We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Origin Hotels Riad Magi
Ranked #333 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Ideally placed a few paces from the main square and the souks, this intimate riad has bundles of character and is managed by a delightful man named Abdhul.The breakfasts are delicious and the riad is peaceful, which is quite an achievement in Marrakech. I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 126 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Riad Magi staff very attentive everything organised from pick up at airport to delivery with luggage at reception in riad. Very good breakfast set us up for day, offers of coffee or mint tea when we returned to riad from day of sightseeing .Staff worked constantly keepingriad clean and tidyso quiet but only 5 mins from very busy Jeema el Fna where anything goes Souks on doorstep good variety of restaurants,be prepared to wander and to get lost no matter how many maps you have, you come across sights by accident a good way to see life in the medina. Warning be aware of very good pickpockets I had my mobile taken from buttoned pocket in narrow busy street be careful without being paranoid.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 4 nights and had a most enjoyable time. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfasts are excellent. It is situated about 4 minutes from the top of the main square, but since it is round a few corners it is blissfully quiet - it is hard to believe it is only a short stroll from the busslingly life of the square.

The riad also runs Moroccan cooking courses, which we did not attend, but there was one during our stay which looked very good.

No swimming pool - but this did not matter to us.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently enjoyed a very pleasant stay at this friendly and attractive riad. Located just a few hundred yards from the main square, it's the ideal base for your Marrakech adventure. From the moment you step inside, the attentive staff will make you feel right at home (we had a pot of mint tea waiting for us!) The brightly-coloured rooms are basic but have an authentic charm, whilst the roof terrace provides decent views over the city and the perfect breakfast setting. The staff were very helpful in answering our (many) questions and organising excursions outside Marrakech (e.g. ask about a Land Rover tour up into the Atlas Mountains to see how the Berber people live). All in all, we would thoroughly recommend Riad
Magi for anyone seeking a relaxed and romantic place to stay. SA

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anders83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Loved this place! An authentic experience of a Marrakesh. Small number of nicely decorated rooms (home from home feel) with very attentative staff. Breakfast on the roof top garden was great, boiled eggs, fresh juices, yogurts etc. Can't be beaten on location, the souk & main square is right on your doorstep. The manager Abdulsak was extremely helpful from airport pick ups right the way through to booking restaurants (Le Comptoir & Le Tanjia) & tours (4x4 upto Ourika Valley in the Atlas Mountains for a walk & lunch). Couldnt fault Raid Magi, a touch of real Marrkesh in comfort! The owner Maggie is a delight to deal with. An ambassdor for the place with an encyclopedic knowledge of what makes it tick!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at the Riad Magi for 2 nights. Its position was perfect - tucked away in a quiet backwater but only minutes away from the bustling souk. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated and we ate in the central courtyard amongst the orange trees.The staff were very helpful and friendly, carrying our baggage to and from the square, arranging taxis and serving up delicious breakfasts. The owner, Maggie, gave us apperitifs on the house then accompanied us into Marrakech where we dined together at one of her favourite restaurants. This was our first trip to Marrakesh and our stay at Riad Maji helped to make it a very special experience.

Jill and Robin Martin

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed in this Riad twice during our 2 weeks trought Marrocos.

This was the first place we arrived to, so we were charmed by how sort of nice it appeared - not luxurious, but simple & traditional.

We were not to bothered by the enormous amount of noise starting at 6am - one day at 5 even. Neither troubled by the lack of privacy.

When we went to pay the first time around & the lady had considerably inflated the price agreed (we ended up paying around 1100 DM per night). We did not want to stress we just paid it - after all, what's a few euros when one is enjoying a holiday.

Then we set off driving north to Fes & decided to return for the last night to Riad Magi. Since I was sick on that day (terrible food poisoning)
It took considerably longer to arrive - so we called the hotel to inform that we would be arriving between 10 & 11 pm. As we arrived - there was no one to open the door - we had to wait in the rain as a couple of neighbors of the hotel we so kind to call & try to find the staff for us - we were met with a not friendly face & no appologies on the part of the staff!!

We had also reserved a specif room - instead, we were given a tiny other room.

But all this would be really little if the lady had not demanded of us at 8 am ( I was still sleeping - as still unwell) to pack and be out by 10 - as she was busy & had a group arriving then - btw normal checkout time is 12 & we had booked over a week in advance.

After staying in several places throughout Marrocos - I can certainly say that the main attraction in this hotel is the location, since the staff is not caring & rude.

Also, important to note that rooms are full of damp - so, mind it if you or your kids have asthma or allergies.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lmastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#60 of 500 in Marrakech
1,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
#395 of 1,187 in Marrakech
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#76 of 500 in Marrakech
2,137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Origin Hotels Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $54 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Origin Hotels Riad Magi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Magi is a colourful five-room riad that gives a feeling of mystery and adventure with its narrow stairways and variety of floor levels. It is located two doors down from Riad Lhena, close to Jamaa El Fna. The Riad Magi courtyard is shaded by large orange trees creating a wonderful atmosphere for dining together in the Moroccan tradition. The rooftop terrace is perfect for relaxing in the sun or outdoor dining with its sun loungers and canopied lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Origin Hotels Riad Magi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing