We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a haven of peace in rowdy medina”
Review of Riad El Arsat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad El Arsat
Ranked #402 of 1,154 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a haven of peace in rowdy medina”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Riad El Arsat is really an oasis in the hustling medina of Marrakesh. Enormous walls keep the medina at bay and the trees, flowers, pool keep it silent and cool inside. You can have a totally quiet holiday staying at home, reading, swimming, eating suiperb meals from Fatima. Or go clubbing, shopping and sightseeing in Marrakesh. Two hols in one. Lovely huge rooms with great decor by Nicole, the charming and chirpy patronne. We spent a couple of days before continuing to Mirleft to stay in Nicle's other place there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gormar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed one night on our way back from Kasbah Tabelkoukt which is owned by the same people. Riad El Arsat is hedonistically luxurious with the accommodation spread out around the huge riad garden and there are seemingly endless rooms and corners, terraces and seats where you can make yourself at home. When we arrived on a cool December night the fire in our room was lit - a lovely thoughtful touch. Charles showed us round the whole place and pointed out the Djemaa el Fna from the rooftop - you could hear the clamour and see the dust rising through the flickering light, less 10 minutes walk away. Our room was utterly quiet, amazingly so considering we were in the middle of a city. We were woken by the doves in the garden just in time to savour the sunlight hitting the terrace outside our room where breakfast was served. We loved this place and will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaches040
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I had an amazing stay at the Riad. The food was fantastic and very friendly staff. The atmostphere was relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaches040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2010

I visited the riad for two consecutive years around new year eve 2008 with my girlfriend Sarah and 2009 with Sarah and four other friends of ours. I cannot wait to get back again. El Arsat is an incredible place, a hidden winter and summer garden with a lovely pool in the middle of medina at the very end of a narrow alley, where you would never expect to find such a spacious riad, sheltered from high walls. The host, Nicole, is very charming and helpful. The in-house cook, Fatima, prepares excellent traditional Moroccan food but will never give away one of her precious recipes, so do not ask only enjoy! We stayed at the upper floor suite both times, the rooms are decorated with excellent taste, the bed is confortable and the place is super quiet at night, so you will be sure to relax and sleep like a baby. All rooms have a lovely fireplace which keeps you warm if you go during winter season. Downstairs, you will dine in a luxurious dining room superbly refurbished by Nicole by maintaining the original architecture, or in the large garden under the stars. A very romantic place for couples but also enjoyable with friends or family. You may find other luxury hotels for the same price in Marrakech, but El Arsat is unique in many ways, it makes you feel like you are back to the golden days of Marrakech, part of an elite of people in the know, miles away from the shallow waters of mass tourism. A must try

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreap1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

I travelled here with my wife (on the Marrakech express, so obviously we are "of a certain age") and Riad El Arsat was perfect. The riad is surrounded by the bustle of the medina, ten minutes walk from Djemaa el-Fna (the old city's central plaza), but is a calm, quiet, refuge. There is a large garden with orange and palm trees, and constant bird song. Accomodation is in two houses at each end of the garden, renovated to a very high standard in what I think may be a Moroccan / Andalucian style.
Breakfast (pastries and coffee) was served either outside our room on the veranda overlooking the garden, or in the garden itself (or where-ever we wanted, I imagine). We also ordered dinner on the night we arrived, which was served in the salon.
The staff, under Meryam's management, operate to a high standard, and were always friendly, polite, and sympathetic.
On the roof terrace, which is higher than many surrounding properties, there are clear views of the snow-covered High Atlas mountains in the distance.
Basically, when the bedlam of the medina gets too much, relaxing at riad El Arsat is perfect.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank gesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#69 of 500 in Marrakech
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 500 in Marrakech
1,688 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#51 of 500 in Marrakech
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Arsat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Arsat

Property: Riad El Arsat
Address: 10 Derb Chemaa, Arset Loughzail | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 1,154 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Arsat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Riad El Arsat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing