We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“1st Riad experience and it was a good one!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar El Aila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar El Aila
Ranked #182 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“1st Riad experience and it was a good one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

For those who know what Riad’s are this is the one for you. For those who always stay at hotels you have to give this a try. It’s different, but good different.
Christophe runs a great ship. With nice helpful staff who are always willing to help. I would highly recommend that you get Christophe to arrange transport for you especially the transfer from the airport. It’s a good price and avoids any hassle with cabs who try to con you. The Riad is also a little difficult to get to so you don’t want to get lost on the first day. Christopher also arranged our trip to Essouiera as it was much cheaper then the excursion outfits as well as a local with a van who would sort us out a good price! We went with 3 families all with 3 kids each and they absolutely loved it although I would say Riads are more for couples. It was however a safe environment that they could explore in. A/C, free wifi, numerous chill out areas on different floors along with roof terraces overlooking Marrakech and in the distance the Atlas mountains. The Riad is beautifully decorated throughout in a traditional authentic Moroccan theme but as with most professional pictures they make a place look better then it actually is. The rooms are lockable from the inside but not outside but this didn’t worry us. Christophe kindly held our money and passports in the safe.
On the first day you’re a bit apprehensive about the location down some poorly lit alleys but you get used to it very quick.

The one negative was that the pool (paddling pool really) wasn’t heated but on really hot days it’s well used apparently.

Their breakfast selection is very basic, cakes, baguettes, fruit, orange juice and tea. Christophe arranged lunch for us on our last day and although a little on the pricy side was the best food we had on the whole trip.

Room Tip: You won't hear the Adhaan (prayer call) as much on the ground floors and I would recommend askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r3vi3w3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    82
    23
    11
    13
See reviews for
65
106
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Thank you to Christopher and his staff for the wonderful experience in Marrakech. My friends and I fell in love with the Riad. It was nice to to come back to the relaxing Riad after the chaos of market shopping and long day trips. The rooms were all very clean and the garden and roof top terrace was beautifully maintained. We ate dinner a couple of times at the Riad and the food was delicious. Thank you to Christopher and the hospitality of his staff to make my birthday long weekend a memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just what you would want from a riad stay in Marrakesh. Comfortable, loads of character, lovely roof terraces and places to lounge. Friendly and welcoming staff. Dinner on the roof was great. Was a little further away from the centre than some riads, but nice quiet part of the medina.

Room Tip: Rooms on the roof are light and airy, but all rooms have something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenHerefordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for four nights in March. The traditional design of the riad makes you feel at home right from the start with plenty of areas to relax, from the rooftop terrace to the pool in the reception. Our room was cleaned daily and we were welcomed with rose petals on the bed and with a towel shaped like a swan on the bed - a nice touch!

The riad is located close enough to the sooks, but far enough to chill out totally after a busy shopping trip. The owner offered us a well thought out - and very helpful - step by step guide on how to get about in the hustle bussle that takes you to and from the busy markets. The staff were very friendly, offering us good advice and reccomendations on trips, as well as making sure we were well refreshed with a mint tea or a cold beer!

We enjoyed a hammam in the riad too which was excellent. The breakfasts were a delicious French and Moroccon fusion of fresh breads, patiserrie jams and excellent coffee. We also dined in the restaurant for two nights, which offered a homemade tagine and cous cous. It was as tasty as any local tagine we experienced.

I would highly recommend this riad to anyone who is planning a stay in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayjbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed there at january 2013. I am also in hotel business and we liked it very much. Its clean, stylish, great staff, nice location. Has a great terrace over looking the Atlas mountains, we have enjoyed one night dinner food was good. especially terrace restaurant area is nice spot to spend time during the night and I am quite sure whole terrace is great when the weather is nice..Thanks guys

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mehmetsaityildirim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were part of a large group that hired out the whole riad
Rooms are well appointed and I loved the traditional morrocan features
Rooms were clean and were cleaned daily. I would have liked the towels to be changed more frequently but they were nice and large and fluffy
The rooms at night were cold but we were provided with heaters which warmed the room nicely. My mattress was hard as a rock though. This was not typical of all the rooms.
As others have mentioned the riad is down the back streets but we soon worked out our way around.
Breakfast and evening meals were a little cold on the roof terrace and a couple of heaters would have been appreciated
Breakfasts if not luxurious we're adequate
We were let down on the first night when the meal that was provided was no where near enough for everybody, they did make up for it on the other 2 nights we ate there. They also organised a fantastic night with entertainment. Acrobats, musicians, belly dancer and fire eater
Thank you to Aberdeen who was excellent in meeting our groups needs ( we were noisy)
We were sadly let down at end when we were supposed to be transfered to our next riad but ended up having to pay double the rate to get there which was a sad end to an otherwise wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debs2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were very pleased with the riad. It is a bit awkward to find it as it is in narrow windy dead end alley off another windy narrow alley in the middle of the uncharted medina (old city). Even google earth and your gps will only be able to put a blinking dot in the middle of an empty area of the NW of the Medina. Do call the riad when you get to one of the 'main' streets nearby and they'll come and lead the way. We did not and ended up having a hugly discussion with one (plus one plus another) youth that insisted on taking us there using the longest possible route and then expected to be paid as if you had rided a limo. When you get there the place is a real oasis. The riad occupies two old houses that are connected through the roof terrace (common) which is a real highlight of the place. This is where you have breakfast overlooking the roofs of the medina, the maze of houses and mosques with the powerful back image of the snow covered peaks of the High Atlas range. In spite of the fact that we had booked a 25 m2 room we came back with the impression ... that it was much smaller. The house has the typical inner courtyard and the rooms give on to this patio. The decoration, full of tastful local elements was well taken care of and once you get used to the fact that your rooms cannot be locked you actually enjoy the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOSE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#128 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#63 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad de Vinci
Riad de Vinci
#128 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
#3 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laila
Riad Laila
#75 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Aila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Aila

Property: Riad Dar El Aila
Address: 160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Aila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar El Aila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing