We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A lovely Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar el Souk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar el Souk
Ranked #97 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DEVON
2 reviews
“A lovely Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

A lovely riad, conveniently close to the main square but tucked away from the hussle and bussle. The roof garden is truly lovely and the call to pray is actually quite therapeutic! I stayed on the ground floor and since it was winter there was little or no noise. I can imagine it gets a bit noisy in the summer when its hot enough to sit out at night. But you can't hear the call to pray down there. The hospitality was good, breakfast simple but pleasant. Not suitable for young childfren, but a good place for an adult break. In my opinion 3 days in Marakech is plenty of time to see the sights and its not as cheap as you might expect for food or transport out of the city.

  • Liked — elegant, in keeping with historic marakesh, not over the top
  • Disliked — the room a little on the small side
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nela_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    53
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
62
126
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2008

We have just returned from our stay at the Dar el Souk and totally loved it. We arrived in Marrakech as two novices and Madeline and the staff at the Riad made our stay a complete pleasure. The advice, guidance and suggestions of where to go provided by Madeline on our first morning was a great help.

The peace and tranquility of the Riad after a day wandering through the madness of Marrakech was wonderful and our trip to the Atlas Mountains with Madeline was the absolute highlight of our visit.

We would gladly recommend the Dar el Souk to anyone and would love to go back for a return visit.

Thank you, Gary & Phillip

  • Liked — the overall tranquility / charm of the host
  • Disliked — there was nothing negative about the accomodation
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

My wife has wanted to go to Marrakech for some time and as a gift for her 30th birthday we decided to do a 4 day trip in Morocco in late January / early February; 2 days in Marrakech followed by 2 days in the Atlas Mountains. We wanted an authentic Moroccan experience and decided early that we wanted to stay in a riad. The reviews covering Dar El Souk were excellent and so in spite of the wide choice of enticing options we decided to give it a go. We were not at all disappointed. Maddie and the team were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

As were arrived in Marrakech we were initially daunted by the maze-like streets and with my appalling sense of direction I could sense trouble ahead! However, Maddie and her map make a great team and we were full of confidence after our 30 minute welcome chat. In fact, we found it quite straightforward to make our way to and from the riad. Maddie made some great recommendations of restaurants and places to visit. These were all great and in particular the hammann was a truly memorable experience. The only thing we didn't enjoy during our 2 days was the horse and carriage ride. We were taken around the perimeter of the city, spending most of our time on busy, main roads and seeing very few interesting sights.

The riad itself was clean, tastefully furnished and offered delicious food. The breakfasts really set us up for the day so we would recommend not missing them! It was an absolute delight sitting on the roof terrace and sipping our fresh orange juice and coffee and munching through a selection of pastries. I can't really add much to the previous reviews, which I wholeheartedly endorse, and we would not hesitate to stay in the Dar El Souk when we next visit Marrakech.

Marrakech for us was an interesting and fun experience. We felt that 2 days is sufficient to get a good feel of the place and we felt ready to then move on to the next leg of our trip.

We hope that you enjoy the Dar El Souk as much as we did.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — No criticisms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robertoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

My cousin and i decided to take a trip together and Morocco it was. As soon as we arrived the welcome was warm and friendly and it stayed that way. From Maddy the owner, to the chefs, night watch man and the cleaners, everyone was wonderful. The rooms were clean, cultural and the ambience fantastic. The breakfasts were amazing and we loved the roof top :) Our favourite part of the stay of course, was the opportunity my cousin and I had to cook our lunch with the Chef in the kitchen. We had a great day and learned alot about Moroccon cooking. We will definately recomend this place. Maddy (the owner) even drove us to the Atlas mountains for the day.

  • Liked — the security, peacefulness and the food.
  • Disliked — it was cold at times
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

We (mum, dad and adult daughter) stayetd at Dar el Souk for three nights to celebrate my 62 birthday. We couldn't have done better! Although our flight was delayed by several hours the hotel pre-arranged taxi was waiting for us at the airport. The Riad is in the centre of the old city (the Medina) where the street are too narrow for even the smallest taxi, so your bags are transported from the taxi stop to Dar el Souk by a man with a hand cart. Sounds antiquated, but it's a very efficient system. The 5 minute walk thru the narrow streets is a little disconcerting initially but it is REALLY very easy to get your bearings.

Entering the Riad is a awesome experience - from the noise and sights of the narrow streets to almost total silence (except for the tinkling of water in the fountains and the twittering of the birds in the courtyard) is remarkable. The staff are REALLY helpful and friendly. The ambience is REALLY serene. The food is REALLY nice (we had breakfast every morning on the roof-top terrace and on arrival we had a traditional dinner in the dining room/lounge in front of the roaring log fire). We had other meals at various city locations, some were very good, others quite disappointing.

The beds were comfortable, the bathroom facilities were fine - only complaint was the dawn chorus from the local birds at 5am! On our first morning we were met by Madeline who gave us a map and spent a good deal of time explaining places we should visit and the restraurants where we should dine.

If you don't stay at Dar el Souk then stay in another Riad. If you stay in one of the modern chain hotel outside the city walls you'll be missing out on one of the major attractions Marrakech has to offer. We recommend Dar el Souk 110%. Don't hesitate - go for it!!

uncletony, Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

  • Liked — The ambience, the staff, the location, the food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uncletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

Even before we arrived in Marrakech, we had recieved helpful emails from the riad's owners helping us with our journey planning- arranging a taxi for us from the airport and a porter with a cart to take us from the taxi drop off point through the alleys to the riad. I am sure if we had been left to our own devices it would have taken us twice as long and we would have been far more frazzled when we arrived! As it was, we were welcomed into a calm, cool and inviting house with mint tea, comfy sofas and a chat with Madi, our gracious hostess, with advice on places of interest, good places to eat and other useful nuggets of information as well as a handy map.
We soon met the house staff; Imane, Naima, Fouzia and later Reda, all of whom were extremely obliging, never intrusive but always ready and willing to help if we needed them. I can't thank them enough for helping us to feel so at home and for being very tolerant of our mangled French!
We rested for a while and then set off to explore the wonders of the Place Jemaa el Fnaa and to have dinner at the Marrakshi restaurant, as recommended AND booked for us by Madi. We feasted like kings on tagine, pastilla and oranges a la cannelle as we watched the activity in the Place from the enormous windows. On our return I was genuinely touched to find we had been left a charming note and a bottle of fizzy in our room which we took upstairs to the terrace to enjoy by lamplight. What a perfect way to spend my 40th birthday!
The house is beautifully decorated in opulent style without being so over the top as to feel like you are visiting an art gallery. Each floor has small, quiet seating areas as well as the roof terrace with its honesty bar - a lovely touch and most welcome after a hard day's shopping - so you never feel confined to your room in your downtime. The situation in the medina is perfect, with many sights within easy walking distance and the Place only minutes away. If you want to go further afield there's a handy taxi rank very close by too.
The local shop owners and stall holders soon became familiar and greeted us each morning, even when they knew we weren't stopping to buy. We ate breakfast in the courtyard each morning - a splendid array of pancakes, fresh juice, bread, cakes, coffee... it really sets you up for the day! We met some new friends at breakfast too, of the avian variety. Two small birds joined us each day to share our crumbs and entertain us. If they had been any cuter we would have been in danger of becoming a Disney cartoon!
Madi organised a trip to the mountains which we were delighted to join. She accompanied us herself, translating for us with our driver, mountain guide and at various places of interest along the way, all of which were well worth stopping for and none of which we would have found alone.
Our week came to an end all too soon but right up to our final moments in the riad, the staff were still helping us out, making sure we had a taxi ready to take us to the airport in good time for our flight. I actually had a bit of a tear in my eye as I left!
I fell in love with Marrakech, but Dar el Souk was the matchmaker. Can you imagine that some people still choose to stay in boring hotels with anonymous staff and identikit furnishings? Nope, I just don't get it. Go to Dar el Souk instead and really have a holiday to remember.

  • Liked — The friendly welcome
  • Disliked — A little lacking in privacy, but only because we were on the ground floor.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spanishinquisition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

We chose Dar El Souk after reading lots of reviews on this site and we weren't at all disappointed with our choice for our 5-night stay in Marrakech. Situated in the heart of the Medina, just a few minutes' walk from Djemaa El-Fna, it's close enough to be handy for getting around the city, but far enough away from the crowds to offer a peaceful haven when we needed to escape from all the hustle and bustle.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and genuinely seemed to want to make our stay as perfect as possible, and the British owner, Maddie was really lovely and gave us lots of useful advice on what to see, where to shop, etc.

The riad is beautifully decorated in Moroccan style throughout and a nice touch were all the English language books and magazines scattered around for guests to borrow. We were on a budget and had chosen one of the cheapest rooms (Smata), but it was very pretty and an electric heater helped to keep it cosy, even during the bitterly cold December evenings.

Our favourite place was the roof terrace, where we spent many an hour just relaxing and soaking up the sun during the day. The staff were happy to serve our delicious breakfast up there each morning and, strangely enough, most mornings we were alone in our tee-shirts, with the sun blazing down and just the birds for company, whilst most of our fellow guests chose to eat breakfast in the (much!) cooler dining room, wearing sweaters and fleeces! Incidentally, the dining room was much warmer in the evenings, when staff lit a blazing log fire and we enjoyed a lovely traditional Moroccan dinner in there on our first night.

The roof terrace also has its own "honesty bar" that's kept well-stocked with wine, beer and soft drinks, which was a very welcome feature in the mainly "dry" Medina area of Marrakech. We thought that the prices for the wine and beer were also very reasonable, expecially considering the virtually captive market!

Overall, Dar El Souk was a great find and we would recommend it to anyone looking for mid-priced accommodation with a real Moroccan feel.

Elaine & Mike

  • Liked — The Roof Terrace
  • Disliked — Not enough light in the bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Eden
Riad Eden
#200 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jona
Riad Jona
#42 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Anabel
Riad Anabel
#17 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#20 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#11 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#10 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Souk

Property: Dar el Souk
Address: 56 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitoun Kedim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar el Souk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Souk Marrakech
Dar El Souk Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing