We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but not the real Morocco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie
Ranked #80 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not the real Morocco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

This Club Med has a beautiful setting, the rooms have a great Moroccon feel and are lovely and rustic. You can hear the call to prayers in the morning which is beautiful. The food was excellent & the staff were friendly and fun.The facilities are great but you really need to get involved to make the most of your spend & stay. If you don't speak any french you may have some problems at this resort (I'm from Australia but speak bad french) but you'll get by. It is sometimes difficult in activities e.g cooking class was in french so you have to learn by watching only. Not all staff speak english but you're in Morocco so you shouldn't really expect that anyway.

There is another club Med in the heart of Marrakech but the rooms there are TINY and I think that La Palmeraie is much much nicer. The great thing you can do is when you go into the city use the facilities as the one in the city. I used the spa - it was magic.

Although I love Club Med, Morocco & particularly Marrakech is a place where you should be getting out and experiencing the local food and culture. Club Med is like a bubble that you don't want to leave because you're so well looked after and relaxed.

I would reccommend this resort particularly to families or couples on their honeymoon perhaps, but do it at the end of your Moroccan trip so that you don't miss out on all that this beautiful country has to offer or at least make sure you get out of the resort.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozandjlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    806
    255
    89
    41
See reviews for
1,109
451
184
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

We spent a week beginning of April at the Palmeraie and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had two communicating rooms so that our two girls had their own room + bathroomtoo, and the rooms were extremely quiet. We were at the end of the domain, but in any case, as the theatre/disco is indoors, no noise coming from there. There is a brand new Mini Club split in 3 categories (4-5, 6-7 and 8-10) so that your child is always with children of the right age. They also have two private pools for the children there and organise great activities. Plus, they also eat together at 7.00pm, which is apparently great fun, as our 6 years-old wanted to join them most of the nights. And there is another club for the teenagers where they're split between 11-13 and 14-17 also with lots of activities for them. The food was gorgeous, wonderful buffets different every day, and it was really clean. There were so many activities organised (sports, cooking, oriental dancing...) that it was difficult to choose. And there was a shuttle bus every hour or 1/2h going downtown. There are many things to see in Marrakech! And after a visit, it was really nice to be able to get in the other Club Med at the Medina, rest and have a drink before going back to the Palmeraie. Not cheap, but really worth it!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Just got back from Club Med La Palmeraie- lovely holiday, excellent location.
I have read most of the reviews and had some concerns prior to going especially when you read that there is 'nothing to do' , 'not much choice in food' , 'dont take your kids'.- Our experience would say exactly the opposite.

The location is wonderful, superb site (village) and facilities. Rooms very nice and well maintained throughout our stay.
Food was excellent with lots of choice and variety.
We took three kids (6 and under) they went into the Mini Club and had a great time, which allowed us to enjoy the holiday more. Staff were really good in the Mini Club. I was very impressed with the Mini Clubs cleanliness, security arrangements and facilities- very reasssuring to see this on the first day we took the kids to it...my daughter didnt want to leave...

Loads of sports to do, staff were very friendly and get involved in the sports too.

Predominently French speaking, but please dont be put off. Most of the staff can speak English and I thought they made the effort to speak to us more because we were the minority (how refreshing!)

Bus service to Marrekech is great, be prepared to be bombarded by 'Guides' when you get off- NON MERCI is a useful couple of words. This bus runs between the La Palmeraei and Medina hotels and you can use the facilities at both. therefore good to go into town and have lunch at the Medina.

Also flew with Royal Air Maroc (Atlas Blue)- again read reviews and was dreading getting on the plane. Both flights were fine, plane wa s clean and tidy, staff friendly (especially towards the kids)- please dont forget that this is an economy class flight.
We did get diverted going out (via Brussels)- this happens on other airlines too though- so cant really grumble. Coming back we took off on time and arrived back in UK early.

I'd go again next month if I could! Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5_in_the_family_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Went in November, it was quite cold so we couldn't enjoy outdoor grounds (swimming pool or other activities). Because of this it turned out to be rather boring, but the room was charming with oriental character, original bathroom, small living room and a patio. The club is pretty with fountains and a big bar, rather pleasant. The food was good and unlike many clubmeds, there are waiters around for cutlery, serving drinks (not food which is buffet), etc. The spa is nice for the hammam (large and with nice decorations), but not for much else. Marrakech is not so close but there's a clubmed bus that will take you there at certain hours. Went on an excursion to the Atlas mountains. We found it expensive and really not interesting. I suppose we would have enjoyed the holiday more had we gone in a warmer time of the year.

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludovica40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We spent a week at this club med. Although I would agree with some previous reviews that the rooms were fairly simple, they were well equipped. I would perhaps recommend bringing your own hairdryer, though. The rooms were spacious, and we had an interconnecting room for our teenage kids.

I found it very relaxing to be able to walk around the "village" without carrying much about because everything was included. The food in general was good - although perhaps a little repetitive, we had a fantastic beef wellington on one of the theme nights. We also took the opportunity to eat one evening in the club med just off the main square in Marrakesh, and also had our final meal in "el Kebir" which has table service.

The shuttle was useful for visiting the town - we used it on three days.

The pool was wonderful -large and not too busy. On our final morning I got up at 6am for a swim before we got the suttle to the airport at 9am - I was the only one in the pool and it was a perfect temperature.

I found the staff helpful and almost all of them really enthusiastic.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hipposWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintes, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

My second trip to Club Med. & our group were not disappointed. The service provided was excellent & the food was even better than our trip to the Algarve last year. The local organiser was very helpful and ensured our sales meeting was a success. Very good value for money & a local organiser from our arrival at the airport until we went though departures at the airport. Cost wise far better value than most UK venues. Plenty of local trips & loads to see & do. I'd be tempted to go back for a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digbyl177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

The location/facilities is amazing nice but it is not always gold what's shining... They sell this as a 4 trident but is is not more then a 3, so be aware about it!!!

Rooms are nice and big enough, just make sure you get one on the higher level/floor if you want some privacy.

Main restaurant: from the hygienic point of view its a shame!!! The dishes are dirty, everyday! After a couple days we all began to feel sick..
Bottle of mineral water are not available at the restaurant but only at the bar... Pizza and spaghetti, I can get them in Italy!... Moroccan food? Seems to be the same menu everyday..

We do recommend the spa, although very pricey, we thoroughly enjoyed the treatment.

This is NOT the place to bring your childs! Nothing at all is offered to them and in the small swimming pool which is the only place your child could spend the day, they are not welcome because this is a "quite place".

Not enough personnel is available on the bars... so be prepared to stay in a cue...

Towels: get them the morning... Either there are none available or the towel “office” is close!!!

Below the line:
This place could be a dream on earth with a different management, but do NOT bring your kinds there...

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank ParisTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#68 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#120 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#104 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 4,067 reviews
3.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie

Property: Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie
Address: Sidi Yahya la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#162 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech is the Southern pearl, full of charm, mystery and bustle, at the crossroads of the Sahara and the High Atlas. The Club Med Village, set in Morocco's oldest palm grove, reflects the intimate aspect of the medina, fostering its way of life with its gardens, refined cuisine and warm welcome. The Marrakech architecture combines baked bricks, tadelakt, red ochre and colourful zellige, to create a relaxing haven to which you can enjoy returning after a stroll through Djemaa el-Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Club Med Marrakech
Marrakech Club Med
Club Med Morocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing