We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly the best exotic Marrakech hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Red House to your Saves list
The Red House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Avenue El Yarmouk | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly the best exotic Marrakech hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a wonderful place. A one hundred year old home converted into a five star riad perfectly located just outside the Marrakech medina with impeccable ambiance, food and service. Our room was large and comfortable with every amenity, including a balcony and a massage shower. The pool and grounds were perfect for relaxing, and the dining room is a magnificent palace of tilework and frescoes. A memorable 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    49
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
204
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We only stayed for two nights but found this place to be an absolute pleasure!.
The staff cannot do enough for you, and they make everyone feel very welcome.
We were there for a cycling race so did not have the opportunity to eat in the restaurant at dinner, but the breakfast was excellent with the staff coming in early so they could produce our breakfast for us at 6.30am!
They provided free transfers for us which made life so much easier.
We booked the Imperial suite which was a bit wasted on us as we weren't in the place long enough, but what a magnificent suite!!. It was more like a two bedroom apartment, with a beautiful lounge and an absolutely huge terrace!
It is in a nice safe area with very easy walking access to the main square!
I would absolutely recommend this as THE place to stay in Marrakech!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were welcomed right from the moment our taxi pulled up outside the side entrance. Our room was ready and just what we needed - spacious and with a balcony large enough for chairs and table, with a nespresso coffee maker, great TV with 3 satellite links, a shower with massager and separate bath and toilet, excellent firm bed with beautiful sheets and duvet. The only thing that was looking a bit jaded was the carpet, with lots of marks on it, everything else was spot on. Lots of tips and recommendations from the manager, including the introduction to a great tour guide (approx 100Dir per hour) who's English was better than ours.

The hotel is on the main road, so there is traffic noise, but it is next to the wall which surrounds the old town (medina) with all the historic sights, museums and market stalls and massive town square with horse rides all a short walk.

The hotel has a restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner. There's a good set menu, with a musician and belly dancer when we were there. The manager also recommended other places for us to eat and made reservations for us - a great service! BUT - the restaurant does not open for breakfast (we got caught out the first day). You HAVE to order overnight on a menu which you leave on your bedroom door handle and the food is delivered to the room or to the 30 degree heated swimming pool (spotlessly clean) depending upon your choice

The staff at the hotel are all hand picked and given a few months to prove that they can work to the high standards and spirit that the manager tries to instill. It works really well, they were superb bar none ... and again all were switching seamlessly between French, German and English as demanded by the range of guests there.

This is an EXCELLENT boutique hotel, a home from home which we are so glad that we found on trip advisor!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My friends and I stumbled across this Hotel/Restaraunt quite by accident and what a find. We had the most amazing evening meal. We each had different starters and main courses which gave us the opportunity to share. All courses were supurb, served by attentive and extremely friendly staff. We decided that the best meal served that night was the lamb tagine, absolutely delicious ........ and then came the piece de resistance....we were entertained by a quite fabulous belly dancer. An excellent evening which we took advantage of again two nights later where the order of the day was lamb tagine all around. The restaraunt is decorated in a typical Moroccan style, lots of ceramic and soft furnishings. The staff are simply the friedliest people you could wish to meet. Even though we were not staying in the hotel itself they organised us a trip into the Atlas mountains at a very good price. Talking about price, a three course evening meal is currenly 400 Dirhams which at the current excaange rate is a tad over 30 pounds, excellent value. As I write this sitting in our hotel, even though we are not staying at The Red House, our lady wives are around there swimming in their pool, towels and changing facilities provided by them. In a short while we will join them for lunch. Go there. dont miss out on a brilliant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Robson199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Highly recommend staying at The Red House. It's in a great location opposite the city wall. We stayed in a huge suite. Abdul arranged our days for us so that we made the most of our days (and nights) there. Please follow his advice as you will enjoy yourselves better if you listen to a local. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. We went to local restaurant/ nightclub called jad Mahal which was a great night with belly dancers and live band. We also went for a day trip into the Atlas mountains with a guide where we stopped at a local market on the way. A real eye opener. On the last day we visited a hamman in the north of the city which was a real relaxer after a busy few days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euro-wonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Far exceeded expectations
Suite was enormous and very clean and comfortable
Staff excellent always friendly and eager to help and please
Abdul gave us great tour advice and organised everything for us- total efficiency and comfort
The restaurant was superb- best meal we've had for a long time and breakfast served on the terrace or living room very nice way to start day

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Excellent hotel, we stayed three nights in February 2012. Abdel and his staff really looked after us. The bedroom was superb and the food at breakfast and lunch good, the food in the restaurant excellent, especially the Lamb Tagine. I would recommend to anyone and definately be back. Iain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IainSymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#96 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.1 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#35 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort
#130 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#25 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House

Property: The Red House
Address: Avenue El Yarmouk | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Red House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing