We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Quiet Riad in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad El Borj

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryad El Borj
Ranked #193 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
München
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet Riad in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed two nights in this lovely Riad. In the middle of the medina only 5 minutes away from Jemaa el Fna this Riad is a peaceful, clean and green (a lot of trees and plants) place to recover from the hectic city.
Daniel, the owner, organisied a pick-up from the airport and someone who brought us with our luggage safely (without getting lost) to the Riad. Daniel gave us a map and a lot of helpful and interesting tips for Marrakesh.
The breakfast was delicious and the Riad's staff was cordially and always had a smile on the lips. The roof-top terrace is very nice too, although a little too hot in the summer months (for us).
We stayed in one of the two rooms in the little Riad, only one minute away from the main building. There you find the very charming (but small) pool to get refreshed and a very nice hang-out area, which you all share with the other Riad-guests. We loved our quiet room with the extravagant bathroom.
If we come back to Marrakesh we surely would stay here again!

Room Tip: The two rooms in the little Riad are very quiet and have a very nice hang-out area with a big tree i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
67
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this Riad over Christmas and we could not have asked for a better place. Our host was the owner Daniel himself. He does not live on site but was there every day to ensure everything ran smoothly. The rooms were clean, the beds firm and the showers hot. The roof terrace is a real sun trap and an oasis of peace. Breakfast included some fantastic home made yogourt delicious.
Daniel could not have been more helpful particularly when my husband was not well. He also booked our onward train tickets and helped us book a 3 day excursion into the the desert.
This is a great place to stay if you want to be in the middle of the souks and yet it was amazingly quiet. The only outside noise one could hear was the sounds from nearby mosques calling the faithful to prayer.
The staff were very friendly and helpful even when we asked for especially early morning breakfasts. I would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to others and if I ever return this is the place I would come back to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneCharles3945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The riad is in the very center of the medina (old town Marrakech) about 5 minutes from the main square. It is like a little paradise in the middle of the crazy city. The weather was nice enough (at Christmas time) for us to have breakfast and later sunbath on the rooftop terrace during the day.

During the renovation most of the original decoration, woodwork was kept so the design is very authentic and pretty. The owner of the riad (a French guy) was very welcoming and he gave us useful tips (for restaurants etc). Merci! His staff is also good.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are probably sunnier and some have a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I think we were the only people staying - lucky us, because we got the royal suite. It was huge! A massive double height living room, separate 'snug' with TV and dvd selection, and on the other side the actual bedroom and en-suite bathroom. All furnished with lovely Moroccan textiles and furniture.
You need to ask a barrow man to take you there - it is not signposted and there is no sign outside. But it is a 2 minute walk to the square so once there you can't get lost.
Daniel, the owner, was really helpful and recommended places for us to visit, including the Museum of Photography. He also suggested restaurants in the Ville Nouvelle for us to visit.
Breakfast was served on the roof terrace - it just appeared whenever we did!
We would love to stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone else looking for a stylish and well located base from which to explore Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for five nights in November 2012. We stayed in the Tower room which was lovely, amazing views with a private roof terrace. The room is advertised as a double but we realised the bed could be separated into twins so the staff changed it for us.

If you want to be near the square this is a great location, only a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle to this calm oasis off a traditional alleyway. Although I haven't stayed in many ryads this felt really spacious, there's lots of communal space both indoor and outdoor and we hardly saw anyone the whole time we were there.

The staff couldn't be more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We wanted s day at a hotel with a pool and a spa and Daniel took the time to ring around a few places and got us booked in somewhere for the day.

We ate there on our first night and the food was some of the best we had in Morocco, we had several bottles of wine on the roof terrace during our stay and it was really reasonably priced at 8 euros a bottle.

I would definitely recommend this to others and if I return to Marrakech it is where I will be staying!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dodgyraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albacete, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

A surprising little bit of paradise tucked away in a dimly lit alley way in the centre of Marrakech. The rooms are quaint with lovely decor, they have large comfortable beds and hot running showers. There can be a lot of stairs to climb so bear that in mind if you are unsteady on your feet! We had dinner cooked for us our first night and we had the whole courtyard to ourselves, the table was decorated, the service was excellent and the food amazing. Compared to eating out, the price was also very reasonable. Definitely worth it. The hosts at the Ryad are lovely, welcoming and helpful but brush up your French before you travel as this will help a lot. The only reason for 4 out of 5 and not a full 5 is due to having to evade the homeless people on the way into the Ryad. Some people may find this a little intimidating.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin_Shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The riad is as nice as on their photos, but apart from that we were really disappointed from our stay there. The surrounding is very busy and it's hard to get to the riad without paying some kids who you wouldn't have found it without their help. We asked for restaurant recommendations and the receptionist had only one recommendation, a pretty touristy place close to the Jamaa el Fna. Breakfast was nothing special and it seemed that no one had a great attention for details. Unfortunately, same applies to the roof terrace...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLin1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#108 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#18 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Mamoune
Riad Al Mamoune
#238 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellamane, Ryad & Spa
Bellamane, Ryad & Spa
#73 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Tchaikana
Dar Tchaikana
#104 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Karama
Riad Al Karama
#54 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad El Borj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad El Borj

Property: Ryad El Borj
Address: 63 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryad El Borj 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ryad El Borj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad El Borj Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing