We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enchanting stay”
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #49 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Being my 5th-6th time in Marrakech, I was looking for a really special place..
El Fenn is charming, elegant and stylish, yet cozy.
My kids felt immediately home, and this is a super +++ for all of us!
This is due to the staff, everybody was incredible.
Food is very good, from breakfast to dinner, with an amazing view from the terrace overlooking the medina.
But the very special touches are the coffee/tea with fresh croissants outside every room before breakfast time, for early birds, the cinema room for the kids so no need of baby sitter, the tea ready for the guests frm 4 pm onwards..
Sooo thoughtful of them!!!
Enjoy

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and different one from another.. Every choice can be good, I asked the team to h...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaiaBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - and your children too! We always like to welcome children to the riad and know that they enjoy playing with the tortoises very much. Thanks for taking the time to review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
There are newer reviews for El Fenn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 961 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This riad was recommended to us and would happily recommend it to all. Stunning interior - we were in room 2 which was spectacular! The staff were brilliant, super friendly and welcoming. The roof terrace is a wonderful place to chill out after the craziness of the medina and breakfast up there is the perfect start to the day. It was a shame the lunch menu wasn't very interesting, choice was very limited. We had lunch there just one day and weren't blown away it wasn't anything special but there's plenty of other places to eat. The receptionist was super lovely and very helpful with great shopping/restaurant recommendations. We tried the 'ultimate Moroccan hammam experience' which I have to say was a bit disappointing - you would expect if you're paying double the price as it's for 2 people to have two therapists but for the hammam there was only one and she wasn't exactly thorough, it seemed pretty slap dash to be honest. The following massage was better at least and thankfully we had a therapist each!

Overall we would happily recommend this riad it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry that that hammam wasn't what you expected but it's usual to have one therapist because in Morocco people like to spend a lot of time in the hammam! That said, I've let the spa manager know and we'll explain the process to future guests. Come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely riad, good location, beautiful terrace atop. Unfortunately that is where my positive comments end. We stayed at this riad for a few days at a very high rate. Having said that, Marrakech has become a rather expensive tourist destination. What really irritated me about this place though was the lack of interest on the part of management.
They constituted a sort of aloof managerial clique that showed little, if no interest in the paying guest, rather focusing on entertaining one another. It was as though we and other guests never existed or even mattered. Also our requests were generally met with either a snooty retort or simple apathy. I'm not certain whether this riad is resting on its laurels based on the name of its owner, but having stayed in several riads before, I felt that Al Fenn is really poor in guest relations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twiggy8412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

We're so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and since then I've fed back your comments at a team meeting because we never like to disappoint guests. Having said that, we were surprised that you felt the management here were a snooty clique. We pride ourselves on being approachable, relaxed and involved with our guests - as so many reviews here attest. We spend a lot of time making our guests feel comfortable, getting to know them and making recommendations about how to make the best of Marrakech. But obviously this wasn't your experience which is why you met with the general manager to discuss your concerns and have them addressed by him. We can only apologise once again that on this occasion we failed to live up to expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have just spent the most wonderful 4 days celebrating at the El Fenn. An amazing experience, superb facilities with everything you need to relax and enjoy the 'fabulous' surroundings. Hotel staff were exceptional. Very helpful and 'gracious' without being 'in your face'. We enjoyed some excellent food and even had a cookery lesson with the chef. . Would recommend and will definitely visit them again (if they'll have me back!!).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaarin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear KaarinW. We'd love to have you back! Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stay here. See you again soon. All best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This experience was the highlight of my eighteen day Morocco exploration trip. The class begins with the wonderfully sharing, enthusiastic and sincere Hajid taking you to the marketplace for spices. He will teach you the dishes you request, you will be the sole student, no formal format, large class or video stations here! Hajid revealed the flavor profiles carefully, allowing time for notes and photos. He added a depth to my cooking and experience that was totally joyful. At the conclusion the cooked meal was delivered to the roof top terrace where my husband and I savored the excellent results. I can now go beyond my Moroccan cookbooks to entertain family and friends. The real treat was being taught by such a fine person who loves his profession. You will be surprised at the reasonable cost. Rare experiences like this are treasured memories. To arrange a class I emailed El Fenn and got immediate responses. Many thanks Hajid!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micknmarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Great to know that you enjoyed learning about Moroccan cookery so much and it was a highlight of your stay with us. Good luck when you try out the dishes at home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a wonderful place. Arrived in a scruffy back street, but when the door opened we were transported in to the serenity of the interior. You feel completely cut off from the troubles of the world outside and can chose to sit in the cool shaded quads with tortoise wandering around or go up to the sunshine on the roof terraces. Our room was just divine, huge, spacious and cool, the bathroom fantastic, massive shower and bath with a shower. The bed, well, need I say more !! Staff around the riad were efficient and helpful and very accommodating, even when we got the time wrong and missed breakfast by an hour, nothing was too much trouble. Superbly situated within easy walk of the medina and souks. Would definitely recommend and would chose this riad again.

Room Tip: room 10 on the ground floor in the second quad was wonderful, probably would not choose to be in the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildly_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Marrakech is indeed a bustling place so we're pleased that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility here at El Fenn. Thanks so much for taking the time to review. All best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

As a second-time guest of MARVELLOUS El Fenn I wanted to show my appreciation by leaving a second wildy enthusiastic review. But as I read the mind-blowingly unjust "Has the GM of a hotel ever asked you to leave?!" post by JeffB884, I felt inclined to take a somewhat different approach.

As my partner and I literally just hours ago arrived back home from our week-long stay at El Fenn, it just so happens we were actually present within a few yards and definitively clear earshot of where that whole conflict took place. And it did NOT AT ALL go the way JeffB884 described it.

When we saw the G.M. walk up to the room and knocked, wanting to listen to the complaints of his guests, he INSTANTLY got yelled at in an extremely loud manner! "GO AWAAAY!" is what came crashing from the room, before the G.M. had even been given the chance to properly introduce himself.
When he, obviously taken aback, did introduce himself as the G.M., both guests (one male, one female) started screaming up a storm: "We don't want to talk to you! GO AWAY! What part of 'jet-lag' are you unclear on?!"
This and more loud verbal abuse went on for about half a minute and then the G.M. -still surprisingly composed!- explained to the guests that he had come over to their room so they could work out a satisfying solution, but after enduring what he just had (and clearly understanding these people were NOT to be reasoned with) he asked them to kindly check out of their room. He told them he did not understand what had just happened, but that he thought they had been excessively rude to him.
Which we can vouch for they ab-so-lute-ly were! Excessively rude and a foul nuisance to other guests.

Having come to 'know' him as we have over our visits, the G.M. exudes an extraordinary air of hospitality and grace and we feel JeffB884's blatant twist of facts seems extremely unfair to the G.M. in particular and El Fenn in general.

I am very sorry I couldn't go into a whole superlative review of El Fenn's excellence, but I really felt I had to set this record straight.
Bottomline: My second stay at El Fenn even surpassed my first. And it will most definitely not be my last! I HIGHLY recommend this fine riad and everything (and everyone!) in it to anyone looking for the greatest getaway a person could wish for.
To the likes of the abovementioned 'lady' and 'gentleman' who seem prone to extreme hissy-fits I would say: Please don't EVER AGAIN board a flight that covers more than one time zone. You are clearly not handling your 'jet-lag' very well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJR_Veling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We were so pleased to see you here again and thanks so much for your kind words. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#26 of 502 in Marrakech
1,161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
1,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#28 of 502 in Marrakech
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#22 of 502 in Marrakech
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#41 of 502 in Marrakech
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#64 of 502 in Marrakech
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $321 - $787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing