We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An oasis of calm within the madness of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red House
Ranked #48 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chichester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm within the madness of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just stayed at the Red House for 11 nights.

We loved it...

We were met at the airport by their driver, we found him near the exit, holding up a brass name board, makes him easy to spot.

The location - it is in the perfect location between the old and new town, the square is about a twenty minute walk and there are excellent bars less than five minutes away in the new part.

The staff - every member of staff was so helpful down to the gardener, service was excellent. We could sit by the pool all day without staff coming up to us asking if we needed anything every five minutes. Whilst some of you may see this as a negative, we found it enabled us to relax more.

The room - We had room 303 which is at the back of the hotel on the first floor, it had a small balcony outside which we could sit at in the evenings, though we were out most nights. It had a bath with shower, two basins and a separate shower, very handy when you have a wife that takes as long to get ready as mine.
The room and all areas were clean to a high standard.

The pool - This was very clean and didn't have too much chlorine in it. Whilst it is hard to judge the size of the pool from photographs it was large enough and certainly much bigger than some of the plunge pools that some of the riads call pools in their descriptions.

The food - The breakfasts were nice and kept us going until the evening, the only other food we had were the Chicken Club Sandwiches on a couple of occasions, these were excellent. Room service was prompt with it arriving dead on the time requested.

What this hotel had in abundance is character, from the original floor tiles to the ornate ceilings and walls.

Abdul should be very proud of his team for making our stay so memorable.

We will definitely return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    50
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
208
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Everything was perfect. The staff was great, the food was great, the rooms were great and the garden was great... what is there more to expect from a hotel? The loation is also great. Very short distance to Medina and to some great restaurants, cafe's and clubs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Halldor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stopped at the Red House for a full week for our first visit to Marrakech, I can not say enough about how we was treated, the staff at the Red House are just fantastic, they looked after everything, they was alway atentative in every way, they sort of knew what we wanted and they did it in a way that made us feel very special, we had a small leak on our air conditioning unit which really was not a problem but Abdul and his team had an engineer out the next day and upgraded us for free to the most amazing suite I have ever seen, the rooms are beautiful, the food is fantastic, the location is great, you can walk 15 mins through the palace gardens straight to the medina from the Red House, if you want any recommendations for restaurants or trips you must listen to what they say because they have only your best interest at heart.. Great holiday, we have recommended to our friends if they go to Marrakech they must stop here and one of our friend has already booked for later this year. thank you Red House.

Room Tip: All rooms are gat but if you want a feel of being a king book the suit of he top floor, it is so big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

At first I booked in Andalouss Hotel, and fortunately the hotel was full, and I was transferred to Red House Riad, It was the start of a memorable stay.
I was impressed by the decoration and the style of the architecture, the service was wonderful and the manager Abdellah took care of everything.
I won't think twice if I go to Marrakech again, Red House will be my choice.

Room Tip: Those on the side of the swimming pool or entry have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Younes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited Marrakech at the beginning of May and were lucky enough to stay at The Red House. I came with my family and girlfriend and were shown into a magnificent 'palace' looking bedroom that looks like the kind of room past queens and kings would have lived in. The bathroom was clean and the bedroom itself was very clean. We then walked out to the pool which was fantastic as well (only down point is the noise of the traffic). To the main square it is about a 15 minute walk but well worth it. The service was good but as most people would agree when in Marrakech the service generally with everything is very slow, but, the staff make up for this with the pampering they give there guests with everything. The only down side was that we felt like we had tours, restaurants, taxis and guides pushed down our necks by the manager of The Red House which we knew were at inflated prices. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minggu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a wonderful place. A one hundred year old home converted into a five star riad perfectly located just outside the Marrakech medina with impeccable ambiance, food and service. Our room was large and comfortable with every amenity, including a balcony and a massage shower. The pool and grounds were perfect for relaxing, and the dining room is a magnificent palace of tilework and frescoes. A memorable 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We only stayed for two nights but found this place to be an absolute pleasure!.
The staff cannot do enough for you, and they make everyone feel very welcome.
We were there for a cycling race so did not have the opportunity to eat in the restaurant at dinner, but the breakfast was excellent with the staff coming in early so they could produce our breakfast for us at 6.30am!
They provided free transfers for us which made life so much easier.
We booked the Imperial suite which was a bit wasted on us as we weren't in the place long enough, but what a magnificent suite!!. It was more like a two bedroom apartment, with a beautiful lounge and an absolutely huge terrace!
It is in a nice safe area with very easy walking access to the main square!
I would absolutely recommend this as THE place to stay in Marrakech!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#89 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#35 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort
#120 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#160 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House

Property: The Red House
Address: Avenue Golf | Hivernage, Marrakech 40050, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Red House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing