We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and caring hotel for an intimate stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #50 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cute and caring hotel for an intimate stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Where to begin?! This was our first trip to Morocco for my 25th birthday and I guess we were slightly apprehensive about our arrival following some of the reviews on TripAdvisor recently - especially one concerning the quality of the rooms as we had booked one of the cheaper rooms. We couldn’t have been happier as we had room 12, a courtyard room on the top floor with its own large terrace with a dining table for 6 and seating area for 10 (felt like we should have had an entourage!) The room had a beautiful stained glass door and whilst not as epic as many of the other rooms (which looked stunning) it was perfectly fine for the two of us. One note is the bathroom and bedroom are open-plan – the shower is in front of the bed and the toilet is not separate. When we arrived (the Riad arranged an impeccable airport transfer) we were introduced to the staff and given some lovely fresh orange juice and gave us a tour of the raid. Though I’ve included lots of pictures it is difficult to capture the true beauty and tranquility of the numerous terraces and courtyards of this building. The Riad is located perfectly for access both to the new town and the souks of the medina and there is a taxi rank outside the main gate and corner shop and ATM 2 minutes down the road.
We also had a hammam for two (be warned ladies this is a boobs-out experience!) and a massage and pedicure all of which were excellent. In the bedroom too was a DIY hammam kit which was really cute. Overall the staff could not have been more helpful in every way and always went the extra mile. In fact on the last night the Riad had a private function on the roof terrace but they were happy for us to have drinks there too and at the end of the night offered us whatever we would like from the buffet on the house which turned out to be the best food we had our whole trip so I would definitely recommend the chef here! A real highlight was going to bed knowing that in the morning we would wake to find a cute tray of tea, coffee and croissants waiting on our terrace in the morning. Breakfast on the roof is fresh and tasty and varies each day but the yogurt is delicious and I wish I’d had chance to try the Berber pancakes (next time!) It is fair to say there is an exclusive feel to this place (whilst we were there we met Vanessa Branson and a very famous American actress who was staying there with her young family) but this was not in any way pretentious, but comfortable and private. Furthermore we were really surprised by what good value our stay was when we got the final bill considering we had used the spa and had several bottles of wine/beer and cocktails over the few days as our package included the hammam, transfers and breakfast for free. We really felt well looked after and cared for unlike in other large anonymous hotels and had a lot of fun as well as a relaxing time. Even my boyfriend who has never traveled in this part of the world and found the souks initially intimidating said this was his favorite holiday to date for the pure beauty and restfulness of the Riad and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PopiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear PopiB. What a lovely review and it's so kind of you to talk about so many things you liked at El Fenn. It was impossible to construct separate bathrooms in some of the rooms here because we're housed in traditional riads so they just wouldn't fit! But it was great to meet you and we were pleased to invite you to join the party on the roof top. Come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    71
    29
    9
    3
See reviews for
124
353
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Amazing place to stay in Marrakech!! My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and could not fault it. Unbeatable location and brilliantly authentic. If I returned to Marrakech this is the only place I would stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam_heague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks so much for taking the time to review. We hope to see you again when you're next in Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have just spent the entire weekend here celebrating our anniversary with friends and family. We had the whole Riad to ourselves and were certainly made to feel at home. There is a magical quality to this place that envelops you as soon as you step into the dimly lit entrance and walk through the red painted walls of the corridor and out into the 'Turtle' courtyard where the marble fountain trickles water into a rose petal basin.Teas and pastries await you on your arrival. There is a great sense of calm after the madness of the outside streets.
Our guests all arrived at different times of the day and were immediately shown to their bedrooms without any fuss or hassle. A quick change and ready for the first night of partying. The guests were led up a candlelit staircase to the roof terrace where they were greeted by an exciting and daring display of fire eaters and acrobats performing to a Gnaoua band exotically dressed in national costume. Cocktails were served followed by a beautifully displayed buffet including some of the most wonderful tasting salads, tagines and Moroccan delights.The night time entertainment was finished off with a performing snake charmer!
The evening was an assault on the senses. Everyone had an afterglow which left them in a dream like state and very much ready to float off to sleep. Breakfast next morning up on the roof terrace with its amazing view was a feast, including the best yogurt and granola we have all ever tasted. After a relaxing day of sunbathing, reading and nodding off we were calmed and ready for the night ahead. This was held in the beautiful indoor restaurant reminiscent of Rick's Cafe in the film 'Casablanca" (which happens to be my husband's favourite film.)
A culinary feast followed, music was played on the grand piano, a silent 'Casablanca' and nostalgic family photos shown on the large pull down screen, beautiful speeches were made and love spilled out into the atmosphere. A belly dancer led us all out to a small outdoor pool area where we danced the night away under the stars to our favourite disco music from the seventies……
What a night! What a party! What a weekend! What a place!

All this could not have been possible without the help of the wonderful Megan and her team. We instantly hit it off with Megan. Nothing was too much trouble for her, she understood what we wanted exactly and all of the extra entertainment she provided for us was perfect. She contributed so much to the weekend with her witty and charming personality. Hussein the catering manager was calm, cool and extremely helpful and respectful. The food was fresh, delicious and beautifully served at all times. Lisa and all the team in the office were always on hand to help us all out. And Willem's eye for detail is a treat.

I love this place, I want to come back here every year for the rest of our lives.

Thank you Riad el Fenn

x

Room Tip: There is not a bad room, each room has it's own unique look. However some are much bigger than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
It was such a pleasure for all of us here to host such a great group of people and we were all delighted that you were so happy with your celebration… The Moroccan night was fantastic and Casablanca the perfect back drop on our big screen for your dinner in the restaurant. A fabulous weekend for us to host. We're looking forward to the 40th….!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Entering the Riad from the mayhem of the street was like entering a secret garden. Peace and tranquility prevailed. This is a stylish, quirky and welcoming place to stay. We had the most gorgeous, generously sized room and bathroom with a huge walk in shower. We were there for a two night stay. On the first night we had a buffet dinner on the lovely roof terrace and the food was so good, particularly the lamb tagine. On the second night we had a four course sit down dinner in the sumptuous dining room. Again the food was delicious. Tea was served each day at 4pm where we were able to taste the delectable home made cakes and biscuits on offer. Each morning at 7am a tray was left outside our room with tea,coffee and croissants. This was not breakfast, just a taste of what was to come for breakfast which was served buffet style on the roof terrace and consisted of an array of fruit, yogurts, home made granola and eggs, all to tantalise our taste buds! Megan was a complete star and made our stay all the more enjoyable. This Riad is a true gem, not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
It's always great to get such positive feedback and the chefs are delighted with your compliments! It was lovely to have you with us and we hope to see you again at El Fenn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We visited this Oasis in celebration of my brother and sister in law 30th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The welcome given by Megan made us feel immediately at home. Nothing was to much trouble. We stayed in room 20 a beautifully decorated homely room. The roof terrace for both breakfast and dinner was a real treat with sumptuous food. I cannot recommend this home from home highly enough. The massage in the spa topped it all. After a day of walking the streets of Marrakech made the spa all the more welcoming. I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs so take this into consideration when choosing your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed your room, the food and the spa… What more could we ask for? It was such a pleasure to host a group of such great people and thanks for taking the time to review. Come back and see us soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just arrived home from our first visit to Marrakech. The Riad El Fenn had been recommended to us highly by friends and actually far exceeded our expectations. The location is perfect just seconds from the souk. From the minute we arrived we were overwhelmed by the beauty and charm of the riad. The staff especially Lisa and Megan could not do enough to make us feel welcome and cater to all our requests ranging from organising guides, booking restaurants. We were served complimentary tea everyday in one of the beautiful courtyards and served a complimentary pre breakfast which was waiting for us on the terrace outside our room everyday. Our room was gorgeous, fabulous linen and thick towels. Breakfast was delicious, homemade yoghurt and muesli was divine. The food in the restaurant was a culinary delight. We felt as though we were staying in someone's beautiful home it was so intimate and warm. We are already planning a return trip. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
It was great to meet you and we'd like to thank you for this wonderful review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay here and the home from home atmosphere we've created which guests often comment on. We hope to see you again soon… Let us know when your trip is planned…?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

When you arrive at El Fenn it is like being let into a secret. It is situated a short stroll from the souks, you knock on a large, ornate wooden door, over which hangs a large colourful glass lantern. Inside the maze of rooms and corridors make it impossible not to want to explore. We arrived at night which makes this exploration even more wonderful. Clever interior design, subtle lighting, quirky artwork and the thrill of discovering unexpected plunge pools invigorate your senses.

It is incredible how you can immediately leave the hustle and bustle of the Marrakesh markets behind, and unwind with a glass of rose and various nibbles on the roof top terrace. I cannot recommend El Fenn enough; the accommodation, the staff and the location are all excellent.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for - the better rooms have the higher price tag. Having said this - we took a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review and it's great to get such positive feedback. All the staff here at El Fenn love to know that people have enjoyed their time here so I'll pass you comments onto them. Hope to see you again on your next trip to Marrakech?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#62 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#25 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Property: El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing