We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, great pool, so so atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Andalous
Ranked #308 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well located, great pool, so so atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at El Andalous for the last nights of our great trip through the south of Morocco. After having slept in nice Riads and small family hotels this was a bit of a step back. Nevertheless a reasonable price value proposition. The hotel is right in the middle of the Hivernage quarter so a 40 dh taxi trip to Jma el Fna square and go for it!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansdrenth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    262
    211
    105
    81
See reviews for
179
206
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is not too far from city center, so you can walk by. A refresh or refurbishment may brighten the place, but all in all, it's ok (3 stars local scale). Nice pool area, which is mandatory, average food, you have Wifi in the lobby so you can stay connected. I will say all around good average, but as you can get it for cheap, it's a plus.

Room Tip: As usual in many places , the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anabase61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel itself was not too bad although a spot of refurbishment wouldnt go a miss. The pool area was clean and tidy and the pool itself was very refreshing with temperatures soaring up to 50 degrees. The rooms were ok but certainly didnt look like the pictures we had been shown in the travel agents. The air con was an absolute god send and the fridge was handy as we had a permanent supply of cold bottled water to hand. The walk to the madina wasnt too bad especially when we were shown a short cut, and if you couldnt be bothered there was always plenty of taxis about. The staff were great even though it was ramadam and they were tired. The one thing that we were not impressed with was the food - it was diabolical. Unfortunately we went half board and regretted it from day one. The breakfast was ok so long as you stayed away from the eggs (stuck to the continental breakfast). The evening meal was a different matter - the hot food (meat) was full of fat and bone and was pretty inedible. We decided to try the lunch time menu instead and eat out at night - this was a little better but not much. The hotel was in a nice area but it was a shame that there were no shops nearer especially when you wanted to bulk buy water etc. Would we go back - no definately not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with CoopTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank debkelly191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Visited this hotel with some friends in August 2012. Hotel itself was quite nice - rooms quite large with balconies etc. Lobby and pool areas very clean and pleasant.

The problem was the staff and how unfriendly they were. At the poolside bar everything seemed an effort when I ordered any food or drinks. 24 hour room service was definitely not 24 hours as it took 20 minutes of calling and 3 visits down to reception just to get a sandwich. There is a lack of shops around the hotel or anywhere to get food, plus it was during Ramadan, so was difficult to find anything to eat at times.

No complaints about the breakfast - a good selection. The rep who walks around trying to sell tickets was a bit dodgy, changing his story every 2 minutes. We bought tickets to Theatro (a club) and were promised one free drink each. Turned up half an hour late to pick us up. Got there and had a very angry manager after money from us. Fortunately the rep did end up paying for us, but very hard to trust.

When we left the hotel we were then charged a tax of £8 each for staying there even though this was not mentioned anywhere. The receptionist told us we would not leave the hotel until we paid. Very unfriendly and unco-operative.

Good base for main square and markets, but rudeness of staff would put me off going back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alreeve27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

When we booked we thought we were getting a really good deal but were slightly disappointed. It was a solid 3 star and nothing more. Food was mediocre, service was either fast or non-existent. Language barrier with the front desk was slightly frustrating despite two of us being able to speak ok French. It said on the Hotel's website that there was a shuttle to/from the airport of which no one working there knew about. It was about a 25 min walk to the main market at Medina and not close to any corner stores. We didn't have fridges in our rooms which was very unfortunate considering the heat. But the pool was nice and we had great weather so despite the pit falls we did not have a bad stay. The air conditioning in our room worked well but not in our other friends rooms. I would recommend it only if you get a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apayette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After reading the other reviews I was slightly worried about staying in this hotel but my fears were mainly unfounded. We stayed in a double room (containing two double beds) on the 4th floor at the beginning of August 2012. The room was large and the air conditioning worked perfectly (which was good in temperatures of 47 degrees!) The decor was slightly dated but our room was clean and the hotel employees were all very polite and helpful.

The only downsides we found were that when we arrived the room did smell of stale smoke but this cleared quickly once the air con was switched on, the breakfast buffet was not very varied and the walk to the main square was about 20 minutes, which I wouldn't have normally minded but as it was so hot it was quite a struggle. I note that other people have commented that the hotel is run down but I didn't think it was too bad and would instead describe it as having an air of faded grandeur.

Overall I was pleased with the hotel, but we got a good package deal and I could see that people who paid the full price for their stay might not have been happy with the facilities provided.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Having just read the latest review of this hotel, I was left wondering did we actually stay in the same place at the same time?! It was completely unrecognisable!!

On arrival, the first impression of the hotel was very pleasing - beautiful architecture in the reception area with very attentive staff who made us feel welcome immediately. We were shown to our rooms on the fifth floor. Three of our party were in a suite - 2 queen size beds in the main bedroom, through an adjoining door to a sitting room, which had two single beds in it. The bathroom and toilet were separate and the air conditioning worked efectively in both of these rooms. Our room was of a good size with two queen size beds in it and again the air conditioning worked very effectively and there was also a fridge in the room for your drinks. Both rooms had small balconies with chairs and an occasional table on it.

We stayed in the hotel for a week during the period 26/7 to 1/8/12. We had taken half board and swopped between lunch and dinner. Breakfast was the usual fair of any hotel - pasteries, coissants, dried fruit and fresh fruit, bread, butter and jam. For those who wanted more, there was always hot scrambled eggs and boiled eggs along with porridge. Pancakes were also a regular feature. The lunch was decided from a menu which had three choices for each of the three course - it was written in french, but as this is the language of the country it wasn't a major issue and the waiters were very happy to explain the menu before ordering. It is amazing how much school french you can remember when pushed! Evening meals were always available from 7.30pm at night - no exception and this was a buffet. When we stayed here, I did not see any fly issues .... the choice of food was very good - fish, chicken and meat usually at least one as a tagine with cous cous or potatoes. The starters were usually of a salad nature and the desserts there was always at least 4 options which would be cakes / fresh melon (water and gala) fruit salad. Fresh rolls were always brought to the table before either lunch or evening meal by the waiters. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and their friendliness was excellent.

The pool did have a few cracked tiles on the corner but it was kept meticulously clean by the swimming pool men and was never an issue. In regards to the area around being slippery when wet, this is the case in any swimming pool and obviously most people exercise care when walking around the area.

The location was really good for getting to the main square at night - about 20 minute walk. It is really bustly - people desperate to get you to eat at their stall - all good hearted and no malice in their actions. It was alot of fun!

I would definitely stay here again and can not commend the staff highly enough - very friendly and professional - nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muttley1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#273 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,885 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#391 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Idrissides
Hotel Les Idrissides
#189 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#257 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#475 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
#326 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Property: Hotel El Andalous
Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing