We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfort and tranquility in bustling Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Yeux Bleus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Les Yeux Bleus
Ranked #451 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and tranquility in bustling Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I, together with one of our daughters had a three-night stay here in July 2013. The riad is a beautiful oasis of calm. The rooms are lovely, the staff polite and welcoming and the food delicious. We had a wonderfully relaxing stay and certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 931R_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    20
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed a total of 4 nights at Les Yeux Bleus in June. This riad is serene and peaceful with beautifully appointed public rooms and guest rooms, no generic hotel furnishings here and no hotel night life aside from reading and quiet conversation. Both single and double rooms were small but certainly comfortable and adequate in terms of space. Beautiful tiled bathrooms do not have doors which was just something to get used to for us Americans.
Breakfast each morning was local bread with jam made of local fruit, freshly squeezed local orange juice and delicious cafe au lait with or without eggs. The staff was so helpful and friendly, very professional and accomodating.
We had one dinner at Les Yeux Bleus which was very good, but a bit expensive.
Cafe Arabe just a block away has a gorgeous outdoor dining room with very good food. We stopped into their bar one evening as we were early for our diner reservation. What a treat! A delightful maitre d and talented pianist entertained us while we had drinks.
Les Yeux Bleus is about a 15 minute walk to the souks and other interesting sites which makes it very convenient. I can't think of a more perfect place to stay in Marrakech.
Speaking French, while not essential, is VERY helpful!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 5 days at Les Yeux Bleus. It is truly a beautiful peaceful haven away from all the hustle and bustle going on outside. Perfectly located on the edge of the medina and just a short walk to Jamaa El-Fna and from there the souks! The rooms aren't huge but are beautifully decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There is a central courtyard with a very cold pool which was perfect for hanging feet in after a hard mornings walk whilst drinking mint tea! The sun terrace was perfect! The management staff were friendly and helpful and booked restaurants and a trip to the Atlas Mountains for us. This trip was slightly disappointing, although I wasn't sure what to expect! If you want to buy a kaftan, at a fair price without haggling try NAAMA YOUSSEF at 242 Souk Bab Doukkala. (GSM 021271158512), just round the corner. Mine is lovely and was altered free of charge! All in all a great place to stay where I wouldn't hesitate recommending to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying for three nights in this beautiful riad and would heartily recommend it to anyone wishing for beauty and tranquility, away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Throughout our stay we were made to feel welcome by all the staff, who were courteous and kind. The service was impeccable: attentive without being overbearing. The managers helpfully made restaurant bookings on our behalf, shared useful local knowledge and always greeted us with a smile.

The riad is ideally located only minutes away from the Bab Doukala mosque and Jamma El-Fna square. It it something of a pleasant shock to go from the dusty, noisy streets of Marrakech, along narraow alleyways through a rather unassuming front door into a place of paradise: a central courtyard with an ice-cold pool, intimate seating areas on the terrace and beautifully decorated nooks and crannies which reveal tantalising insights into the rich arts and crafts heritage of Morocco. The rooms are spread over three floors and vary in size, but are beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. Further seating and sun-bed areas are available on the roof terrace, along with a hammam and massage room.

A delicious breakfast is served on the terrace in good weather and comprises fresh bread, fruit, yoghurt, cheese and traditional pancakes, washed down with fresh orange juice and coffee. We enjoyed dinner cooked in-house at the riad on one night: simple, but generous fare of pastilla, chicken tagine, cous cous and roasted vegetables. The dessert of crushed fruits was unambitious but refreshing.

Overall, we had a fabulous time and would have no qualms about staying at le Riad les Yeux Bleus again. The only possible downsides are that the bathroom/toilet area is not screened off from the rest of the bedroom, which could be embarrassing! In addition, the availability of hot water in the bathroom was somewhat inconsistent. We also took advantage of the in-house hammam and massage treatments, which were relaxing and invigorating! Our top tip would be to clarify the final cost of these before you go ahead: hidden charges were not made entirely transparent.These issues, however, did not compromise our stay at this idyllic and peaceful haven.

Room Tip: Ask for any room aside from the one next to the kitchen to avoid unwanted early morning wake-up call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana_Eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We brought the family and stayed for a week at Les Yeux Bleus. The riad is ideally located next to the Bab Doukala musk and you just cross the street to visit the medina. It takes 5 mns to walk to Jamaa El-Fna.
The place is extremely well decorated and the riad is not dark as others we stayed at. The rooms are not huge but very comfortable. A swimming pool has replaced the traditional fountain in the middle of the patio and is just big enough to relax after a good walk in the city.

People welcome you warmly, are useful and make you feel home.
We had one dinner at the riad (300dhs per head), they serve wine, good pastilla and excellent couscous. Could do better on dessert.
Breakfast is not very sophisticated (you can have nespresso coffee) but comprises delicious msamen crepes which in themselves make the trip worthwhile. It is served in the patio or on the terrasse depending on the season.
If you are picky on imperfections (you can - given the price), you may be disappointed due to some details like lack of intimacy in some rooms or intermittent hot water problems in the bathroom. However, the overall ambiance/decoration made us forget those points and come back with a large smile.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDifficultDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited Marrakesh last weekend with a group of friends, 13 of us in all, to celebrate my husband's birthday. The booking process at the Riad was perfect, one phone all and several emails answered all my questions. The staff couldn't have been kinder or more courteous to us. We had a dinner on arrival which was very late by the time we all got there. The meal and the service was wonderful. All our friends were thrilled with the comfortable and unusual rooms and enchanted by the building and decor. It is very quiet and peaceful and the roof garden blissful! We cannot recommend the Riad more highly, it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and unusual. Beds comfortable. Room next to the dining room quite dark, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed one night at Les Yeux Bleus at the start of ten days in Morocco. It is located inside the Medina and one gets a great sense of culture and history. The hotel is a beautiful place and very atmospheric. The room was nice and bed was ultra comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay and went for a tremendous evening meal at La Maison D'Arabe which is down a narrow alley very close to the hotel. The manager was very helpful throughout. Thoroughly recommend this hotel as an introduction to the romance of Morocco.

Room Tip: I imagine that all the rooms are pretty good. The hotel is a "Riad" so all rooms radiate a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#115 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#178 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#100 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#33 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#124 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Yeux Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Yeux Bleus

Property: Riad Les Yeux Bleus
Address: 7 Derb El Ferrane, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Yeux Bleus 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Les Yeux Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Yeux Bleus Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing