We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best hotel I have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Fenn
Ranked #51 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is without doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and that's a big call considering I travel lots and I have also been to many destinations. I stayed here as part of a 3 month euro trip and we took a little side trip to Marrakech. You must must must stay here!! It has first class accommodation with excellent service from the amazing staff and the grounds and rooms are paradise.

To be honest I was a little timid when I first arrived in Marrakech when I arrived into the hassle and bustle. The hotel is down a little alley, but don't let that put you off, once you step through those doors it is paradise. There are no locks on the doors to the hotel rooms which I freaked out about but after being at the hotel for 10 minutes I was so content to even leave my door wide open! There is also a safe for valuables and security is very good.

The rooms are very private and there are little sanctuaries everywhere to be able to sneak away and read a book or catch the afternoon sun. You get a room plus a whole lot more here. The rooms are great, bed comfy, great manchester, lots of space - huge rooms and bathrooms, light filled, we had a window that looked down on to the busy street which was great for people watching. If you are into art - the artwork here is another draw card.

The roof is also a great place to spend time, we loved chilling out on the seating, sitting by the pool, eating the delicious breakfasts up there. The other pools are also amazing places to relax by the water and we never found them busy. The day spa is also excellent!

The food here is soooo good. I am a fussy eater and like the best of everything. This food was incredible. They would put out daily specials. But the kitchen was so flexible - I would tell them what my appetite desired and without any fuss they would make it for me - whether it be salad, chicken, cous cous etc or a plate of watermelon after a day in the sun - they delivered the most tasty, fresh and well cooked food every time. They also held a complimentary afternoon tea each day which was so delightful with treats and eats.

We also did not have very much locked in for our itinerary but the staff were so helpful in organising our days, booking our guides, booking our restaurants - their recommendations were exceptional - especially the day trip that we took to ride the camels - I think it was called La Pause?

I said that this place was the best hotel I have ever stayed in and that is because this hotel feels like a home. And it is so relaxing. I work like crazy and find it hard to wind down and here I did. The staff are also unbelievable - so friendly, helpful and they go out of their way to make your stay special. The English lady that manages it is exceptional at her job - as well as being a really interesting and lovely person to chat with.

This place gets a 10/10 but then gets extra points. As an example on our last day we realised our flight was actually later than we thought - midnight. The hotel at no cost accommodated us. They organised us a driver - he was so organised and had all the exit paperwork in the car for us. When we arrived at the airport he realised our flight was actually about to depart - he ran a million miles a minute and organised for us to check immediately in, ran though the halls with us and literally walked us to the plane door. If we did nt already have a great lasting impression of Riad El Fenn that sealed the deal.

I want to go back to Marrakech just to stay here again!! Thank you so much for being such a highlight of our holiday - Kara and Annalisa

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Kara. What can we say?! Thanks so much for the review - and for coming back to stay with us again since your first trip. We hope to see you again when you next come to this side of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    75
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
133
373
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

...You want to visit a stereotype, boring, unfriendly staff and a genuine dull interior! But if you want a truly charming experience in the company of great people, funny people, openminded people, in a fantastic refurbishes and designed Riad, I really think you should consider this exquisite Riad, just at the entrance of Bab K'soor.

You are close to the souk, the Jamaa el Fna - and still in your own little heaven. At least we were for 5 days. Room 17 is recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hymanroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
dear Hyman,

we are so glad you DID come to El Fenn and appreciated all people around. Thank you so much for your wonderful words and time & effort to share this, greatly appreciated by the whole El Fenn team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spending a great weekend in this beautiful Riad El Fenn in the Medina. The design in the Riad is beautiful and with a lot of taste respecting the Moroccan heritage and the mix with contemporary allure. The mix of the beautiful variety of art combining the friendliness of the staff makes you want to stay at the Riad. Spending a day on the roof terrace, enjoying the daily special and relax on one of the many lounge sofas. Before the night falls Riad El Fenn is turned into the tale thousand-and-one-night, with all the candles lit.

Our suite was very spacious, with a beautiful leather floor and a burning fire place in the evening. Waking up with coffee in front of the suite was one of the small detail, which makes Riad El Fenn exclusive and yet very intimate and personal.

The restaurant in the Riad was very good with and International menu and Moroccan influences.

I can advise to spent your weekend break at Riad El Fenn and you will not be disappointed. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcelKuhlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
dear Marcel,

Thank you so much for your time & effort to share your feedback. Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much and especially our restaurant; recently we have altered the concept to make it broadly excess-able in terms of price range and menu variety.

Hope to have you back with us in the (near) future, warm regards, willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

You will not regret your decision to stay at Riad El Fenn (The Art House). In fact, you'll start planning your next trip back and who to bring while you're still there - your best friends, partner, parents; you'll want to share this luxurious secret with everyone. I've never stayed somewhere that felt so much like home. Part of that is due to the relaxed, friendly, helpful attitude of the staff who make your stay so easy and enjoyable. The other is how peaceful, quiet and relaxing the Riad is. With a number of pools to choose from, delicious restaurant (or room service), hammam, beautician on call, and the most beautifully decorated, comfortable room (mine had a big bath that could fit two, and a fire place!), you'll find you'll love the time you spend inside the Riad equally as much as your time in the souks, Berber villages, or Nouvelle Ville. If only every day of the year started by eating breakfast in the sun on the terrace as birds flit about in the palm trees. Or ends by coming home to homemade sweets and mint tea after a busy day shopping in the souks, or walking around the Riad at night, atmospherically lit up by candles and filigree Moroccan lamps. Riad El Fenn is not just a place to stay - it's an experience, and a beautiful one at that. Plus it's only a few minutes walk to the infamous Jemaa el-Fnaa. Next time I'm in Marrakesh I know where I'm staying!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
dear Kate,

thank you so much for your lovely words! We enjoyed it as much having you as our guest. We wish you all the best and hope to have you with us again soon, the El Fenn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Beautiful facility with gorgeous sitting rooms, cooling pools a wonderful rooftop area. Staff are friendly and helpfully willing to assist with shopping tips, sightseeing, tours, airport transfers, local transportation, restaurants and more. Food is very good. The restaurant are beautiful, candle lit and wonderful artwork. enjoy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
dear Brent,

thank you so much for your time & effort to share your wonderful feedback on El Fenn. Greatly appreciated and we do hope to have you back soon.

warm regards, Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

it is difficult to convey how stunningly beautiful El Fenn. Furthermore it's like being the cherished guest in someone's beautiful Marrakesh home. We arrived in darkness and were led through courtyards twinkling with candles. Stunning room. Fantastically comfortable spaces on the roof terrace the next morning to sit and read. This is our fourth visit to Marrakesh (two friends) and is by far the best located and beautiful place e have stayed in. One particularly delightful aspect of this riad is you don't need to lock your room so it did feel like staying in somebody's house the house of somebody who really wants you to be having a lovely time.

We stayed for three days. It was at the end of our holiday when we returned to Marrakesh after a week away in Essaouira that we most appreciated how kind and effortlessly charming the staff are. Willem (manager) and Karima looked after us- even though we were no longer staying there but were leaving our bags and having lunch on the way back to the airport. I was a troublesome guest and forgot something-which was sent to the airport for me with no sense of this being a nuisance. Wonderful. Memories of El Fenn will keep us going until next January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciao_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
thank you so much for your kind words, we were all delighted (especially karima) We are looking forward to having you back with us January next!

warm regards, willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently returned to El Fenn, our previous stay being more than 4 years ago. It has always been our favorite riad in Marrakech. It still looks stunning with the beautiful and bold use of colour, amazing art by renowned artists and has a relaxed laid back feel and a great buzz about it. This time we had a court yard room which was very spacious and tastefully furnished. We loved the art installation on the wall, like we were sleeping in a galery. We spent most of the time outside our room though, hanging out on the roof terrace during the day and sitting by the fire in one of the courtyard salons in the afternoon (where they provide complementary mint tea and a selection of delicious cakes every afternoon).

We were very impressed with the new manager Willem and his staff. The riad is run like clock work, but it all seems to be done effortlessly, which is a great achievement.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retepcram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind compliments, it means a great deal to us especially coming from returning guests! Looking forward to your next visit in March, we will make it a memorable one!

warm regards, willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#19 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#7 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#63 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Property: El Fenn
Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#28 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Fenn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Offer From 11/05/ 2016 to 31/08/2016 DIRECT BOOKING OFFER We assure that you'll always get the best rate available when you book directly with us. Whether you book online or by email, our team are on hand to answer all your questions from pre-booking to check-in and even after you're gone. With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different - a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing