We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hoel, except the bar after 10:00 PM”
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Andalous
Ranked #402 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed February 9, 2009

My wife, my 3 childern and I were at el andalous on the end of jan 2009 on half board basis.
overall, the holtel is very good.
Rooms : very clean and large rooms, with 2 big separated beds. toelet separated from bathroom. Rooms cleaned cerefully every morning.
Restaurants : very large buffet on breakfast, large choice of food. You can have menu at noon luch, or buffet on dinner. You can try also moroccan restaurant with moroccan dishes. As we are Moroccans, we didn't try such restaurant but it looks nice with entairtainements. Tha stafs is very smily, helpful and very polit, Thanks to Karim, Fettah and all the staff of the restaurant.
The bar : The bar is very nice and you can have a drink and deal a quiet discussion with your relatives. EXCEPT THAT after 10:00 PM tha bar totally changes to a RUBBISH CABARET with locals (friends, PROSTITUTES,....) drinking, shouting, dancing wherever they want.. VERY NOISY. Can't attend the spectacle if you're with familiy. The second thing is that between 08:00 PM and 10:00 PM the bar offers "happy hour" . All the staff in the bar were honest, helpful except one with eye glasses, this guy is not honest at all, during hapy hour, you are allowed to have one drink gratis if you order one. This guy brings you only one, and later he sells the "gratis drink". I ve complained to the reception, they wanted to refund me but I refused, just to give this guy a lesson.
Area: The holtel is well situated and close to center city, medina...........
I HAVE noticed also some foreign tourists, at breakfast buffet, they take with them plenty of food, eggs, fruits, merguez, cheese.......in order not to spend money for lunch or dinner, but no reaction from the restaurant staff, they only great them with smiles

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jalilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 843 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2009

Weekend in Marrakech, couldn't wait to get there... this was a thomson holiday... found the hotel we wanted to stay in, (Hotel El Andalous) a 4 star rated hotel... pictures looked great in the brochure and on the internet....

Finally our day came off to marrakech for the weekend....so little time but yet so much to do...got to the hotel at 12 noon... we had a pool view room but what a disappointment.... it looked nothing like the brochure or what we had seen on the internet....top it all up the room was very very dirty and very very dusty like it had never been cleaned....dust on the tv and dresser top etc etc it got worse when the blanket on the bed was very dusty, if you tapped the bed 5 inches of dust went up in the air and thats no lie... went and asked to change rooms... room number 2 was exactly like room number 1, dirty and dusty and the blanket on the bed had dust.... so again they changed our rooms once again... and guess what this room was worse more dirty and dusty and again the blankets on the bed very very dusty... 3 ROOMS ALL THE SAME.... we refused to stay at the hotel me and my friend have asthma and allergic to dust...... we had dust going into out mouths every time we spoke, dust going up our nose etc etc and there was no way we could sleep in the rooms.... NO WAY.... I WOULD NOT RATE THIS HOTEL A 4 STAR IT DON'T DESERVE A STAR AT ALL... THE HOTEL HAS NOT BEEN CLEANED AND YOU COULD SEE THAT ON THE CARPETS AND CURTAINS NOT ONLY THAT THE POOL AREA WAS DISGUSTING, the chairs outside the pool had all rusted away SO GOING FOR A SWIM IN THERE - NO CHANCE... now that was just the hotel... the staff in the hotel... not friendly of helpful instead they tried to get pay for some excursions can you believe that.... I wll never reccomend this to anyone... DONT PICK THIS HOTEL... IF YOU DO... YOU WILL REGRET IT...
.... rang the thomson rep to change our hotel.... now thats another story.....it ONLY took them 6 hours to find us another hotel and expected us to pay... refused to pay extras as it wasn't our fault... told us the next hotel is 3 mins walk, they made us walk to the next hotel....which took us 25 min walking.... a day wasted.... we stayed at the royal mirage ...which is also a 4 star but you could see the difference... wow the royal mirage was good and clean and staff were very friendly and helpfull... they gave us a map of marrakech explained all the best places to visit, where its safe to go for walks etc etc ,,,,so if you want a good hotel pick the ROYAL MIRAGE i'd pick that again.....

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We have just returned from 10 days at the El Andalous. We had a fantastic holiday, spending the days by the pool in the sun and the evenings with snake charmers, belly dancers and musicians! The hotel has all the charm you would expect of a traditional Moroccan hotel. The room had 2 double beds. We had requested a pool view room, which was great. We were on a half board package, and could choose to eat at lunchtime or in the evening. There was always plenty to eat, although it did get rather repetitive by the end of our holiday. The only down side for us, was that our children aged 8 and 10, struggled to make friends at the pool to play with, as we were the only English. French is spoken as well as Arabic, but as they don't speak either, they found it difficult to enjoy the company of other children. However, they also say they had a fabby holiday, so it didn't spoil it for them!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAECambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

the unfriendliest staff and management I have ever came across, not even a 100$ tip could make them smile! the food was pathetic, and the drinks realy expensive... Don,t book this hotel if your looking for good service with a smile,

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ESwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

We booked our holiday through a tour operator without consulting TripAdvisor first.Having subsequently read poor reviews of this hotel we were somewhat concerned but decided to go ahead with the holiday as booked.Overall we were satisfied with the accommodation-the room had two comfortable double beds,excellent heating/air conditioning,room safe which was cheap to hire and a flat screen T.V.with a channel showing films in English which,in our experience is rare even in more expensive hotels.The bathroom appeared to have been fairly recently refitted and there was a constant supply of very hot water.Also a separate toilet which proved to be vital as we both were extremely ill with stomach bugs at one point!The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout and we found the majority of the staff to be very friendly and helpful although to be fair we did our own thing most of the time.In response to other reviews,yes some aspects of the hotel were in need of some refurbishment and we would describe it as a very Moroccan style hotel which we liked.Whilst staying at a similar hotel in Agadir a couple of years ago ,the rep told us that some people had asked to be moved to another hotel because the one they were in was too Moroccan! I suppose that if you have just gone away to sit in the sun then one of the sanitised european style hotels is probably what you want.We were on bed and breakfast and this was where the standard fell down badly as the food selection was poor.Basically cornflakes or bread with a few bits of rather nasty looking cold meat.Eggs in various forms also but not freshly cooked.If you went down after 9.00am the cutlery and crockery had run out and the were bringing it back out from the kitchen still wet which we weren't very happy about.However there was unlimitted coffee,tea and fresh orange juice and a very pleasant waiter who showed us to a table with a pool view each morning.We ate all other meals in local restaurants,most of which were of an acceptable standard and we found a very good supermarket behind the Oriental Restaurant on the main road which sold everything you could possibly want.Taxis and horse and carriages are fairly cheap if you haggle ,and are the ideal way to get to the Medina.It isn't a long walk but on hot days you can get very dehydrated quite quickly and it is advisable to carry water with you if you do want the exercise.The Hivernage area where the hotel is situated is relatively upmarket with wide avenues and many floral displays and at no time did we feel threatened when out walking day or night.The Medina and souks are out of this world and we spent many hours walking around exploring,got lost several times and had to be rescued by helpful local people who showed us the way back to the main square-one or two asked for money for this service others didn't!! Motor traffic is allowed down all except the smallest alleyways and this is quite hazardous especially the scooters and motorbikes which travel at quite high speeds down what we would assume to be footpaths only.There are several palaces,museums and monuments to be visited in the Medina and we covered some of these on an organised excursion with a guide which we thought was good value for money.Also there is very little information in English in these places so ,if you want to do anything more than look , a guide is essential.On the subject of language most things including restaurant menus are in French or Arabic only which is obviously a bit of a problem for non French speakers.There have been some comments made about the treatment of the carriage horses and as animal lovers we were prepared for the worst but we were relieved to find that the majority of the horses were in good condition and ,contrary to some reports ,were not whipped viciously by the drivers.There is a problem with the availability of drinking water for the horses but this is being addressed by the British run charity that has the animal refuge in Marrakech and hopefully this will soon improve.In spite of the fact that we were both ill while we were there and for some time after we came home
,we found this to be a fantastic destination and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank carlorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Hotel
This is not a 4*. It is 3*. There were no fridges or tea making facilities in the rooms. We were disappointed when we were given room 202. The carpet had an iron burn mark and was covered in stains, as were the bed covers. We complained and they gave us room 510, which had a marble floor and clean bedding with a poolside view on the top floor (5th) I would ask for a room on 5th floor with an even number for the poolside view along with a view of Atlas mountains. Staff were friendly and try to help but French and Arabic are clearly the spoken languages. Some of the cleaners could speak better English than the staff at reception. Got the same poor breakfast every morning. Poolside bar staff were nice and the food was okay (about £20 for 2 with drinks). We ate at the hotel on one evening in the Cordoba restaurant. It had a fixed price for a self-service buffet, which was excellent. Expect to pay £10 for a bottle of wine and £2.50 for a small bottle of Heineken.

Hotel Bar
We went there on our last night (Thursday) and there was a live band playing and a good crowd of locals. The music was actually good and the locals were all getting on the dance floor. The atmosphere was really good and it made our stay that much better.

Djama El Fna
This is the city square, very crowded and full of entertainers, snake charmers, cigarette sellers, tissue sellers, monkeys on a leash and guitar and tambourine players. Take photos but expect to pay 5 DH for it. Eat at the food stalls if you feel brave. Enter the souks off the square and you’ll find a network of about 1500 tiny shops selling everything and you can even see the different sections of leather, potteries, wood and ironworks all done by hand. Good prices but expect to haggle hard. Cut their asking price to ¼ and then work to about ½ original price. Be prepared to walk away and they’ll call you back if they are willing to meet your final offer. Some shopkeepers are very pushy and it can seem intimidating at first but that’s how they are.

Rue De La Liberte
This is where the real shops are. Its like a modern street with good shops and a McDonalds. Sellers were much more friendly but still happy to haggle. Fake goods are for sale everywhere (sunglasses cost about £3-4 or 50-60DH). When we asked to be taken to this street, we were dropped at the Centre De Commercial, which is clearly designed for tourists with fixed prices, but these were twice what we had been paying elsewhere. Rue De La Liberte is the next parallel street about 100 metres away.

Taxis
We used about 5. None have meters or ones that work. Negotiate a price before you get in. Most places are 20-30DH. We asked at reception for estimates beforehand.

Driving
Don’t bother. High risk of a crashing and all vehicles are already bashed up. Traffic cops everywhere with speed guns.

Stay
Stay for 3 nights and you’ll easily get everything done. Not that much to see/do. The Mosque tower, tombs, and gardens can all be done in a day. The YSL garden is a MUST, like a scene from heaven. Go on a camel, take a ride in a horse drawn carriage. Have a Hamman at the hotel, very good. Go to Chez Ali for a meal and show with a difference. Okay food but great show after the meal.

Restaurant
We went to Dar Essalam Restaurant. It was awesome. Built in the 17th century and fit for a King of that era. It is underground and the waiters alone were very entertaining with their little tricks. There is also live music and belly dancing to be enjoyed.

Tour Guide
One of our guides was Ali whose English was very impressive and the best we came across out there (he also had a great sense of humour). He is the perfect guide out there and can take you to all the sights and give you the history to match. He gave us his card and you won’t regret using him. Abdel Ali CHANTIT, through Menara Tours.

Customs
We read that holding hands was a no-no. This is untrue. We were unchallenged for the whole of our stay and saw many other locals also holding hands and showing their affection to each other. This is a very liberal and progressive Islamic country. We wanted a photo with a local police officer but they all refused and one of our guides actually warned against it.

Language
On the whole, all the shopkeepers could speak better English than the hotel staff but we had no problem getting by.

Final Verdict
Marrakech is a nice place to visit. Hotel was fairly good and the weather was about 25C each day. Not enough to do but clearly tourism is the main source of income and money is being spent on improvements. 8/10

Stayed: March 2008
4  Thank Tony_warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

I stayed at this hotel over Easter for a long weekend break in Marrakech. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk along pleasant residential streets to the city centre. The neighbourhood is nice and felt very safe. The hotel has a nice pool and bar area however I didnt eat there so cant comment on the food. The staff were freindly and helpful. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank H1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Ambassadeurs
Hotel Les Ambassadeurs
#325 of 499 in Marrakech
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Hotel Farah Marrakech
#439 of 499 in Marrakech
1,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#210 of 499 in Marrakech
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lawrence d'Arabie
Hotel Lawrence d'Arabie
#364 of 499 in Marrakech
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#419 of 499 in Marrakech
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $58 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing