We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice Riad, but the owner are not very helpful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Aila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar El Aila
Ranked #158 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice Riad, but the owner are not very helpful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed in this riad for three days in January. The location is not the best as it is a bit far from the main attractions of the city. However, the riad itself is very nice. The rooms are all typically decorated (although a bit too dark). The riad benefit from a great roof area where you normally have breakfast and you might organize a dinner. There is also a very nice swimming pool in the ground floor and an hammam. Unfortunately, during the three days we stayed there it was never possible to use neither the pool or the hammam as the owner always seemed to "forget" to turn on the heater (it was January!). Also, the owner is almost never there and if you need something it is sometimes difficult to sort things out. Another negative note is that the staff working there, especially the ladies that serve breakfast, are quite rude and helpless. Finally, the riad is very nice and not expensive, the service is not great but you can still manage to have a good holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    79
    19
    11
    12
See reviews for
61
104
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just arrived back from a weeks honeymoon, we were greeted by the lovely Philippe and Anique, we were booked into a fab restaurant for our first night, the superb service did not stop there, their hospitality is second to none, great food, surroundings and peaceful. We were very sad to say goodbye, we will be going back with friends again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I arrived with my sister and best friend with initial trepidation to be welcomed into a Riad of sheer splendour and relaxation. The atmosphere was heavenly with much space to retreat to my own personal space whilst also having areas to gather together if your there with a party of friends. This Riad has impacted us so much that we all plan to return in the near future with other family members. A big thank you to Philippe, Anique and their lovely staff who made my birthday celebration all the more special by their attention to detail. See you again soon!! D Miller

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Den5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

My two teenage daughters & I stayed in this super riad right in the centre of the Medina and had a fabulous few days. We were within walking distance of all the souks and really enjoyed our shopping sprees. What was so great was the fact you could be in the middle of all the noise , people and the atmosphere of the souks and 10 minutes later we were in total tranquility, sipping mint tea in the riad. The service was excellent and we felt so welcome by all the staff and especially Stephane who looked after our every need. A must for anyone wanting to experience the fun of Marrakech with a first class retreat to stay in and be spoilt.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FleurEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Riad Dar El Aila ideally situated in the heart of the busy medina within walking distance from the famous Jemâa el Fna place.
The hustle n bustle of the medina streets give way to an oasis of peace once you open the door of the Riad Dar El Aila.

Big welcome by Stéphane n his friendly,helpfull,staff members Bouchra n Leila making me feel at home straight away.
Friendly,& personalised service is definatly one of the trademarks of Dar El Aila.

.The majestic riad is tastefully decorated in traditional Maroccan style,perfect blend of harmony & colours;
Roof top restaurant and terrace where you can admire an awesome view of the Atlas mountain.
The courtyard with swimming pool and patio is a great place for relaxing after the day's sighseeing/shopping..

The traditional Moroccan cuisine served in the rooftop restaurant is exceptional.
A stay at the Riad would nt be complete without the Hamman and massage by Leila.

All the ingredients for a perfect stay.Unforgettable.Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola1T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I stayed in this Riad once in May, for seven nights, and three nights in July.

It was clean, air conditioning was great (and necessary as it was truly hot) in July and the staff were lovely. My room had everything I could need, and there was also a small swimming pool and a lovely courtyard area to sit in. Bushra, the manager of the place, was efficient, reliable and very pleasant, and the other ladies who work there were also charming.

It seems a bit far away from the medina at first, but it is not.. and is probably a ten minute walk to the main square. It is a nice walk too -- and the neighbourhood feels nice and somehow more real than some other parts of the town.. there are ironing shops, and a tailor and a shoe repair guy just at the top of the road.

I felt it was a good deal for Marrakech as I bargained and because of this got a price discount! I do not think I would have been happy to pay 60 Euros a night for my room. One of the other reviews was correct when they said that there was no common space to meet other people, and it was a bit ‘unatmospheric’ but this was still a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of the souq and the rest of the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingT_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2005

Having stayed at Villa maroc in Essaouira a few times, the comparison is inevitably going to be difficult. The room had nowhere to sit, the public/communal areas were unatmospheric and the food was just ok. Average place to stay

Helpful?
3 Thank bagcollector_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#100 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#139 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#40 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad de Vinci
Riad de Vinci
#133 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Alfarah
Riad Dar Alfarah
#244 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Aila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Aila

Property: Riad Dar El Aila
Address: 160 Derb El Ferane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar El Aila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Dar El Aila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing