We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely riad :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Laora
Ranked #360 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely riad :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We loved straying at Riad Laora. It was in the perfect location, only a short walk to the square but far enough so that you can really relax. Anything closer to the square would be a but much in my opinion. The weather was beautiful in September so we spent a lot of time in the afternoons up on the roof terrace sunbathing, reading our books. The breakfast was also delicious and the dinner we requested in the riad was lovely too!

The only fault that I can find is the shower in our room (we had the harlequin room). The water never really ran that hot and the attachement to hold up the shower head was broken. A little annoying but definetely not a deal breaker! oh and i think that 'swimming pool' should be taken off of the hotel description...it was more of a foot pool inside the riad, lovely none the less, but not a pool!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolapurkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    31
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
55
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 (parents & 17, 22 and 24 yr olds). We all greatly enjoyed our stay. The decor is wonderful, with their use of ceramics and fabrics. There is a foot pool in the central courtyard. Breakfast consisted of freshly cooked pancakes and muffins with jam and fresh orange jiuce.
Our rooms has air con.
There is WiFi.
If ou want an evening meal, you must arrange it in advance, or no later than breakfast time.
It is a 10 minute easy walk to the main square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

the Riad is amazing, mostly due to lovely staff. Manaar, Mina and Lahcen - amazing hosts; nothing we asked was too much trouble. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and tasty. (last day we had our favourite bread that we asked for the day before).
Good location in the centre of Medina.
Facilities at the hotel were good. The only comment is that Wi-Fi signal is not very strong upstairs.
The manager - Lorenzo is very helpful and polite.
If you want to experience the real Morocco - then it is definitely place to go.
We are very happy and recommend this hotel.

Noureddine

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nouri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having read all the Tripadvisor comments we thought we had found a gem for our first trip to Marrakech. I am afraid we must have been in a different place to the rest of you.

The Riad is located up a narrow dusty smelly alleyway. Our room was so small we could hardly move. There was a full ashtray on the side table. Two light bulbs were not working and those that did were so dim you could not read. The safe was not even screwed in so anyone could walk off with it. The air conditioning did not work. There was no door lock. There was no key to the front door, so you had to keep banging until you were let in.

Modern comforts with a swimming pool!!?? No TV; no tea and coffee making facilities; no plugs in the hand basin or bath. Almost impossible shower. The pool is a tiny paddling pool fit only for a few gold fish.

The breakfast was a few rolls with cheap jam and we were expected to drink our coffee from cereal bowls!!! There were no evening meals on offer which we were looking forward to.

We paid £115.67 for two nights B&B. Not good enough. Wish we had paid more to go to one of the 5 star hotels available instead of falling for the so called romance of a Riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Friendly staff welcome you into an oasis of cool calmness after the bustle outside. Our room was comfortable, charmingly furnished with attention given to detail. Delicious breakfasts. Pleasent roof top garden. No request is too much trouble. Would definitely stay again. Well positioned for access to all parts of the city.

Room Tip: Every room we peeked at appeared equally comfortable and inviting. Most open onto internal "pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived late and the proprietor and his brother took us for a meal in the square. They were so helpful and even paid for the meal as we didn't have any local curreny , which we did reimburse. Although the proprietor doesn't speak any english a number of staff do and you can get by easily. All the staff are excellent and very attentive. A beautiful Raid. Only thing quite dim lighting so a bit of a struggle to read in the evenings and chairs in some of the rooms too low. Breakfast was good and served warm. The riad is ideally located and a few minutes walking distance to the sqaure and souks. The birds do wake you in the morning with their chirping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Riad Laora us well placed for getting around in the Medina. Very warm and helpful staff, two delicious meals served on the roof terrace, clean and relaxing Turquoise Suite and comfortable bed. The new proprietor had only started two weeks ago, so was busy finding his feet. Communication a bit of a problem, as he speaks no English, so dependent upon my rusty French. He put us in touch with good tour operator, but I had to speak to tour guide direct to organise trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Fabiola
Riad Fabiola
#259 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Eliane
Riad Dar Eliane
#324 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#56 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#243 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#71 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Andalouse
Riad Andalouse
#258 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laora

Property: Riad Laora
Address: 1 Derb Mqqdem | Arset Loughzail, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Laora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Laora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing