staff. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriennejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riyad El Cadi
Riyad El Cadi
#231 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#85 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#100 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Grawa
Dar Grawa
#193 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riyad Al Moussika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Moussika

Property: Riyad Al Moussika
Address: 62 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#160 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Moussika 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Moussika - For comfort, style and refinement. THE Riad experience in Marrakech! Situated in the ancient medina of Marrakech, five minutes walk from place Jemaa El Fna, the Riyad was once one of the residences of the former Pasha of Marrakech, Thami El Glaoui, and has been refurbished to a very high standard in the Andalucian style. One of the gates of Riyad Al Moussika opens on to a garden with old cypress trees soaring to the sky, a huge bougainvillea climbing across the pergolas, a swimming pool, in the centre or, more precisely, an Andalucian basin thirteen meters long, tiled with a mosaic carpet design. Here water falls from a white Carrara marble fountain to the songs of numerous small birds creating an idyllic scenario, in spite of being in the heart of central medina. A fireplace gives the winter evenings a cosy atmosphere, as do the impressive modern paintings, carpets, sofas and armchairs. There is a hi-fi system and an art deco Pleyel grand piano perfectly tuned for the pleasure of the guests. The Turkish bath or hammam in white marble with a relax room where, on request, a professional masseur can take care of the guests. There is a unique view of the medina and the Atlas Mountains from the two terraces that are sheltered partially with wooden pergolas and surrounded by large terracotta flower vases. Tables, comfortable armchairs with cushions and teak chaises-long allow guests to request breakfast and candle lit dinner, as well as to sunbathe during the day. On one of the terraces there is a pavilion with Moroccan sofas, cushions and lamps should some of the guests prefer a more intimate space. The resident Chef, Grand Diploma Cordon Bleu, has devoted his life to gastronomy and invites lovers of fine dining to experience his repertoire of Moroccan, Italian and French cuisine at the haute Cuisine riyad's Restaurant PEPE NERO. There are 4 double bedrooms, all with en-suite bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning / heating system, telephone with external line, television with the major satellite channels (BBC, CNN etc.), Internet wireless connection is available and DVD in the music room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riyad Al Moussika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riyad Al Moussika Marrakech
Riyad Al Moussika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing