We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Ranked #207 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but rude staff”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

On arrival there had been an error with our booking whether this was the hotels fault or operators i'm not sure but we were made to feel a nuisance and unwelcome. We did have a nice lunch down by the pool from the snack bar. It was the quality of sleep that let this hotel down first of all the main road kept me awake and once i finally got to sleep amd i was woken up by a member of staff letting themselves into my room they apologised but being a female by myself in the room I felt quite on edge. The hotel itself is very beautiful and the staff speak a minimum of 3 languages I don't think I would risk a second stay but I think i just had a bad experience.Also just a general pointer don't be fooled by men posing to be staff working at your hotel who can 'show you a shortcut'

Room Tip: make sure you lock your doors at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kloug17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    182
    84
    52
    31
See reviews for
51
241
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We spent 1 night in the hivernage hotel&spa in Marrakech. I was a litte bit sceptic, after having read various other reviews, but we were not disappointed. The hotel and the rooms are very nice, beautiful morroccan style decoration. Clean. Good breakfast with a very large choice. The situation of the hotel is calm, not far from the medina. We went to Marrakech by car, but you can easily walk the distance from the hotel to jemaa El Fna or take a small Taxi. I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mireille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here in November 2011 and were as disappointed as others who stayed here. Most, but not all, the staff were miserable looking and seemed disinterested in their jobs.

We were first shown to a twin, not a double room and thank goodness the room was changed. Dirty, stained curtains and a stale smelling room was changed to a double with a balcony with views over the Sofitel Hotel, (which I wish we'd booked instead) which was slightly better. Shame about the badly working shower and mould infested shower head. Not even the plug for the bath did its job and it took several attempts to get the shower to stay on.

The breakfast was pretty lousy and tedious after a few days with an egg 'chef' who needs to learn some basic skills. We had a pretty good meal in the restaurant on our first night, but with the huge choice of eateries available, we did not return for seconds.

There was a long and tedious saga of trying to organise an iron and board to be delivered to the room at the same time, but after two days of asking for and even pre-ordering the two items, the best we could get was just the ironing board. Then housekeeping came knocking at the door asking if we had the iron. I had to laugh at the ridiculousness.

The spa, although we were quite optimistic, was awful too. A long wait in a room curtained off with staff and clients running about was not the best start to the relaxation, then put in a tiny room each with barely enough room for the masseuse to feebly run her hands over you was not worth the money at all. Archie's masseuse was so bored with it all, she felt regular loud yawns were needed to add to the experience. Not worth the £150.00 we paid. Not worth a tenner.

It's in a good area with some great places nearby ( try the Comptoir Darna for a great night out), but it fails on nearly every level of service. Do not expect better than a 2* Hotel and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C&A_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casablanca
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

was trying to find a good hotel for three nights in Marrakech and had to choose between Hivernage Hotel & Spa and another 5* near it. i can tell u that i made the good choice. I spent three wonderful nights In this lovely hotel.
I realy was surprised by the service wich was excellent, their was a nice atmosphere specially in the bar and the lobby but also in the restaurantand. The staff was very helpful and always smiling and the meals was delicious. That's all a customer wants to have when traveling
there was some little problems with the taxi drivers but that's ok,
..

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nawal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel has a very nice decoration, Very Morroco style and the Suites are very confortable , large even has a sauna in the bathroom! The views from the rooms are fatastics. The location is superbe very close to the medina and the spa is very good with hammam and sauna and good massages. Also the restaurant is a very good spot in the city. The staff was very nice and friendly during my stay and make me feel very welcome.you have 2 pools, one inside and one outside, so you can go to the pool in summer and in winter!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmplolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

It looks good and is in great location but what a let down. Lack of smiling, helpful staff, very noisy room from partying in foyer, the club downstairs or the street, hot rooms and no air con. They brought me in a portable one which was kind but sounds like a jet engine, takes up all the room and needs window open to work properly! No point. Minibar not restocked. Nor breakfast card replaced. Hair - all sorts - in sheets first night. Pool all in shade and closed in. Everything that can be charged extra, and at a high price, is. There are some good points: location, doormen, attempt at good service (eg towels and water handed out in gym), pretty lobby, wifi. This hotel has promise -I'd love to retrain everyone! - but sadly, I would definitely not stay here again for these prices - and I had a deal! Stay at Sofitel, el Saadi, or Novotel. Or if you can splurge La Mamounia. Don't let this hotel ruin a fun city to visit.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank journeyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Having originally been booked into a Riad in the depths of the Medina for a long weekend as a short notice 'thank you' from my boss we immediatly contacted the travel agent to transfer us to a modern hotel. By pure chance we arrived at the Hivernage Resort and Spa. Impressive entrance and lobby area and easy check in. Room was clean and comfortable and MOST staff were friendly and polite. The reception staff however were extremely rude and unhelpful. On one occassion when trying to borrow an adaptor for my mobile telephone they sent up a flat pin adaptor which they obviously knew would not fit and then hung up on me when I rang to try to resolve. There was also an attempt to overcharge us by some 340 dirhams for a bar tab on a bar we had not even visited and appeared resentful to have to amend the bill when we insisted.
We certainly got the impression that being in the very small minority of English guests we were not particularly welcome.Breakfast was pretty poor but the lunches in the cafe style restaurant and the dinner we took in the main restaurant were OK.
We would not go back to Marrakesh by choice and would certainly not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GandT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#160 of 499 in Marrakech
479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Novotel Suites Marrakech
#203 of 499 in Marrakech
1,337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savoy le Grand Hotel Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hivernage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Property: Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Address: Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#137 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hivernage Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hivernage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hivernage Hotel And Spa
Hivernage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing