We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great atmosphere, comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Laora to your Saves list
Riad Laora
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Derb Mqqdem | Arset Loughzail, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #311 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 (parents & 17, 22 and 24 yr olds). We all greatly enjoyed our stay. The decor is wonderful, with their use of ceramics and fabrics. There is a foot pool in the central courtyard. Breakfast consisted of freshly cooked pancakes and muffins with jam and fresh orange jiuce.
Our rooms has air con.
There is WiFi.
If ou want an evening meal, you must arrange it in advance, or no later than breakfast time.
It is a 10 minute easy walk to the main square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
51
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

the Riad is amazing, mostly due to lovely staff. Manaar, Mina and Lahcen - amazing hosts; nothing we asked was too much trouble. They made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and tasty. (last day we had our favourite bread that we asked for the day before).
Good location in the centre of Medina.
Facilities at the hotel were good. The only comment is that Wi-Fi signal is not very strong upstairs.
The manager - Lorenzo is very helpful and polite.
If you want to experience the real Morocco - then it is definitely place to go.
We are very happy and recommend this hotel.

Noureddine

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nouri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having read all the Tripadvisor comments we thought we had found a gem for our first trip to Marrakech. I am afraid we must have been in a different place to the rest of you.

The Riad is located up a narrow dusty smelly alleyway. Our room was so small we could hardly move. There was a full ashtray on the side table. Two light bulbs were not working and those that did were so dim you could not read. The safe was not even screwed in so anyone could walk off with it. The air conditioning did not work. There was no door lock. There was no key to the front door, so you had to keep banging until you were let in.

Modern comforts with a swimming pool!!?? No TV; no tea and coffee making facilities; no plugs in the hand basin or bath. Almost impossible shower. The pool is a tiny paddling pool fit only for a few gold fish.

The breakfast was a few rolls with cheap jam and we were expected to drink our coffee from cereal bowls!!! There were no evening meals on offer which we were looking forward to.

We paid £115.67 for two nights B&B. Not good enough. Wish we had paid more to go to one of the 5 star hotels available instead of falling for the so called romance of a Riad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Friendly staff welcome you into an oasis of cool calmness after the bustle outside. Our room was comfortable, charmingly furnished with attention given to detail. Delicious breakfasts. Pleasent roof top garden. No request is too much trouble. Would definitely stay again. Well positioned for access to all parts of the city.

Room Tip: Every room we peeked at appeared equally comfortable and inviting. Most open onto internal "pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived late and the proprietor and his brother took us for a meal in the square. They were so helpful and even paid for the meal as we didn't have any local curreny , which we did reimburse. Although the proprietor doesn't speak any english a number of staff do and you can get by easily. All the staff are excellent and very attentive. A beautiful Raid. Only thing quite dim lighting so a bit of a struggle to read in the evenings and chairs in some of the rooms too low. Breakfast was good and served warm. The riad is ideally located and a few minutes walking distance to the sqaure and souks. The birds do wake you in the morning with their chirping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Riad Laora us well placed for getting around in the Medina. Very warm and helpful staff, two delicious meals served on the roof terrace, clean and relaxing Turquoise Suite and comfortable bed. The new proprietor had only started two weeks ago, so was busy finding his feet. Communication a bit of a problem, as he speaks no English, so dependent upon my rusty French. He put us in touch with good tour operator, but I had to speak to tour guide direct to organise trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband booked a surprise honeymoon at Riad Laora at the end of July 2012. Neither of us have been to Morrocco before and did not know what to expect. Upon arrival at the Riad we were welcomed by the lovely Miriam with a kind and much needed mint tea. We were totally overwhelmed by the hospitality of everyone who was at the Riad. We will not say the staff as we felt that they became our friends whilst we stayed there.We were booked into the turqouise suite which was both stunningly beautiful clean and cool. Everyday we had a magnificent breakfast on the terrace and found that the rooms were kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. We really did feel that it was just the two of us staying there as the tranquilty of the surroundings made it feel like home but with all the facilties you would get in a 5 star hotel. The whole Riad was beautiful and is just as you would find in the pictures if not better. You would need to go there to appreciate the beauty of this place. Larcen the night porter was really helpful with the language and his English was very good! Guy gave us a map of the area and the square was a short distance to walk full of hustle and bustle of the real Morrocco of these beautiful friendly people who we will come back to visit this Spring. We did go in Ramadan but still found everyone so very friendly happy and accommodating to whatever we needed. Thank you all again for making such a memorable honeymoon.



.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are as clean and well presented as The Turquoise suite where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Fabiola
Riad Fabiola
#269 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#48 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#167 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Andalouse
Riad Andalouse
#298 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#126 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Hannah City Hotel
Riad Hannah City Hotel
#922 of 1,169 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Laora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laora

Property: Riad Laora
Address: 1 Derb Mqqdem | Arset Loughzail, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Laora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Laora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing