We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Riad and suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar El Aila

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Riad Dar El Aila
Ranked #220 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad and suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed in this riad for 2 nights in the 2 bedroom suite. We stayed in 5 different places on our Moroccan trip and this one was very pretty and with a great staff.
Pros: The riad is gorgeous and I LOVED the rooftop decks. The 2 bedroom suite was absolutely STUNNING, we loved everything about it! Beautiful ceilings, fixtures, bathroom....everything (and let me tell you, I am PICKY). I didn't see any other rooms, so I don't know about those. We loved the friendly cats and the turtles. The laundry ladies did a wash for us which was great since we had just gotten back from a desert trip. We ordered dinner in our room and it was pretty good. There are 2 young guys that were always working (do you ever sleep?) and they were AWESOME because we needed to be picked up twice as we couldn't find our way back at night. One also went and bought Supratour bus tickets for us so we didn't have to waste time doing that. But seriously, one came and found us one night (on his scooter) and walked us all back to the riad and we were pretty far. I had never been so happy to see a friendly face IN MY LIFE! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
Cons: The only cons I have are the fact that the breakfast was pretty basic compared with some others that we had at different hotels and the fact that we literally could never find the place again once we left it. Our phone gps didn't even help us. I DON"T recommend that you pay for a young street guide after dark (the one we got ended up sniffing glue while walking us down a dark alley...awesome!) I'm only giving it 4 stars due to it's location compared with our previous riad.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite is absolutely phenomenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyKurland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    85
    26
    12
    15
See reviews for
67
112
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Reading other reviews one realises how subjective this is. It's all down to expectations and experiences!
Let's start with the positives: if you want a traditional riad experience in a handy location, good food, pleasant staff, lovely seating areas on terrace, good levels of cleanliness, excellent massages then look no further.
On the downside: the rooms are very variable in standards of comfort, it's quite cold in December and rooms are chilly and uncarpeted (bring slipper socks!), the stairs to the terrace and restaurant are challenging for older people and children - it would be useful to have more handrails, showers are not thermostatically controlled so expect variations in temperature, the pool is more of a plunge pool than a swimming pool.
You do learn your way to and from the souk and how to cope with people trying to sell you stuff, so don't be put off by that side of things. The riad also provides good written instructions and gives you a business card to use if you get lost.
So, all in all, take it as you find it. You may want to book nearer the time of your stay as you may get a better deal, we felt we had rather overpaid.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingWInnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luz-Saint-Sauveur, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

A little hidden away and you wonder how you will ever find it again after following the taxi driver through a maze of alleyways but once through the door you are in an oasis of calm. we slept so well with hardly any noise as there is no traffic noise. the rooftop terrace was beautifully laid out with areas of shade along with the sun baked loungers. the staff were pleasant and helpful. It was November when we went but the rooms were not too cold and they provided a plug in heater which we did not use.

Room Tip: all the rooms looked beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Cache, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days on our trip to Marrakech and it was absolutely wonderful. I loved how authentic of an experience we recieved, and the staff were beyond wonderful. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here - it was clean, peaceful and everyone was fantastic. We used the spa as well and had a wonderful experience.

The rooftop terrace was amazing, and the rooms were very cosy. We ate several times in the restaurant upstairs (as well as several reputable restaurants) and it was some of the best food we ate on our whole trip. Everyone at the riad makes you feel like it is your home away from home, and we appreciated the humor!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kugs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was a very authentic quaint spa hotel, and an experience of a very pleasant and individual Riad. The taxi could only get so near the hotel, then the driver walked us round through alley ways to the front door (we did wonder where on earth we were going to, but have faith!). When you go through the front door, it was a lovely place with a beautiful smell and ambience. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and had character/personality too. We really enjoyed this stay and would definately go back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden area on ground floor, and it was cool and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very nice Riad in a quiet corner of the Medina. The rooms are very stylish, the staff super friendly and the roof terrace a nice place to relax from the busy city. Would recommend it to all travelers!

Room Tip: The suite has 2 bedrooms and a living room. Very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa_997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I wanted a hotel that gave you a real Moroccan feel rather than a hotel where you could of been anywhere in the world. This Riad did not disappoint... beautifully decorated in traditional style with an amazing roof top terrace. Yes it was down a few alley ways and yes we did get lost, but true to their word, a quick call and the staff met us to guide us back... but after a day it was fine. Just as I have read in a previous review, the answer is really in your body language. We found once you knew your way and was confident you didn't get pestered at all by locals wanting to guide you back for a fee and not necessarily in the right direction. In fact we found after the first day the local people to be warm and friendly.
Breakfast was simple but good, evening meal was ok but the choice of the day. You would probably go out to eat but it was good that the Riad did offer something.
The Hammand and massage was a really nice and friendly experience. The staff here at the Riad Dar el Aila really make you feel welcome, are friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this Riad to some of my friends... but not to the ones that are less adventurous and not bothered with the interesting culture of this country. I loved it here and will return again one day. Thank you to all the staff for your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuesdaysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#177 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Nesma
Riad Nesma
#145 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad de Vinci
Riad de Vinci
#133 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Eden
Riad Eden
#195 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad La Maison Rouge
Riad La Maison Rouge
#266 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Aila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Aila

Property: Riad Dar El Aila
Address: 160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Aila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar El Aila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing