We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, unique, peaceful and CHEAP! :)”
Review of Riad Laora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Laora
Ranked #291 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked our first night at Marrakesh just a day before our flight and it was one of the best places that we slept in for the whole trip .... They arranged for a cab to take us from the airport directly to the Riad, then a warm mint tea was served at 3 am ! The room was quite hot even with the air conditioning but i guess if you come to Morocco you cannot expect something different and you need time to adjust to the local temperatures.... All the details in our room from the decoration to the shampoos looked thoughtfully chosen, stylish and unique.... I felt the Moroccan culture in every little item in the room...

Initially, our plan was to just sleep somewhere in Marrakesh and head straight away to the South but then on morning we stayed at least couple of hours in the Riad.... Sunbathing on the balcony with a cup of coffee, then breakfast, then shower.... What more to ask :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadia-maripoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Riad Laora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We loved straying at Riad Laora. It was in the perfect location, only a short walk to the square but far enough so that you can really relax. Anything closer to the square would be a but much in my opinion. The weather was beautiful in September so we spent a lot of time in the afternoons up on the roof terrace sunbathing, reading our books. The breakfast was also delicious and the dinner we requested in the riad was lovely too!

The only fault that I can find is the shower in our room (we had the harlequin room). The water never really ran that hot and the attachement to hold up the shower head was broken. A little annoying but definetely not a deal breaker! oh and i think that 'swimming pool' should be taken off of the hotel description...it was more of a foot pool inside the riad, lovely none the less, but not a pool!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 (parents & 17, 22 and 24 yr olds). We all greatly enjoyed our stay. The decor is wonderful, with their use of ceramics and fabrics. There is a foot pool in the central courtyard. Breakfast consisted of freshly cooked pancakes and muffins with jam and fresh orange jiuce.
Our rooms has air con.
There is WiFi.
If ou want an evening meal, you must arrange it in advance, or no later than breakfast time.
It is a 10 minute easy walk to the main square.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BevGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

the Riad is amazing, mostly due to lovely staff. Manaar, Mina and Lahcen - amazing hosts; nothing we asked was too much trouble. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and tasty. (last day we had our favourite bread that we asked for the day before).
Good location in the centre of Medina.
Facilities at the hotel were good. The only comment is that Wi-Fi signal is not very strong upstairs.
The manager - Lorenzo is very helpful and polite.
If you want to experience the real Morocco - then it is definitely place to go.
We are very happy and recommend this hotel.

Noureddine

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nouri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having read all the Tripadvisor comments we thought we had found a gem for our first trip to Marrakech. I am afraid we must have been in a different place to the rest of you.

The Riad is located up a narrow dusty smelly alleyway. Our room was so small we could hardly move. There was a full ashtray on the side table. Two light bulbs were not working and those that did were so dim you could not read. The safe was not even screwed in so anyone could walk off with it. The air conditioning did not work. There was no door lock. There was no key to the front door, so you had to keep banging until you were let in.

Modern comforts with a swimming pool!!?? No TV; no tea and coffee making facilities; no plugs in the hand basin or bath. Almost impossible shower. The pool is a tiny paddling pool fit only for a few gold fish.

The breakfast was a few rolls with cheap jam and we were expected to drink our coffee from cereal bowls!!! There were no evening meals on offer which we were looking forward to.

We paid £115.67 for two nights B&B. Not good enough. Wish we had paid more to go to one of the 5 star hotels available instead of falling for the so called romance of a Riad.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Friendly staff welcome you into an oasis of cool calmness after the bustle outside. Our room was comfortable, charmingly furnished with attention given to detail. Delicious breakfasts. Pleasent roof top garden. No request is too much trouble. Would definitely stay again. Well positioned for access to all parts of the city.

Room Tip: Every room we peeked at appeared equally comfortable and inviting. Most open onto internal "pat...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived late and the proprietor and his brother took us for a meal in the square. They were so helpful and even paid for the meal as we didn't have any local curreny , which we did reimburse. Although the proprietor doesn't speak any english a number of staff do and you can get by easily. All the staff are excellent and very attentive. A beautiful Raid. Only thing quite dim lighting so a bit of a struggle to read in the evenings and chairs in some of the rooms too low. Breakfast was good and served warm. The riad is ideally located and a few minutes walking distance to the sqaure and souks. The birds do wake you in the morning with their chirping.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#109 of 502 in Marrakech
612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#137 of 502 in Marrakech
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Fabiola
Riad Fabiola
#275 of 502 in Marrakech
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Haraka
Riad Haraka
#101 of 502 in Marrakech
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#50 of 502 in Marrakech
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Andalouse
Riad Andalouse
#439 of 1,160 in Marrakech
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laora

Address: 1 Derb Mqqdem | Arset Loughzail, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $40 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Laora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Laora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing