We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing stay”
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #53 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Amazing stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

El Fenn surpassed all expectations. Beautifully furnished in true Moroccan style and looked after lovingly.The room was spacious and elegant.The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious.The courtyards and the pool and room terrace were wonderful places to relax after the busy souks!

Room Tip: Room 21 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
How pleased we are that we exceeded expectations! Delighted that you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    90
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
152
410
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have recently returned from a perfect stay at El Fenn. I love Morocco, and have visited/toured around the country c 15 times, including at least eight stays in Marrakech at a selection of hotels.

Quite simply - the El Fenn is the best this country offers. From the moment you enter the Riad you experience the perfect combination of Moroccan culture and stimulating quirkiness, while enveloped in the most attentive service. The decor is gorgeous (on a previous occasion I asked to see every room, and over a three day period was able to do so - so cannot understand what the earlier reviewer is referring to regarding her room) and each one is a room I would be more than happy to spend weeks in.

The staff at the El Fenn are the most friendly, attentive and willing staff you could ask for. It is clear that their only wish is for you to be happy and for you to have a great time. If it is sometimes a tad less seamless than in New York or London, that is part of the charm of being in Marrakech rather than being on a work trip in a business city!

The food is delicious. Frankly, even though Marrakech has loads of lovely restaurants, when you are staying at the El Fenn you end up choosing to stay in for most of your meals.....

The spa is small - but has great treatments (lovely hammam, and relaxing massages).

And, finally - the setting. It is possibly the most perfect location for a stay in Marrakech. It is just inside the Medina walls - so, (a) you are in the old part, with the feel of being at the heart of the city, yet (b) it is at the edge, so no risk of getting lost in blind alleyways (and you can catch cabs within 100 yards), which means (c) you can walk to any of the main sites (including the souks and the Yves St Laurent Gardens) without getting lost.

If you have not experienced Riad El Fenn yet - then you must try it soon!

Room Tip: All of them are great, but: if on a budget go for the Tortoise Courtyard (get woken by birdsong - bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear ClaireJ. What kind words! Thanks so much for reviewing. All best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

An absolutely fantastic setting for a large group birthday party, offering a wide range of room sizes for various guests, extremely helpful staff, organised group activities and lots of down-home fun. My room (number 10) was particularly special with polished turquoise walls, romantic lighting, huge stone bathtub and massive shower. A maze-like setting of hidden courtyards and intertwining original architecture added to the mystique and allure of Marrakech with high contrasts and drama at every turn. Three days seem to become weeks as the late nights melted into days in a truly festive environment which ironically also offered privacy and quiet when necessary. A terrific place to unwind and enjoy ones' friends. Very near to souks and traditional old city artisans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
So pleased you loved the room, the building and of course the parties! Come back and see us again soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

First time ever in Marrakech and, staying in the Riad el Fenn, I now know what Paradise must be like. We were with many friends celebrating a wonderful friend's birthday. The staff were delightful and friendly and genuinely pleased to see us having such a relaxing time. Nothing was too much trouble and every whim was catered for in the most charming way. The rooms are intoxicating and the food quite simply delicious. El Fenn is luxurious but also delightfully unstuffy and unpretentious. Everything about the place is exquisite. Let's hope our dear friend decides to celebrate her xty-first birthday there as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
You were such a great group to have here. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here. The building itself is an amalgamation of several and I frequently got lost in the courtyards and corridors. It is a fun place with a staff that really seemed to enjoy meeting the needs of its clientele. One example is that my wife had a very nasty and persistant cough and I was worried about it developing into pneumonia just as we were going into the desert; on a Saturday evening on our first day there, they arranged for a doctor to come to the riad and for the picking up of the medicine he subscribed.
Other reviewers have noted the early morning coffee outside our rooms and the roof top restaurant. Mention should also be made of the location - a short walk to the main square and the souks begin a few meters away.
Before our arrival, the hotel staff put us in touch with a charming Berber who drove us, sometimes on the fast side, over the High Atlas to the dunes and back. On short notice, they arranged for Azziz to take us on a tour of the souks and he proved a well-informed guide. We also had an excellent Moroccan massage.
The bottom line is that this us a first class hotel without losing its Moroccan soul.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are good and quiet. The riad also has a nearby house with 4 bedrooms, 4 baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Arnold. So pleased you made the most of the hotel as well as making trips to the Atlas and souks. Marrakech is a fascinating place and we're glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just come back from a 4 day stay where we celebrated a great friend's birthday. I felt so wonderfully divorced from reality that I am already planning (mentally at least!) my next trip to the El Fenn. The setting is exquisite - I loved all the different seating areas whether on the rooftop terrace or the Orange courtyard (completely divine with hammock). During my stay I saw many of the bedrooms and they were beautifully decorated with interesting art pieces. I thought the idea of having seating areas outside many of the rooms was a good idea - a perfect place to enjoy your early morning coffee which was left for you everyday before you went to breakfast.
The atmosphere is definitely more private house than hotel which is much more enjoyable. All the hotel staff were wonderful and a special thanks to Megan and Willem for ensuring everything went so smoothly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OAB201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It was such fun to have you all here and so pleased that you all had a great time. Thanks for taking the time to review us so warmly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent a long weekend here recently with friends. Quiet and comprehensive service in a relaxing and beautifully designed setting - we spent ages taking photographs! Highly recommended just as a getaway destination in itself or as a base to explore this vibrant city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Merolfe. We always appreciate people taking the time to review so thanks so much for your kind words. All best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#54 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#26 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#31 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Property: El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing