We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven take me back there !”
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #50 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“heaven take me back there !”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

why cant I live in El Fenn..?
it was an oasis in the desert.. with amazing food.. and amazing staff... absolutely heaven..
my room was beautiful, it felt really authentic. and after a hard day in the souk made going home to my room even more relaxing .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trino v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
How great to know that you enjoyed your time here. We have a new chef and are really excited about all he's doing so we were particularly pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the food at El Fenn. Come back again soon….. And maybe move in?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    92
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
163
420
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I spent a weekend with a friend here in May, for a break from the kids/ work/ London in general, and this place was just amazing, top of the range service and design. We spent most of our time in the very generous communal courtyards lounging around, drinking mint tea or wine, watching the stars, meeting the in house tortoises and enjoying the best lunches of my life.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual and spacious and beautifully interior designed, moroccan style, some ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norrkoping-Tooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at! Impeccable service, style, and attention to detail!

The service was the best I have seen in a long time, the spa was amazing, and the rooftop was absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just a short drive from the airport, the dirver takes you to the edge of the Medina, and then he walks you through some narrow streets and knocks on a non-descript door of an old non descript building; untill they open the gate; then all of a sudden you enter a wonderfull Raid, full of mystique and old charm. Though old, its very up2date and simply luxurious. The staff is extremely professional, and welcoming. We booked the upper floor appt, with its own deck overlooking the Medina. Simply wonderfull.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I booked El fenn for a 3 night getaway our first in 2 1/2 years since children had arrived. its a perfect place to stay and we couldn't recommend it more. Definitely worth paying extra and staying in one of the colonnade rooms if you can. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us especially Anna and Karima. Only comment for improvement would be more vegetarian options on the menu. We want to go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Number 17 was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charky29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

From the moment we were collected from the airport by the Riad driver, we felt relaxed. Arriving in the Riad 15 minutes later, we walked the short distance from where he could park to the Derb or alley on which the entrance door was located. On entry, it was like going into paradise as we entered the inner courtyard with its beautiful candelabra full of real candles lighting and hanging jars from the trees with candlelight. We had to mind our footfall in case we stood on the many turtles wandering in the courtyard. Our suites were magnificent - spacious, comfortable beds, beautiful lamps and wonderful bathrooms with fragrant accoutrements.
It took us several days to find all the little nooks and crannies where one can tuck up with a book or a mojito apart from the hammam (great scrub!), the two pools plus the rooftop terrace dipping pool. And yes, that roof terrace.... wonderful for sitting in the evening to read or have a drink and also to dine (although the food, while good, was not remarkable to my group of foodies) but the breakfast was excellent.
Staff were reserved but at all times courteous and helpful. This was an oasis in a wonderfully exciting city and a great place to come back to after a few hours in the souk. I would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Recently spent 3 nights at the El Fenn to celebrate my wife's birthday.

The Riad is on the edge of the Medina, so very quiet, yet only around 10 minutes walk from the main square.

We enjoyed a 1st floor room overlooking one of the courtyards and had one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. Bathroom had large roll top bath with rain shower over - fantastic.

Great eating and drinking rooftop area, with impeccable service. Although breakfast is not included in the room price, the tea and coffee left outside the bedroom each morning was a nice touch..

The interior of the hotel is beautifully decorated and there are two outdoor swimming pools.

Would I go back, most definitely YES and very soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeyL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#66 of 500 in Marrakech
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#35 of 500 in Marrakech
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Property: El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing