We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A lovely little hotel - a bit like the Exotic Marigold!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Le Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kasbah Le Mirage
Ranked #157 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely little hotel - a bit like the Exotic Marigold!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The journey at night to the hotel is rather scary as it's off the main roads by quite a long way, and basically in the middle of nowhere! So be prepared as we weren't! Don't get a taxi from the airport as many of them won't find the place, call the hotel and they will send one of their taxi's, which also means you won't get ripped off!
The hotel is traditional, clean and I suppose mostly quite simple. The staff are very good, and can't do enough to help. Whilst it's about 20 minutes outside of Marrakesh, for us this was good as the air was clean and it was quiet - with a free shuttle bus into the centre!
The pool is not heated, so whilst my boyfriend jumped in for the heck of it most days - even though it was over 20 degrees lying on a lounger.. once in was all I needed!
If you're booking through something like 'secret escapes' like we did... we had soup, tagine and then fruit every night bar once...so the week was definitely the right amount of time!
The hotel will book taxi's to take you to the Atlas mountains or to Essouria the coast - both very worthwhile, and not too expensive.
I would say if you're just going for a long weekend then it would probably be better to stay in a Rhiad in town as after speaking to lots of other tourists it sounded fun to be in the centre. For me, I liked being a bit away from the crazziness and noise of the centre of Marrakesh... guess it depends on your likes!
The village that the hotel is based in is very poor.. so you will have children asking for pens etc. I only wished I'd taken some with me, however have a package to send out to them!
I would highly advise to not rent a car as the roads don't seem to have any rules as such, or not like England lol!!
All in all a wonderful experience of another part of the world!
Enjoy your trip :)
Amanda

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    128
    31
    17
    14
See reviews for
76
179
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel ticked all the boxes of my holiday wishlist. I was looking for somewhere where I could relax, unwind, be fed & watered well and enjoy a bit of culture and adventure.

The transfer from the airport to hotel in fairness takes a good half hour (depending on traffic I guess) and the approach to the hotel is very remote...requiring a 4x4. But don't panic, the hotel is part of a very authentic village, which adds to the charm of the hotel. At first glance, the surrounding area will most likely appear to be a building site, but once you walk round the village and see how the locals live, it really gives you a true sense of the local lifestyle and culture. We enjoyed a guided tour around the village (organised by the hotel), which i really recommend.

The hotel is in a remote location so no shops, bars etc nearby. If you want to go anywhere, there is a shuttle service ran by the hotel or taxis are very cheap. However, i enjoyed the remote location as it really encourages you to relax and unwind. There are plenty of activities if you want to do stuff so plenty to suit all. We did a trip to the Atlas Mountains, which the hotel organised for us and i'd very much recommend.

My favourite spot was on the roof terrace and the views of the mountains were amazing...they changed each day. You will never get bored of the view or spectating the local village activities! Watching the sunset over Marrakech, with a cocktail on the roof terrace is a must!

The room we had was comfortable, clean and suited our requirements. I think most rooms are without TV's, which I think was a blessing as it encouraged me to read so much more! Being vegetarian, they catered for us really well and we had something different each night. We went half board, which worked well and I honestly can say, there was nothing i didn't enjoy. Their house wine is good too, especially the red.

I'd recommend taking a french phrase book as you will benefit being able to speak a little french but the staff are really friendly, helpful and the receptionists can speak enough English to help you with any queries.

All in all, the reviews i read before booking the hotel i think were useful and i would recommend this hotel if you want somewhere that is charming, restful, authentically Moroccan with a hint of adventure thrown in. I would definitely go back, which is always a good sign!

Room Tip: I'd assume south facing rooms with a view of the Atlas Mountains would be nice. Ours was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

after a bad experience at the airport whereby our transfer told us that we had cancelled it! we took a taxi to the hotel but the driver unfortunately didn't know where he was going. all of this at 8pm in the evening and driving round and round nothing but rough ground was a bit disconcerting to say the least. eventually we arrived and the staff were brilliant. in fact if they hadn't been so good we might have been inclined to check out and go somewhere else. our room was ok but couldn't open the frosted glass windows because of flies( and i mean hundreds) so although we had an exterior room we had no view. we had a halfboard option and the food was very limited with no choice at all.as soon as dinner was finished we went back to our room as the terrace bar was not open so nowhere to chat and relax at all. only one tv in the hotel and that was in the dining room . as i said i have never come across such helpfull staff its just a pity that they are in this particular hotel. we definitely wouldn't return.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Previous references to the approach road being disconcerting are fair, but once there, the hotel is efficiently run and - always a good sign - no member of staff saw you without a greeting or a smile, and they went out of their way to be helpful. The view from the open upper levels over the Palmeraie and then on to the mountains of the High Atlas is spectacular, and by having an outward- and south-facing room, we had the benefit of that all the time. There is plenty of organised activity if you want, and a shuttle into Marrakech twice a day, but staying put and relaxing is an equally good option. Strongly recommended: pancake straight from the pan with honey at breakfast, and a tapas plate and a glass of wine at five.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

After a lot of research on the web we finally decided to take a leap of faith and booked the Kasbah.
After landing at the airport the taxi took us through busy Marrakesh into a deserted landscape, our fears escalating as the taxi took a hard right into a dirt track field and then into a mud hut village!!!
.......but in the middle of this forgotten authentic Moroccan town is the most beautiful hotel.....with wonderful polite staff and spotlessly clean rooms.
This is a truly different holiday from the streamline characterless hotels, its beautiful setting and rustic surroundings, allow you to relax and unwind.
There is plenty to do if you are willing to open the door and venture out, albeit, the hotel itself has an array of things to divulge in, including massage, camel rides, trips to the Atlas mountains and quad biking.
Our room was lovely, but a little dark as it was inward facing, still extremely pretty.
Being vegetarian, the chef made every effort to accommodate with excellent food.
The scenery is out of this world, with 360 surround on the top floor and fortunately for us the sun was out all week.
If you are looking for a typical everyday holiday, with Karaoke and loud music, this isn't the place for you.
Romantic and quiet, perfect holiday, we loved it!!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Atlas mountains with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffyBu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Well worth the ride to the hotel, one of the best hotel I have ever stayed in, could not fault it, access road to the hotel was not the best, but once there you are in a oasis away from the main town, very quite, with lots going on if you needed,

Room Tip: Book a outside view with the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

A lovely tranquil hotel full of Moroccan charm, set in peaceful open countryside. The staff couldn't have been more helpful - they have a working knowledge of English and good French so we would brush up on French before another visit not because communication was a problem but it would have been nice to be able to "chat". We had half board and couldn't fault either the quantity or quality of the food - it was a set evening menu (with a la carte option) posted in the morning so there was plenty of time decide on eating plans. We ate the set menu every night - delicious!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank welshjonquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.6 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#155 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
7.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#147 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kasbah Caracalla
Kasbah Caracalla
#287 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#83 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
#186 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#151 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Le Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Le Mirage

Property: Kasbah Le Mirage
Address: Ouahat Sidi Brahim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#172 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Le Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kasbah Le Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Le Mirage Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing