We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Marrakech base” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar el Souk
Ranked #93 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Marrakech base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Riad experience is different from your average hotel and better for it! Dar el Souk is a lovely collection of individual rooms (you can view them on the website!). All furnished individually and very much it feels like you are a house guest rather than a visitor to a typical hotel chain. The rooftop courtyard is calm and shady with lemon trees and other things and throughout the property there are nooks and crannies where you can have breakfast served or just hang out and read. The staff were exceptional. The owner is a charming English expat who spent a long time showing us maps and discussing things to do and the rest of the staff were great as well and very accommodating about late check-outs and the like. We loved our time here. A few practical things. Any Riad in the Medina has the positive experience of the narrow streets and atmosphere and it is pretty easy to navigate but I'd be wary of having toddlers in and around the medina as you need to be quite aware of the bikes. Also in January, it is a quite cold at night and the rooms have a heater but if you are obsessed with needing constant 70 degree heat travel a bit later in the year! Would thoroughly recommend this lovely Riad.

Room Tip: Try and view them on a website (we used Hip Marrakech) and find one you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the5foleys2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    53
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
62
126
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We hired the whole Riad as a family of 9 (including an 80 year old and one 7 months pregnant!). The Riad was beautiful, clean, traditional and fantastically located. Our breakfasts were delicious and all the staff are thoughtful, fun and generous with their time and knowledge. They could not have done more to make us feel welcome. The roof terrace is great and the sitting room is comfortable and great for lounging. A wonderful Christmas break for the whole family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Endlessbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We only stayed in Marrakech for one night on our way back to England and this place was lovely. The courtyard boasted list of plants and privacy with small terraces to each room where you can sit outside on comfortable chairs. The staff were polite and helpful, arranging a driver to the airport and making mint tea on our arrival. The shower was amazing and hot, the best one of our whole trip and the place was clean and we'll aired.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmereldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I found this absolutely fantastic little courtyard house with about 8 rooms with balconies facing a charming courtyard and a roof garden with sun loungers and a shady tent (for eating meals that the cook will bring up to order) -where the roofstops and battlements of the old city are spread out 360 degrees round you, storks nest on nearby chimneys, and the Koutoubia Mosque can be seen gleaming in the evening 's golden light. Heaven! I have not wanted to spread the news round before as this is a place with romantic memories. We went there to spend 5 nights on the 50th Anniversary of our first meeting and we revisited on our Golden Wedding anniversry last spring. Along with countless other couples who have found this place, it is sort of OURS and we didn't want too many to know.. ... However we are clearly getting on in years and there other places to visit while we are fit..... so just find it by Google mapping it and you will see its perfect location close to one of the main taxi and tour bus termini and only three zig zag streets from the wonderful Dar Nejjarine restaurant. And the local kids and local traders get to recognise you as you leave the narrow lane onto the busy main street - you feel so SAFE when you venture out in the dark.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous five days in Marrakech and would definitely recommend staying at the Dar el Souk. It is a magical place in a perfect location. The staff are incredible, nothing is too much trouble and the owners are fantastic helping with bookings and organising trips. We are going to re-book another stay and will be recommending to friends and family. Jo Chapman and family

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I and her parents took the two ground floor rooms on a week long stay. We found Dar El Souk to be an excellent respite and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Marrakech. Very reasonably priced, clean and nicely decked out from top to toe it was a perfect base for our week. Perfectly situated, everything was within walking distance. Although we never ate at the riad in the evenings the breakfasts were always cheerful and promptly served. Madeline Williams was a very helpful and friendly host who is in most mornings to answer queries and welcome new guests. The night porter Abdel is a top man, friendly knowledgable and hugely helpful, he took me to a pharmacy on a sunday when most of them were closed as my wife had a dose of dodgy belly (not from Dar El souk I hasten to add!)
We would definitely return to Dar El souk should we revisit Marrakech and thank again everyone involved especially Abdel for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Sharifa and then 4 nights in Attarine, with a trek in the Atlas mountains in between - both rooms are a good size and comfortable. The English owner Madi lives off-site and only drops in during the morning, but has plenty of information to impart about the sights and restaurants of Marrakesh when you do meet her. The inner courtyard garden and roof terrace are charming, and a great break from the bustle of the medina. Most or all of the rooms have a seating area outside (overlooking the courtyard) where you can choose to take breakfast, which includes very fresh French bread but rather average pancakes. Sounds from the courtyard do penetrate the rooms rather easily, so if there happen to be other guests talking on their terraces late into the night, you will certainly be aware of them! In the evening and overnight the riad is looked after by Abdul, who gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and was always most friendly and helpful. The location is very good, being only a few minutes walk from the main square of the medina (Jemaa el-Fna).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Eden
Riad Eden
#184 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jona
Riad Jona
#42 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Anabel
Riad Anabel
#18 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#20 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#11 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#10 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Property: Dar el Souk
Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing