We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Meriem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Meriem
Ranked #238 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

There is nothing you can complain about with this beautiful riad. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. It's in the heart of the medina so it's tricky to find if you are no good with directions but once you do the walk once it's easy. It's daunting at first as it's down winding alleys that get darker as you go through but it's safe and you get the true Marrakech experience in the heart of the old town.

Cyrus, Hassan and Abdul we're extremely helpful and friendly and nothing with too much for them.

The rooms were super clean, the food excellent, their insights top notch. They even gave us a bottle of bubbly for my girlfriends birthday which was a lovely touch.

Don't bother about looking elsewhere this riad and it's staff are the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    15
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
74
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

What an amazing place. The rooms are beautiful, the staff were wonderful . It was a 10 minute walk to the main square which you have to walk. So it might not be great if you struggle with walking any distance but the same could be said for Marrakech in general. But that said this riad is great. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaffacakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Fantastic little place if you want to experience a true slice of Morrocco. Hidden inside the catacomb of alleys and small winding streets (think Bourne Identity) behind a small unassuming door is an amazing boutique style Morrocan Riad.

The staff ate friendly and helpful, they made us feel special and gave us their full attention.

Cyrus is a jolly English chap who is very informative and will give you some great advice on how to get the best from your trip.

Food is very good, you must try the beef Tagine with apricots!!

The standard of the rooms is excellent, all air conditioned and unique, no two rooms are the same design, but each one has been designed using a Morroccan theme by a well renowned New York designer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew-Warner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This RIAD gets 5 stars from me... Beautiful interior with the attention to detail that only an interior designer does Thomas Hays.... But what makes this stand apart from the crowd are the people... Cyrus and his wonderful team where nothing is too much trouble... From organising a birthday meal on the roof top of the RIAD to tips on where to eat the best street food for a traditional experience... To trying Hammam's that are amazing but don't break the bank... Question should you book it?.... You'd be foolish not toooo......

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo90jo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed four nights in the Riad; first time to get into the riad might be a little scary but you get used to narrow, dark back streets of Medina so it is definitely not a deal breaker!
There are 5 rooms only and they are all decorated by the interior designer owner in different aesthetic. Each room is equally beautiful, very chic! I read some people complaint about the way to the riad, darkness of the rooms... then go and stay in a very western way decorated chain hotel! The Riad is in top 5 boutique hotel list at Elle Magazine and definitely deserves it. Very peaceful, great decoration, serves best dinner - we ate in other places too - but the most important part of the riad is Hassan and Abdul! they are amazing!! they are ready for any help 24/7! I hope the owner appreciates their hard work...
the only down side is wi-fi is not ayri g at the riad. I could not get any signal in the room. Breakfast was very decent, diner was superb!
I strongly recommend this riad for those who like to experience life in Medina but. still stay in a chic place!
Use their transportation service cause it's difficult to find the hotel first time, plus you can't carry your luggages by your self that far cause cars can't go in that far into streets.
Beautiful beautiful beautiful place!!! Thanks one more time to Hassan and Abdul!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALI CAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

wonderful stay.stylish and cool designs.great place to chill out in the evenings.quiet and tranquil.DELICIOUS food!and a super friendly service!if I ever decide to go back to Marrakech it's going to be riad meriem again!

Room Tip: only 5 rooms in the riad.all of them excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madja31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Initially, when we were looking for accommodation in Marrakech, we thought it was a bit pricey as there were many cheaper hotels around. However, upon arriving and staying in the hotel, the service we have received, the place itself, food and quiet location is worth the money. It felt like being at home after coming back from the hectic city of Marrakesh. The staff, Cyrus the manager, Hassan and Abdul went out of their way to help us with anything we want and always with a smile. Nothing was too much for them. Our first night, we had a traditional Moroccan dinner at the Riad and it was by far the best food we had in Marrakesh. This hotel sets precedence in terms of service, design and food for us. Thank you so much for making our stay a memorable and wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca_1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#262 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad 5 Sens
Riad 5 Sens
#286 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Eliane
Riad Dar Eliane
#338 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#160 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Reve d'Or
Riad Reve d'Or
#230 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#68 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Meriem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Meriem

Property: Riad Meriem
Address: 97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Meriem 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Meriem is (in his own words) "a labour of love" for the New York designer Thomas Hays. He has created it with the art lover in mind with a fusion of oriental textiles, exquisite paintings plus his own Fine Art Photography. This exclusive boutique hotel has been entirely crafted by Marrakchi artisans to ensure that it retains its authenticity whilst using the talents of the best local craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Meriem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Meriem Marrakech
Riad Meriem Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing