We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Andalous
Ranked #307 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“average service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Al Andalous on March 2013 for 4 nights. The hotel is a 4 star hotel (2-3 star hotel in Europe) but thats normal.

Positive remarks:
Cleanliness, size of the room, mattress and views were very good. Location is perfect: 10-15 minutes walking distance to Fna square. Taxi is 15-20 dirham: 5 minutes
The pool is extremely clean and in good condition.
A/C worked perfectly, no problems at all.

However these are the reasons for the 2 stars in tripadvisor:
- 2 of the 4 nights we could not sleep because of music coming from La Casa restaurant; restaurant next door that belongs to the hotel. Called reception many times and the receptionist did not bother at all, no apologies were given.
We went there to relax, no to have dance music in our room from 10pm to 1-2am in the morning. Unacceptable.
- Room service was extremely late: called for a mint tea and they brought it an hour later. No apologies were given too.
- Food in the restaurant was overpriced - not good quality. Found insects in the food and we had to fight with manager in order not to pay that specific meal. Very rude man.
- Breakfast was poor. They offer the same every day.

If you are looking for a hamam experience please go to the medina and find one there. The experience is much better than the hotel one for same money.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the pool are quieter, and better view guaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeryAcevedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    262
    211
    105
    81
See reviews for
179
206
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

the hotel is situated in the calm residential area oh hivernage close to conference centre and avenue mohammed 6 , also close to casino essaadi , 20 mn walk to jemaa lafna famous square
and 15 mn walk to gueliz , the hotel is very clean and the staff are very professional , the room is a typical hotel size clean rooms with aircon , the restaurant is class and grand with arabo-andalousian carving . a typical great moroccan design the swimming pool is clean in very nice garden setting , you have to give 100dh deposit for the towels in the swimming pool , you get it back when you return the towel
the food was great with big varieties ,
me and my family really enjoy our stay .thanks to all the polite staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here in Feb and is an excellent hotel Beautiful inside,clean tidy and the staff are so helpful.Food is of a very high standard aswell.Well located for the Medina Square and Souks,but beware you do get hassled all the time as you walk there,FROM TAXIS AND PEDESTRIANS WHO ALL SEEM TO THINK THAT THEY SERVED YOU AT BREAKFAST AND ARE WILLING TO HELP SHOW YOU AROUND.Don`t be fooled they are only after your money.Say a polite no and if you need a guide then reception will sort you out.
Bar staff are excellent and will always provide nuts and olives for you to nibble on as you sit in the lovely bar listening to free entertainment.Would def go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We found the hotel to be very comfortable and pleasant. Room was a good size with comfortable beds. It was not noisy, just a very slight smell of cigarette smoke. Breakfast very good with a wide choice, however coffee undrinkable. (Have never experienced good coffee in hotels anywhere!), stick to tea. Staff in hotel where always helpful. Pool area very nice with lots of sun loungers and a good pool-side refreshment service. Food in the bar and Casa restaurant was fine, not very Moroccan but tasty. I recommend the hotel's spa. Very relaxing and reasonably pricded. Taxis into town always seemed to cost 50 DH despite some haggling. Maybe because it was low season and there were not enough tourists around to make a good living? The walk to the medina area was a brisk 15 minutes along a shady and safe-feeling road (for a woman walking alone). Some reviewers have commented that the hotel and its area are uninteresting. Well the souks are interesting but smelly, noisy and dirty. The Hivernage area is clean, safe, fairly quiet and of a good standard. The hotel is only about 10 minutes from the airport but I didn't hear any planes during the stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel in Marrakech, it is very friendly and the rooms are basic but adequate,the only problem we had was noise late at night from the room above,people with heels on and a lot of furniture scraping !! Breakfast was quite basic but we always had enough to fill us up. It is a good 20 minute walk to the Medina which was very crowded. We got 48 hour tickets on the tourist bus which takes you past all the main attractions and is hop on/hop off as many times as you like and is a good way of seeing everything without getting pestered ! The staff are very helpful and let us keep our room until 3pm without charge, we would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexyeyes187057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Remember you're in one of the most fun exciting places. There is nothing wrong with this hotel, it's just not very exciting. There's a nice pool and the woman at the front desk has the warmest smile and is very helpful. You might stay here just for her smile,really. The breakfast is okay and the service is fine. The place is clean . It's a good walk about 1/2 hour to the main activities, but a taxi cost only 20 dirham, $2.50 U.S. or 2 euros. The area around offers nothing although pretty.
One thing the rooms that face the pool can be noisy if there's a wedding. I'm told the rooms on the street can be noisy too,One night there was a wedding and the boom, boom of the drums kept me up for a few hours.

Room Tip: Make sure there's no wedding if you stay on poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurersyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My family 2 adults a 3 and a 5 year old stayed for a week in January 2013. After reading the reviews I was a bit worried however i shouldnt have been as we had a great time and for the money it was totally worth it.
I must say I was surprised the room was nice and cleaned everyday. Breakfast was ok, could be improved. Room service was fab and even though the staff spoke little English they tried very hard to accomodate. The staff overall were great and even let us stay over the check out time for free. They loved the kids who got constant kisses wherever they went.
The spa was an experience and all the staff there were very helpful. The whole family went for a hammam which was fun. I stayed and had a massage with four hands. Wow it was amazing. The whole trip was a good experience.
Only downside was that our room was above the nightclub ( we were on the 5th floor) and you could feel and hear the music until 3am. However it never bothered the kids one bit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stressedout247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#275 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#379 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Idrissides
Hotel Les Idrissides
#177 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#262 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#474 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
#327 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Property: Hotel El Andalous
Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing