We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding choice in general, and really good for kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad El Borj

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ryad El Borj
Ranked #198 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 861 helpful votes
“Outstanding choice in general, and really good for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We staying in the "annex". There was a second bedroom (and bath) for the kids. It looked like it would be possible to set up a third bedroom, too, if you have a very large family. This suite also had a small plunge pool, kitchen, courtyard, and seating area. Just wonderful. The main "lobby" of this 5 or 6 room hotel has a roof top deck with nice views. Super close to main square, and easier to find that I would have expected. Nice breakfast. A+ choice.

Room Tip: The annex was wonderful if you need more space. Didn't cost a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwelshCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    23
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
76
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed in this riad for 2 nights. It was a great experience. The rooms are very clean, the staff are super professional (especially Aziz), the price was very reasonable ( €60 per night, including a great breakfast).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuelaRas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Very nice welcome from the whole crew of the Riad. The owner is very keen on making things perfect for you. Superd riad where we stayed in the Douirya Suite as a family : exceptionnal Suite. Great breakfasts and very pleasant terrace on the top. It was in mid February but the sun was already nice to have a drink on the top. Highly recommended all the more it is only a few steps from famous Djema El Fna plaza. Merci encore ! Nathalie, Nicolas & kids

Room Tip: Douirya Suite unique for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This Ryad (small hotel) is bang in the middle of the Medina (city centre) and is an oasis amid the hustle and bustle of the souk. The rooms are tastefully, individually furnished using local materials and 'nik naks'. The staff are extremely friendly and service is excellent. We stayed overnight before trekking in the Berber villages and then again on our return. We left one bag with the confidence that it would be secure. On both occasions we ate dinner and breakfast. Dinner was excellent (the chicken tagine was superb) and when we were later introduced to the cook, we were informed that she had cooked for the Royal family! Breakfast was a variety of baked breads (take your own roughage)! The price was very reasonable - approximately €120 per night for two people, including breakfast and dinner (not including alcoholic drinks). Pre trek, this hotel was very good. Post trek, it was amazing and we could not help but marvel at the flushing toilet and running water! The whole experience is one not to be missed!

Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in this riad for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon in Morocco and then 2 nights at the end of our stay. Daniel and his staff were superb and really made our stay special. They organised for us to be collected from the airport and taken to the front door of the riad so there were no issues with getting lost. When we arrived Daniel spent time giving us directions and recommending which sites we should visit. We stayed in the Suite Douireya and Suite El Menzah and both were superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartandLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

A lovely riad with lots of Moroccan charm. We stayed 4 nights in the Suite El Menzah which has its own spacious terrace with views of the city and distant mountains - though you have to walk a few stairs to get there. Many thanks to Daniel and Azziz for their very personal attention and assistance with all manner of things, including booking bus tickets to Essouira, accommodation in Imlil and a double package at the nearby hamman. We only had one evening meal there but it was very good, served on a rose petal strewn table and washed down with a good but reasonably priced local wine. As a general rule wine served in Marrakech restaurants can be very pricey and not very good. This is a good place to stay, you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeemate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Like other reviews I agree it would be difficult to find on your own, use the barrow men for as little as 30dh they will take you and your luggage to the door. Coming from the airport the ryad is on the over side of Jemma El Fna Square and depending on what day and what time you arrive it limits to how far a car can enter the area around the square. The location is excellent with the souks and many of the main tourist sites being within easy walking distant, a couple of mins will get you into the square where a horse drawn carriage will take you where you want after agreeing a price
We stayed in the tower room which has a private terrace with great views over Marrakesh, it was prefect for relaxing afternoons before heading back into the madness of the square, the breakfast was simple but filing and tasty, we also had an evening meal, this was dearer then most restaurant's in the square but was certainly of a high quality and quantity, the staff were all smiles and the owner went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.
The stairs could be a problem but the same could be said of most ryads, certainly would stay here again

Room Tip: ask if the tower room is available, more stairs but well worth the climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trentsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Bamboo
Riad Bamboo
#129 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#32 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#16 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#27 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Pourpre Medina
Riad Pourpre Medina
#100 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Ba Sidi
Riad Ba Sidi
#78 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad El Borj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad El Borj

Property: Ryad El Borj
Address: 63 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryad El Borj 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ryad El Borj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad El Borj Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing