We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our honeymoon”
Review of Ryad El Borj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryad El Borj
Ranked #121 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in this riad for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon in Morocco and then 2 nights at the end of our stay. Daniel and his staff were superb and really made our stay special. They organised for us to be collected from the airport and taken to the front door of the riad so there were no issues with getting lost. When we arrived Daniel spent time giving us directions and recommending which sites we should visit. We stayed in the Suite Douireya and Suite El Menzah and both were superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartandLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

A lovely riad with lots of Moroccan charm. We stayed 4 nights in the Suite El Menzah which has its own spacious terrace with views of the city and distant mountains - though you have to walk a few stairs to get there. Many thanks to Daniel and Azziz for their very personal attention and assistance with all manner of things, including booking bus tickets to Essouira, accommodation in Imlil and a double package at the nearby hamman. We only had one evening meal there but it was very good, served on a rose petal strewn table and washed down with a good but reasonably priced local wine. As a general rule wine served in Marrakech restaurants can be very pricey and not very good. This is a good place to stay, you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeemate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Like other reviews I agree it would be difficult to find on your own, use the barrow men for as little as 30dh they will take you and your luggage to the door. Coming from the airport the ryad is on the over side of Jemma El Fna Square and depending on what day and what time you arrive it limits to how far a car can enter the area around the square. The location is excellent with the souks and many of the main tourist sites being within easy walking distant, a couple of mins will get you into the square where a horse drawn carriage will take you where you want after agreeing a price
We stayed in the tower room which has a private terrace with great views over Marrakesh, it was prefect for relaxing afternoons before heading back into the madness of the square, the breakfast was simple but filing and tasty, we also had an evening meal, this was dearer then most restaurant's in the square but was certainly of a high quality and quantity, the staff were all smiles and the owner went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.
The stairs could be a problem but the same could be said of most ryads, certainly would stay here again

Room Tip: ask if the tower room is available, more stairs but well worth the climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trentsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Wow...My first thought entering El Borj. A totally indulgent visual feast.

Orange trees in the courtyard, tiny birds fluttering around, mosaic flooring, metal trellis on the windows, dreamy blues and subtle greens....divine.

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night. Marrekesh was the final stop on a 7day trip to Ouirgan and Essaouira. However I do wish we had booked a few nights, just to settle into the city and get under its skin.

We stayed in the tower suite, El Menzah, complete with its own private terrace...the views across Marrakesh are stunning. We were so lucky to catch the sun setting.

Daniel the owner is lovely and is part of the charm of El Borj. He was the perfect host...albeit for our short visit!!!

Will definitely return to Marrakesh and El Borj. Perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

First and foremost, DO NOT attempt to find this Riad yourself....you won't !! We arranged our Moroccan trip through Naturally Morocco Ltd, and their organisation based on experience was superb. We were met at the main square by a barrow man who took our cases and guided us through the square and narrow streets of the medina to a small alleyway. Stopping at a large wooden door, and wondering what we had booked, our fears were taken over by amazement as the door opened onto a beautiful courtyard, and we were greeted by a lovely older lady who made us a mint tea as part of the welcome.
We had the upper room in the tower which has its own large terrace and a further upper terrace, which commands amazing views of the rooftops and Mosque towers.
We stood on the terrace and watched the sun go down, just as around twenty odd Mosques started their call to prayer....a true Champagne moment.
The French owner Daniel is very attentive and ensures that everything is catered for. Not top luxury but full of character and charm....everything you would imagine a traditional Moroccan Riad would be.
We will return !!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank andybC2858LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

There was good communication after we had booked the ryad, and we didn't take them up on the offer of helping us find it, you should. It is right in the heart of the city, a 2 minute walk from the main square and in amongst the souks. With that in mind we couldn't believe how peaceful the ryad was as soon as you opened the door. We had breakfast on the terrace each morning and mint tea whenever we asked. The courtyard was beautiful with trees and tiles. The pool was very cold and across the street, but ours was more of a winter break and didn't affect us. I don't think we could have had a better location or place to stay on our trip to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 231LolaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Riad and had a great time. Daniel and his staff were all very helpfull. We really enjoyed the breakfast served on the terrace. The riad is perfectly placed to visit all of the attractions in and around the square.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#75 of 499 in Marrakech
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#175 of 499 in Marrakech
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
RIad Al Loune
RIad Al Loune
#140 of 499 in Marrakech
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#60 of 1,171 in Marrakech
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Vanilla sma
Riad Vanilla sma
#42 of 1,171 in Marrakech
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#6 of 306 in Marrakech
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad El Borj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad El Borj

Address: 63 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $62 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryad El Borj 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ryad El Borj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad El Borj Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing