We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't wait to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Ranked #208 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Couldn't wait to leave”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here in November 2011 and were as disappointed as others who stayed here. Most, but not all, the staff were miserable looking and seemed disinterested in their jobs.

We were first shown to a twin, not a double room and thank goodness the room was changed. Dirty, stained curtains and a stale smelling room was changed to a double with a balcony with views over the Sofitel Hotel, (which I wish we'd booked instead) which was slightly better. Shame about the badly working shower and mould infested shower head. Not even the plug for the bath did its job and it took several attempts to get the shower to stay on.

The breakfast was pretty lousy and tedious after a few days with an egg 'chef' who needs to learn some basic skills. We had a pretty good meal in the restaurant on our first night, but with the huge choice of eateries available, we did not return for seconds.

There was a long and tedious saga of trying to organise an iron and board to be delivered to the room at the same time, but after two days of asking for and even pre-ordering the two items, the best we could get was just the ironing board. Then housekeeping came knocking at the door asking if we had the iron. I had to laugh at the ridiculousness.

The spa, although we were quite optimistic, was awful too. A long wait in a room curtained off with staff and clients running about was not the best start to the relaxation, then put in a tiny room each with barely enough room for the masseuse to feebly run her hands over you was not worth the money at all. Archie's masseuse was so bored with it all, she felt regular loud yawns were needed to add to the experience. Not worth the £150.00 we paid. Not worth a tenner.

It's in a good area with some great places nearby ( try the Comptoir Darna for a great night out), but it fails on nearly every level of service. Do not expect better than a 2* Hotel and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C&A_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    178
    84
    48
    31
See reviews for
50
235
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
casablanca
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

was trying to find a good hotel for three nights in Marrakech and had to choose between Hivernage Hotel & Spa and another 5* near it. i can tell u that i made the good choice. I spent three wonderful nights In this lovely hotel.
I realy was surprised by the service wich was excellent, their was a nice atmosphere specially in the bar and the lobby but also in the restaurantand. The staff was very helpful and always smiling and the meals was delicious. That's all a customer wants to have when traveling
there was some little problems with the taxi drivers but that's ok,
..

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nawal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
130 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel has a very nice decoration, Very Morroco style and the Suites are very confortable , large even has a sauna in the bathroom! The views from the rooms are fatastics. The location is superbe very close to the medina and the spa is very good with hammam and sauna and good massages. Also the restaurant is a very good spot in the city. The staff was very nice and friendly during my stay and make me feel very welcome.you have 2 pools, one inside and one outside, so you can go to the pool in summer and in winter!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmplolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

It looks good and is in great location but what a let down. Lack of smiling, helpful staff, very noisy room from partying in foyer, the club downstairs or the street, hot rooms and no air con. They brought me in a portable one which was kind but sounds like a jet engine, takes up all the room and needs window open to work properly! No point. Minibar not restocked. Nor breakfast card replaced. Hair - all sorts - in sheets first night. Pool all in shade and closed in. Everything that can be charged extra, and at a high price, is. There are some good points: location, doormen, attempt at good service (eg towels and water handed out in gym), pretty lobby, wifi. This hotel has promise -I'd love to retrain everyone! - but sadly, I would definitely not stay here again for these prices - and I had a deal! Stay at Sofitel, el Saadi, or Novotel. Or if you can splurge La Mamounia. Don't let this hotel ruin a fun city to visit.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank journeyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Having originally been booked into a Riad in the depths of the Medina for a long weekend as a short notice 'thank you' from my boss we immediatly contacted the travel agent to transfer us to a modern hotel. By pure chance we arrived at the Hivernage Resort and Spa. Impressive entrance and lobby area and easy check in. Room was clean and comfortable and MOST staff were friendly and polite. The reception staff however were extremely rude and unhelpful. On one occassion when trying to borrow an adaptor for my mobile telephone they sent up a flat pin adaptor which they obviously knew would not fit and then hung up on me when I rang to try to resolve. There was also an attempt to overcharge us by some 340 dirhams for a bar tab on a bar we had not even visited and appeared resentful to have to amend the bill when we insisted.
We certainly got the impression that being in the very small minority of English guests we were not particularly welcome.Breakfast was pretty poor but the lunches in the cafe style restaurant and the dinner we took in the main restaurant were OK.
We would not go back to Marrakesh by choice and would certainly not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GandT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennery, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Hello, I wanted to express my total disappointement toward the team in this hotel who was in 98 % UNFRIENDLY which is very surprising from the morocan people who use to be very welcoming. No smile, they were not nice from the reception service area to the breakfeast server and also in the SPA. In addition to that we paid to benefit of the SPA commodities but the pool inside the spa was not working, 1 lift from the 3 is not working and we spent the week to hear noise from the repair job. It was very difficult to use the available lift spending so much time to calling it. This hotel is poorly maintained (electric outlet not fixed in the room), the channel TV not clean, the WIFI is very low in the room. The SPA is not that much clean. In spite of numerous negative point we must say that the butler and cleaner were nice and available and also in general all requests were answered properly. I would not recommend it for a long trip as us (7 nights) the swimming pool outside is not well located the sun is not giving in every place you are covered by the hotel wall. 5 stars now should be reviewed down it's far from such level.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

the employees stole my iphone while i was on the pool , it is not recovered yet, i am still in the hotel and trying to get the police to investigate. trying to use the internet it never works i had to go and buy my own portable USB connecting service, the service is a mess.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marrakech911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#176 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.6 mi away
Savoy le Grand Hotel Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hivernage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Property: Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Address: Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hivernage Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hivernage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hivernage Hotel And Spa
Hivernage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing