We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Le Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kasbah Le Mirage
Ranked #160 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We read a number of reviews about this hotel before booking and found most of them to be fair and accurate. We were prepared for the distance from Marrakech, but not the difficulty of getting beyond Marrakech without taking an organised tour. We took a lovely tour to the Ourika Valley which we would highly recommend, but when we investigated using public transport to go to other towns we found the timings pretty much unworkable. Be aware the isolated nature of the hotel means companies not used to travelling out to the hotel, may struggle to find it!
The hotel itself is pretty much as others have described it; clean and interestingly laid out. The staff are friendly and usually very helpful although there is evidence of a lack of training and once or twice we noted laziness.
Our only major complaint is the lack of concern regarding food hygiene and the local bird population! Breakfast food is set out buffet style - but is not covered, thereby allowing birds to freely fly in and help themselves - which they do frequently! We were extremely surprised no-one else seemed to have mentioned it in reviews before we went, and were very disappointed this issue was not dealt with when we complained to the hotel. Even though I covered items with clean plates, when fresh supplies where brought out they did not follow my lead - simply placing more uncovered food on the table. The waiting staff seemed to find it funny that customers should bother to chase the birds off. It would cost little in time or money to cover food with fly covers and I find it incomprehensible that the hotel don't do it. It is for this reason that I have marked the cleanliness rating down to average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    126
    31
    17
    14
See reviews for
75
175
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We went as a couple of frail elderly people. My husband has mobility problems and our first contact with Le Mirage was an email I sent asking could we be allocated a room with as few stairs as possible. Had a reply in minutes saying we had been allocated a room opposite reception with only a few steps
. We knew from trip advisor that the hotel was in a village in the middle of no where but it was a bit disconcerting to be not on a road or even a track but what seemed to be rough open country. The welcome when we arrived couldn't be faulted. A few other reviewers have said the hotel is dirty and the staff unfriendly. Our experience was the opposite. The hotel was spotless but has,made good use of reclaimed materials, so our bathroom had old tiles and distressed paint work giving it the feel of an old Turkish Bath. Towels were changed everyday and the bed linen every other day, The staff were unbelievably kind friendly and helpful, We decided that on one evening we would stay in Marrakesh to see the central square and Abdel not only arranged a reliable taxi but came into the city to meet us, helped us across the road and
made sure we were OK. Loved the many lovely little courtyards for relaxing, the roof terrace with a Berber Tent for shade and a great Jacuzzi
The food was wholesome, plentiful; and the service excellent. The variety of breads at breakfast was especially good, Thank you especially to Kadissha and Fatimazara, whose friendliness made every meal a pleasure.. This is not a Radisson International but if you want something that doesn't feel like every other hotel, in the world but somewhere where you are treated treated as a friend who really matters ,then this is the hotel for you. I have singled out three staff but it almost seems unfair as everyone we met was excellent. Would love to go back,

Room Tip: There is no lift so if stairs are a problem for you ask for a room on the ground floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a very beautiful small (27 rooms) hotel. There are several terraces and a lovely roof terrace with fire place, canopy and jacuzzi. The rooms are small but attractive and always immaculate. Service is extremely friendly. The 20m pool with its terraced patios is unheated but hey - it's 40degrees.
We had a lovely week here, but the emphasis here is on peace and quiet. Their website says 4km to Marrakech medina - by this it means the very outskirts of the city walls. From there it is another 4km to the Djmaa al Fnaa etc. There is a 2x daily shuttle service into the city centre, but the last return is at 19.30 meaning that you miss seeing the square at night, unless you take another 200dh taxi ride home. They like you to use their taxi driver - and many city cabs don't know where this place is. Which is the middle of nowhere. Surrounded by scrubland and the dry riverbed this is not the place for a walk. The village is a half built half derelict shanty. There are 1 or 2 hole in the wall local shops but venturing out of the hotel means many kids hassling you for cash, sweets, footballs etc. The food is good - standard international fare on the menu and an interesting dinner on the half board option. When we arrived at 8pm, the driver took us on a very long detour, which was a bit scary as we were on unlit, unmarked roads. he also told us it was 40km into Marrakech city centre which spoiled the first couple of days as I felt very isolated. I suggest you stock up on water and snacks etc you may want for your room when you are in town. This sounds like a lot of moaning but it is mainly due to location. Kasbah le Mirage is a superb place to really get away from it all. I haven't put pictures because the ones already here are accurate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a couple our first time in Marrakesh and had the best week here! Its in the middle of nowhere so its a very relaxing place to stay although the surrounding area is quite poor. Hotel is traditional moroccan style lovely rooms and a gorgeous terrace at the top overlooking the atlas mountains. Staff were nice friendly and good fun nothing was ever any trouble most speak french but some English too. I didnt enjoy the food very much but then im quite fussy abroad with food but lots of meat and tagines on the menu I tried most of it but didnt enjoy it I filled myself up mostly with bread and omlette at lunchtime! Made some great friends there too Rina and Frank thanks guys you made it for us! The massage is amazing we got complementary one when we booked I went twice! Pool area great to relax in everything was very clean also weather was fab 35 most days we will be returning!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed for a week in early April. Despite what has been said elsewhere there is a wonderful view of th Atlas mountains from the terrace on which you have breakfasts. The food is generally very good and if you are a vegetarian, as my wife is, then you can be assured that they really make an effort to catercfor you. The staff are generally very pleasant and helpful. I recommend this place but be aware that the surrounding village seems quite poor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcnicholas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

After a very early morning flight, we were very excited to arrive in Marrakech and expected a warm welcome in this so-called 4 star hotel. We were instead greeted with a warm welcome by a swarm of flies rather than any of the hotel staff, who completely ignored us for a good 30 minutes or so, at which point we were told to have a seat in the restaurant so that they could serve us 'fruit cocktails' (syrup juice). This was merely to buy themselves some time, as it turns out that they only had 1 room ready for us, rather than 2 that we had actually booked - we only found this out after phoning our travel agent in the UK to complain.They could not even communicate this basic information to us themselves! Regardless of this, we went to view the room where there was a terrible smell and it was terribly dirty. During the 5-6 hours on the phone to our travel agent, not once did any of the staff acknowledge our presence, aside from when we ordered lunch from the restaurant. I am at a loss as to how and why this hotel has received so many positive reviews because I cannot think of a single positive to say about it. All in all, this hotel wasted one full day of ours in Marrakech which is extremely disappointing and something that no amount of money could bring back. One word - TERRIBLE!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nishma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

How anyone can say this hotel
Is lovely is beyond my understanding. The rating of this hotel should be a 1 star not a 4 star by any standard.
We had booked this hotel through a website after been mislead by the images.
It is in the middle of nowhere! Literally! A wasteland! There is no view of the Atlas Mountains as they claim! We were then greeted by an awful smell of sewage/camel dung. And surrounded by flies! The staff are rude and unhelpful. And we waited 20min at the so called reception and even then my dad when asked if anyone was around a woman who seemed to be the owner very rudely said "wait a minute" we then found out they only had one room ready and possibly the second room may not even be available! What nonsense.
We contacted the agent in London and left without checking in. No one once came to ask what was going on and why we were not checking in.
For those of you who have any class, taste or used to nice relaxing holidays keep away from this hotel!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Shrina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
7.7 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#143 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kasbah Caracalla
Kasbah Caracalla
#281 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
#199 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#99 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#140 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#92 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Le Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Le Mirage

Property: Kasbah Le Mirage
Address: Ouahat Sidi Brahim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#102 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#172 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Le Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kasbah Le Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Le Mirage Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing