We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everything we could ever want - fantastic Hotel in a wonderful setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Le Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kasbah Le Mirage
Ranked #163 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we could ever want - fantastic Hotel in a wonderful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I visited the Kasbah Le Mirage in October 2010 and had the time of our lives. I will attempt to put into words how amazing the Kasbah Le Mirage is.

I' trying to get this down but I don't feel that I can find the superlatives that adequately describe this Hotel, quite simply I think it is the most wonderful holiday I have ever had and the Kasbah totally exceeded our expectations. The Kasbah is situated around 20km from the bus station and you do need at least a mild sense of adventure to get your way out there. We took a 'petit taxi' for fun and whilst the ride quality was terrible on the dirt roads out there but it was a lot of fun.

When we arrived we were treated to a welcome cocktail whilst our room was given the finishing touches for our arrival. We were completely blow away when we entered our room, we received an upgrade to the African suite for our stay which was ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE! The staff were brilliant and very friendly, the food was amazing and the swimming pool area was an area of true tranquillity only interrupted occasionally by goats roaming on the roof chased by local children! That leads to the point that it is situated in a poor area but do not let that put you off; the locals we saw were incredibly friendly and add to the sense that you are truly experiencing the country.

We stayed for five peaceful days before we went to stay in a riad in Marrakech which we found was well needed rest before the craziness of the City. You can however get into the centre of the City via the free shuttle service that the Hotel provides. We found that this was a great way to order our visit to Marrakech because we could relax but also had the option of taking part in outdoor activities organised by the Hotel (some were free).

In summary I would say the Kasbah Le Mirage is a once in a lifetime experience and we would love to go back. Make sure you are fully prepared for an adventure to get the most out of this wonderful resort.

Thank you to everybody at the Kasbah Le Mirage we hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank InverAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    126
    31
    17
    14
See reviews for
75
175
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Okay what can i say about this hotel Your being driven along a road and it turns into a dirt track. This is th point at which you should be excited and throw your mobile and worries and work out of the window of the transport that you are in!!!! You do pass through a porr village but let me stop and tell you something really important Your helping by going here for your holiday. The local people if you take the time to meet them and you speak a bit of french are marvellous welcoming and friendly. They almost thank you for coming.
You arrive thinking okay I am open minded and then step through the door and realise that you have dropped a pound and found a tenner. We work in the customer service industry and I can say that from the moment that you arrive to the time you leave you will be looked after and taken care off by the staff here. They are welcoming and will try everything to make your stay a complete pleasure. One of our party has a severe food allergy and they completely understood it and she never had a problem with any of the food They just said no to the food she was allergic to and replaced it with something else. The rooms for me was the best, spending my time in hotels all over the world it was great to find no phone and no television in the room just the sound of the airconditioning unit peace and quiet. Now the heat in July is stiffling so its nice to go to the pool and relax even when its busy it feels like its your own. There is the roof terrace with a lovely berber setting Big tent if your too hot and a lovely Jacuzzi for 4.
Yes you can be negative it has you as its captive audience and the food though lovely is traditonal so if its pie and chips or macdonalds you want then stay in noisy smelly begging Merrakech. We did go twice to Merrakech and was glad to get back to this lovely hotel for the peace and quiet.
They arranged for us to go to the waterfalls in the Mountains which was fantastic but do take good trainers as flip flops are ok but you wont enjoy the climb as much take a towel hat and not a lot else apart from cash to buy your things. HOWEVER you are better off bargaining your way around in Merrakech.
I have just come back and have to say that for the first time in my life I did not want to come home soooooo soon Having spent 6 nights there I can say it was long enough but not long enough if you get my drift. I feel relaxed and more importantly I felt i had a fantastic holiday and a good experience. Morrocco is a thumbs up and this hotel is both hands up in support of what they are trying to achieve 10/10

Room Tip: leave your mobile in your room and enjoy this hotel for peace and hospitality and go to the Mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debssteve1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I booked with booking.com
No problem there but was told the hotel was only 2km from the centre of marrakech. In fact it is 2km from the boundery making it about 16km from the city center. forget walkabouts.However the hotel is beautiful & the service second to none.Thank god the food was exellent as there was no were else to go,and at a very good price.The hotel offers a free bus service two times a day each way (4x4) this helps.when the new road to the hotel is finished it will help...the village we had to go through is not for the faint hearted or untravelled !
For a romantic break or a get away from it all but want comfort,quality,with no stress this is the place for you......Yes I would go back again,but for pleasure not business

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaninbenidorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

If you are looking for the best of both worlds then this is the place to stay. Service was excellent picked up at airport and room facilities as in descriptions so no suprises. Loved the traditional feel of the hotel, great to kick back and relax. The hotel have two trips into marrakech daily which just gives you enough time to explore Marrakech in bitesize pieces, which was ok as my 2nd visit. Hotel set in local village so very tranquil, breakfast on the terrace with backdrop of the Atlas Mountains, palms and day to day life. Had two spa treatments enjoyed a 30 minute massage and masque - recommend this. Overall an excellent stay and would definitely go back...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetjpalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

This is an excellent choice if you want to see more of Marrakech and broaden your understanding not just of Morocco but also of rural life in a developing nation.

The Mirage has a beautiful lobby with fine detail in the mosaics and tiles, a refreshingly cool pool of water in the centre and perfectly well sized rooms with traditionally tiled bathrooms. It combines the charm and lay-out of a Riad with the features of a good quality hotel - and no knocking on the door to be let in, there is a 24 hour concierge. Location wise, the hotel's website as well as reviewers on this website make it perfectly clear; this is not in the middle of the city, but in a poor village a commutable distance out (by either taxi or the excellent free shuttle car operated by the hotel). But this is one reason why you should come! Let's be clear, the village is incredibly poor and the hotel is not in its own gated compound but right in the middle of the community. But there is something good about this in that the community helped build the hotel in the first place and are getting some benefits from it. But if you are easily shocked or upset by poverty as you relax in a hot-tub... well, this is not the place for you. The villagers live in little more than sheds and all around are (very sleepy) dogs, geese, chickens, mules, donkeys etc. So be prepared for some rural smells and noises and don't moan on here about them when they happen. It's all part of the charm and arguably no better or worse than the pollution and police sirens we put up with in city hotels the world over.

The evening meal was arranged as a buffet and was very good. Ingredients were fresh and well cooked and well presented. As a veggie, I even got a special dish made up on the spot, though there were plenty of other options. Breakfast was also excellent and substantial: pancakes, breads, coffee, juice, yogurt, fruits, cereals, jams, croissant (of course!) etc.

The service was friendly and efficient. I had no problem whatsoever communicating to the main staff members, so don't be put off by the language problem as there wasn't really one. One receptionist in particular had a very good comprehension of English, as did one of the porters. The woman in the bar didn't speak a word of English, but she sure as hell knew what I meant when I asked for beer and frankly, that was all that mattered. Talking of which, yes it does serve booze, and at fairly reasonable (for Morocco) prices which was a surprise considering there was no local competition because of its rural location.

There were several areas for sitting in the sun, including poolside loungers and a large roof terrace which was clean and comfortable and pretty cool looking, too.

During the day, you can hire a bike for free or take a quad or camel tour. The hotel does offer entertainment some nights or you can get the 30 minute free shuttle into town. I was also pleased to see there was no TV.

All in all, a great place to relax and get away from everything - a real detox from the pressures of working and living - the sort of hotel where you wish there was no blackberry signal, even though there is. But it is also a place which, due to its location, will have you thinking about how lucky 'we' in the West are and how the pressures we face - though real and important in our own lives - are nonetheless comparative.

The owners and staff should be proud of what they have achieved here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabregasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Little tip, it really helps to get a driver who knows where this place is. It's not well sign posted at all and you can easily get ripped off by a taxi who'll likely get lost. We had a brilliant driver who took us into town and arranged to pick us up later for about 100Dh. His number (if you speak French is [--]. The hotel arranged him for us, so they'll be able to help with travel and transfers etc.

The hotel is absolutely stunning and there's loads to do there. Highly recommend the Camel trek and also the entertainment in the evening. Great place to chill out after a few mental days in Marrakesh.

We were upgraded to the African Suite which was truly incredible and the staff very helpful despite not being able to speak great English.

High recommend this place for some R&R and the shuttle service comes in handy. Quite far out but worth the trek and a bargain for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We had a perfect holiday and highly recommend Kasbah Le Mirage. As other reviews have said, it is in a berber village a few miles outside Marrakech, reached down a dirt track. This may not suit everyone, but we found it very relaxing after the intensity of the city and also provided a different insight into local life,with goats being herded etc. The hotel's panoramic countryside views over the palmeraie and to the atlas mountains were particularly interesting during our visit as we were able to observe dust devils and sandstorms in the distance.

The place is immaculately clean and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. They really went out of their way to accomodate us, but most have little or no english, so a few words of french would help you get more out of your visit. The quad bike and camel rides were interesting, great fun and very well organised. The pool and jacuzzi were nice, rooms and the hotel tastefully decorated. Food was good, but for evening meals you are limited to either eating in the hotel, or taking a taxi back from the city, as the hotel shuttle departs from the centre at 7:30. Some people might find the rooms which face inwards a little dark - the ones with outside windows did not have this problem and in any case you probably won't want to spend your time sat in your room!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceratonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
7.7 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#148 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kasbah Caracalla
Kasbah Caracalla
#283 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
#199 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#103 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
1.5 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#144 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#92 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Le Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Le Mirage

Property: Kasbah Le Mirage
Address: Ouahat Sidi Brahim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#172 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Le Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kasbah Le Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Le Mirage Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing