We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Origin Hotels Riad Magi
Ranked #284 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

I stay at Riad Magi on every visit to Morocco when I am en route to my holiday home in Essaouira. The staff are delightful, I am met at the airport and helped with my luiggage which is just perfect. The riad is beautiful with a magically calm atmosphere. I leave feeing rested and ready for my onward journey fortified with a delicious breakfast of freshly baked croissants, fresh orange juice, pancakes and home made yoghurt, What could be better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofia06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    14
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
45
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed for three nights and payed in advance. Maggie was wonderful when we booked over the phone and took endless trouble to explain everything to us and give us advice, since it was our first visit to Morocco. The family-owned riad operates with a level of trust and warmth that feels as though you are coming home each time you return. Nothing was too much trouble and we particularly enjoyed sunny breakfasts on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrydance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

I stayed at Riad Maji during the Arts in Marrakech Festival. The Riad is part of the fringe festival. Its event is always one of the most popular - and just about the only one which extends its (free) hospitality to ordinary Moroccans and genuinely reflects the local culture.
I have stayed there several times and it's a real home-from-home as the staff are great and Maggie is most welcoming and helpful. I think your reviewer who was put off by paying by cheque etc. missed out on a wonderful holiday experience with her nit-picking attitude but I can't help feeling rather glad about that , as all the people I have met at the Riad have had the easy and relaxed attitude you need to get the best out of Morocco. Your reviewer comes across as too uptight to really enjoy the place. A lucky escape there Maggie is all I can say.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksonsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

On February 2nd (two months before our intended stay) I called Magi Perry to make a booking for two double rooms for two nights at Riad Magi. She quoted me a price of £75 per room per night, which I agreed to happily. She then said to confirm the booking I would need to post her a cheuqe for £100 (who writes cheques these days anyway!) and then would need to pay the remaining £200 before I left the UK and had even landed in Marakesh!! I told her I thought paying the full amount for a hotel before you had even been to the country was very strange and she insisted that everyone does it. I explained I had stayed all over the world and had always paid on check-out and she replied "this is no backpacking place". She proceeded to be terribly rude.
I almost told her that we were no backpackers and our last hotel had been five star. But I didn't bother. I cancelled my booking right away.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Grace037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

In the knowledge that we had organised a complicated surf tour ahead of us, we wanted to find somewhere we could relax with trustworthy hosts at a reasonable price.

We were picked up from the airport and had already had a great transfer rate negotiated for us by the Riad team. We then arrived and were given a lovely breakfast after a gruelling early start from Luton.

We were immediately given bottled water and offered any help or advice we required.

The acommodation itself was lovely, Tadelakt plaster in beautiful colours and a lovely communal roof terrace and courtyard was always lovely to come back to after the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh.

The Riad team organised our taxi to the coast for 6 at an incredibly good rate and sorted our return.

We had dinner in the Riad before flying out the next day and it was our best meal in Morocco.

Definately would recommend.

Sam

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hockmansLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happedazze
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

Wonderful location. Stayed here with 4 other medical mission volunteers following our mission in Er-rachida. I liked it so much I went back a week later for two days when my bf came to travel with me. The staff is wonderful, the owner Magi is very accomodating and gracious. Loved having breakfast on the roof, it's very cozy and romantic.

highly recommend staying here..

  • Liked — atmosphere and staff
  • Disliked — narrow stairwell
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happedazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon. We stayed for 2 nights at the start, and 4 nights at the end. The service here is way above expectation, the staff who work here are helpful, friendly, professional. But they also seem to enjoy working here, which adds to the lovely atmosphere.

Morocco threw everything it could at us, storms in the Sahara, villages washed away in front of our eyes, illness, and a dishonest driver - but on returning to riad Magi we were able to recover in style.

Maggie, who owns the Riad, helped us arrange several excursions, and we took advantage of khadija (one fo the staff) excellent culinary skills with an afternoon of learning to cook some moroccan dishes.

I would definitely recommend Riad Magi,

  • Liked — friendly, intimate atmosphere
  • Disliked — the pillows, they need new ones in the little room (i had to think of something)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smeshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#211 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#439 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Agdim
Riad Agdim
#247 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Rubis
Riad Le Rubis
#279 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#30 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Origin Hotels Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Property: Origin Hotels Riad Magi
Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Origin Hotels Riad Magi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Magi is a colourful five-room riad that gives a feeling of mystery and adventure with its narrow stairways and variety of floor levels. It is located two doors down from Riad Lhena, close to Jamaa El Fna. The Riad Magi courtyard is shaded by large orange trees creating a wonderful atmosphere for dining together in the Moroccan tradition. The rooftop terrace is perfect for relaxing in the sun or outdoor dining with its sun loungers and canopied lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Origin Hotels Riad Magi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing