We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Ranked #233 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 19th-25thJanuary 2013. We had a nice clean room with balcony, bathroom was a nice size with complementary bath robes, slippers and toiletries. Hotel Spa/Sauna was excellent with indoor swimming pool. We did not use the outdoor pool as its in a shady area & looked very cold. Breakfast was very nice with a choice of different breads, croissants, cakes as well as cooked breakfast and staff were very friendly & attentive. We would definitely like to come and stay at this hotel again. Location of hotel is excellent with 10 minutes walk to the local Souke Market. The market is like a maze and locals will hassle you to buy things, but that's just part of their lifestyle. Best advice is to stick within busy area of the square. We went further in towards Berbur Market, where we were told locals sell home made Leather items like carpets, handbags, shoes etc; it was quite a long way from the main square, Although the stuff was very nice, we didn't buy anything; the shopkeeper did
not look happy and we felt quite vulnerable, walked back quickly to the safe zone of the square. Overall we really enjoyed our visit to Marrakech, it was a lovely experience and people were very friendly. Harry & Charan

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charan-birdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    162
    78
    45
    29
See reviews for
45
217
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here only one night and wish we had stayed here tree or four nights more. The hotel was really nice and we were greeted with a cup of moroccan tea. When we got to our room it was just an incredibly large bed and it that was incredibly delicious, a sweet porch. The bathrobes was also large and soft.

This is one of the better hotels we have stayed at.

The breakfast we had heard was delicious, but it was a bit disappointing as it is in the same building is a patisserie without equal. Possibly it was because we were there off-season.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, but on the fourth and fifth, it was an absolutely amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
336 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I checked in on 29th December and had a great stay, although the room was very noisy at night as located just over the restaurant and somehow the windows not noise proof .The room was spacious, in Moroccan style, the bathroom ditto with great ETRO amenities. On 31st the room staff brought little presents, a delightful touch! The Internet connection was lousy until 1st, when many checked out, then it gained strength. The New Year's Eve party was GREAT : good food, fantastic entertainment and amazing atmosphere! I would certainly come again!!!
The staff in general were charming and helpful, the restaurant and coffee shop la Table du Marche was excellent, as was breakfast.
Great location, within minutes walk of La Koutoubia and the Medina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, avoid rooms over the restaurant and street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinem449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a business conference and found that the hotel has some great good points but also some pretty dreadful bad points.

The good stuff:
Had a superior room which had a great balcony, seating area and sunbeds.
Room size is pretty decent
Bed was large
Service was pretty good for Morocco
Public areas are well done and clean
Roof top terrace bar is brilliant

Bad stuff:
Never really felt the floor was cleaned properly in the bedroom, especially when walking around barefoot - probably why they provide the generic slippers
Breakfast was pretty dreadful except for the pastries
WiFi only worked in the corridor and not in the bedroom, fine if you on holiday but drove me mad as i was on business
Swimming pool is very exposed from most bedrooms and corridors
Lots of French tourists (not a bad thing in itself) but they do get better service than us conference delegates that don't speak the language
The cushions on the balcony were nasty; very dirty and stained. Too cold to use the balcony too much but come high season no way would i want to sit out there. Also the view is awful overlooking other hotels and a rubbish dump!

I would stay there again as its location was pretty good but there are other hotels next door that would be worth a look at like the Sofitel and the Delano. Marrakesh hotels operate a quite low occupancies, so a deal can always be done especially for longer stays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel & restaurant were first class. Rooms clean & spacious with nice touches like scattered rose petals & chocs on the pillow. What made it more special were the staff - both reception & restaurant who were friendly couteous & incredibly accommodating. Would certinly stay here again

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hello,

We went in Marrakech for visiting and eating local. I can't tell you anything about food or even breakfast because we took our meal outside from hotel.
We were in a "standard" room. The room is very big comparing to standard room in europe and US. You can compare it two a "large and high skill room" but not to a "suite". So it was the first good surprise. The personal is very kind and their behaviour is fitted to our "occidental" code of beaviour. They don't push you to buy, drink and eat... For example my girlfriend went for a "manucure" (I don't know the word in english but it's a nail repairing and nail varnishing). 2 days after, the red varnish was crackled and she went back. She was asked 70 DH = 7 $ and she says " It's a lillte bit expensive for just having varnishing and I was here for treatment just 2 days ago". The hostess agreed and gave it for free. (We went there for 2 spas and massage before... Maybe that's why). This little story illustrate, I think, our experience in the hotel, personal is fair I think.
SPA is really really nice! We had hammam with skin scrub and 2 relaxing massage. Price are correct and service is excellent. It's the best SPA I have ever been (I'm not very experimented in SPA but..)
Hotel is located at 10 min. by walk from the center of hitoric city and is far away enough for not having noise from city. It's quite perfect.

Based on our 4 days trip ther I recommand this Hotel but for food quality I let you read other reviews!

Sincerly yours
Le gabe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank le_gabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel staff were most polite and accommodating. We were given an upgrade to a luxury room with an extended late check out as our plane wasn't leaving until 5.30. The hotel is quite luxurious with extra large 7 excellent beds, everything you would want in a luxurious hotel was 'on tap'. The restaurant food was excellent with an extensive wine list (not something available in a Muslim country). The Sky Lounge has a wonderful view over the city and is a delightful place for a drink after a day in the heat. Compared to the other hotels in this area, the value was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynandBarry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#159 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort
#120 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Novotel Suites Marrakech
#266 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#134 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hivernage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Property: Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Address: Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hivernage Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hivernage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hivernage Hotel And Spa
Hivernage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing