We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ryad El Borj
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$454
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$413
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$512
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
155
24
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
24
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange treesfrench ownertraditional furniturean oasisliving roombeautiful roomaccommodationsquareterracemedinamoroccoazizcalmtranquilityluxuryguide
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 184 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A lovely riad with lots of Moroccan charm. We stayed 4 nights in the Suite El Menzah which has its own spacious terrace with views of the city and distant mountains - though you have to walk a few stairs to get there. Many thanks to Daniel and Azziz for their very personal attention and assistance with all manner of things, including booking bus tickets to Essouira, accommodation in Imlil and a double package at the nearby hamman. We only had one evening meal there but it was very good, served on a rose petal strewn table and washed down with a good but reasonably priced local wine. As a general rule wine served in Marrakech restaurants can be very pricey and not very good. This is a good place to stay, you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeemate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Like other reviews I agree it would be difficult to find on your own, use the barrow men for as little as 30dh they will take you and your luggage to the door. Coming from the airport the ryad is on the over side of Jemma El Fna Square and depending on what day and what time you arrive it limits to how far a car can enter the area around the square. The location is excellent with the souks and many of the main tourist sites being within easy walking distant, a couple of mins will get you into the square where a horse drawn carriage will take you where you want after agreeing a price
We stayed in the tower room which has a private terrace with great views over Marrakesh, it was prefect for relaxing afternoons before heading back into the madness of the square, the breakfast was simple but filing and tasty, we also had an evening meal, this was dearer then most restaurant's in the square but was certainly of a high quality and quantity, the staff were all smiles and the owner went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.
The stairs could be a problem but the same could be said of most ryads, certainly would stay here again

Room Tip: ask if the tower room is available, more stairs but well worth the climb
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trentsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Wow...My first thought entering El Borj. A totally indulgent visual feast.

Orange trees in the courtyard, tiny birds fluttering around, mosaic flooring, metal trellis on the windows, dreamy blues and subtle greens....divine.

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night. Marrekesh was the final stop on a 7day trip to Ouirgan and Essaouira. However I do wish we had booked a few nights, just to settle into the city and get under its skin.

We stayed in the tower suite, El Menzah, complete with its own private terrace...the views across Marrakesh are stunning. We were so lucky to catch the sun setting.

Daniel the owner is lovely and is part of the charm of El Borj. He was the perfect host...albeit for our short visit!!!

Will definitely return to Marrakesh and El Borj. Perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

First and foremost, DO NOT attempt to find this Riad yourself....you won't !! We arranged our Moroccan trip through Naturally Morocco Ltd, and their organisation based on experience was superb. We were met at the main square by a barrow man who took our cases and guided us through the square and narrow streets of the medina to a small alleyway. Stopping at a large wooden door, and wondering what we had booked, our fears were taken over by amazement as the door opened onto a beautiful courtyard, and we were greeted by a lovely older lady who made us a mint tea as part of the welcome.
We had the upper room in the tower which has its own large terrace and a further upper terrace, which commands amazing views of the rooftops and Mosque towers.
We stood on the terrace and watched the sun go down, just as around twenty odd Mosques started their call to prayer....a true Champagne moment.
The French owner Daniel is very attentive and ensures that everything is catered for. Not top luxury but full of character and charm....everything you would imagine a traditional Moroccan Riad would be.
We will return !!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank andybC2858LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

There was good communication after we had booked the ryad, and we didn't take them up on the offer of helping us find it, you should. It is right in the heart of the city, a 2 minute walk from the main square and in amongst the souks. With that in mind we couldn't believe how peaceful the ryad was as soon as you opened the door. We had breakfast on the terrace each morning and mint tea whenever we asked. The courtyard was beautiful with trees and tiles. The pool was very cold and across the street, but ours was more of a winter break and didn't affect us. I don't think we could have had a better location or place to stay on our trip to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 231LolaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews