We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent riad in the medina +friendly and helpful owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad El Borj

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryad El Borj
Ranked #206 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent riad in the medina +friendly and helpful owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The riad is in the very center of the medina (old town Marrakech) about 5 minutes from the main square. It is like a little paradise in the middle of the crazy city. The weather was nice enough (at Christmas time) for us to have breakfast and later sunbath on the rooftop terrace during the day.

During the renovation most of the original decoration, woodwork was kept so the design is very authentic and pretty. The owner of the riad (a French guy) was very welcoming and he gave us useful tips (for restaurants etc). Merci! His staff is also good.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are probably sunnier and some have a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
66
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I think we were the only people staying - lucky us, because we got the royal suite. It was huge! A massive double height living room, separate 'snug' with TV and dvd selection, and on the other side the actual bedroom and en-suite bathroom. All furnished with lovely Moroccan textiles and furniture.
You need to ask a barrow man to take you there - it is not signposted and there is no sign outside. But it is a 2 minute walk to the square so once there you can't get lost.
Daniel, the owner, was really helpful and recommended places for us to visit, including the Museum of Photography. He also suggested restaurants in the Ville Nouvelle for us to visit.
Breakfast was served on the roof terrace - it just appeared whenever we did!
We would love to stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone else looking for a stylish and well located base from which to explore Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for five nights in November 2012. We stayed in the Tower room which was lovely, amazing views with a private roof terrace. The room is advertised as a double but we realised the bed could be separated into twins so the staff changed it for us.

If you want to be near the square this is a great location, only a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle to this calm oasis off a traditional alleyway. Although I haven't stayed in many ryads this felt really spacious, there's lots of communal space both indoor and outdoor and we hardly saw anyone the whole time we were there.

The staff couldn't be more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We wanted s day at a hotel with a pool and a spa and Daniel took the time to ring around a few places and got us booked in somewhere for the day.

We ate there on our first night and the food was some of the best we had in Morocco, we had several bottles of wine on the roof terrace during our stay and it was really reasonably priced at 8 euros a bottle.

I would definitely recommend this to others and if I return to Marrakech it is where I will be staying!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dodgyraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albacete, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

A surprising little bit of paradise tucked away in a dimly lit alley way in the centre of Marrakech. The rooms are quaint with lovely decor, they have large comfortable beds and hot running showers. There can be a lot of stairs to climb so bear that in mind if you are unsteady on your feet! We had dinner cooked for us our first night and we had the whole courtyard to ourselves, the table was decorated, the service was excellent and the food amazing. Compared to eating out, the price was also very reasonable. Definitely worth it. The hosts at the Ryad are lovely, welcoming and helpful but brush up your French before you travel as this will help a lot. The only reason for 4 out of 5 and not a full 5 is due to having to evade the homeless people on the way into the Ryad. Some people may find this a little intimidating.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin_Shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The riad is as nice as on their photos, but apart from that we were really disappointed from our stay there. The surrounding is very busy and it's hard to get to the riad without paying some kids who you wouldn't have found it without their help. We asked for restaurant recommendations and the receptionist had only one recommendation, a pretty touristy place close to the Jamaa el Fna. Breakfast was nothing special and it seemed that no one had a great attention for details. Unfortunately, same applies to the roof terrace...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLin1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had an wonderful stay in this lovely Ryad right in the middle of the souks close to el efna. This ryad is arranged with much love to details. The food is outstanding and the service superb! Our expectations were by far exceeded and you can not avoid falling in love with this place and the staff!


Daniel, we will surely come back!

Merci beacoup!

A bien tôt

Yasmin & Dirk

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dscherid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Excellent place to stay in the midst of the madness of the Medina.
Very good for my 9 year old son who was given extra youghurt every day for breakfast and generally fussed over. Food gorgeous-lamb tagine wth bananas and lovely plates of hors d'oevres. My son wasn't charged for evening meal and the staff even rushed to the shop to get him some fanta. our wine was at cost price too.
Pool is absolutely freezing so bear this in mind when booking at Easter. Would imagine it would be quite a treat in the heat of summer. I plan to return and book the tower room so we can see the view. We were in the beautiful suite- what an amazing bath with loads of hot water at any time of day!

Room Tip: Tower room for view. Suite for all out luxury. Am sure all rooms were good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#53 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#5 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Wow
Riad Wow
#125 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#8 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
#133 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad El Borj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad El Borj

Property: Ryad El Borj
Address: 63 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryad El Borj 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ryad El Borj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad El Borj Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing