We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of Riad 72

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad 72
Ranked #19 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We arrived down the alley and walked in the door to heaven. Our cases vanished to our rooms (thanks Aziz!) and we sat under the banana tree in the courtyard where our hands were washed with warm water poured over from a brass jar over a basin before we were given mint tea to relax us. We then got a brief info of our location and what was nearby and what to do, where to go, where to eat etc.
There are only 4 rooms in this riad and so it was really peaceful. Sadly we only had 2 nights and so did not get to do the cookery course we could have done as the food here was amazingly good. Everyone was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We also stayed in El Fenn and while we loved it too, both experiences were totally different. We would return to both for different reasons. This was a place of calm with amazing food and would be lovely to take over with a group of friends as it is so small.

Room Tip: I think we had the worst room (and it wasn't bad, just not as amazing as our friends room and an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 581 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We had booked to stay at their sister Riad. Due to some problems with the booking, the Riad could not accommodate us in our booked room. They arranged us to stay at the Karma Suite, easily the most beautiful rooms we ever stayed.


The service was very good through out. Selecting our own soap at the start was a fabulous touch.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Iguk1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Yes it really is a haven in the bustle of a crazy city. Helpful and kind staff look after you well in French if not English. It's not a hotel really - much more like someone's house, so don't expect telly or a lot of info about what happens when (cooks night off for example!) and the stairs up to your bed in Zharma are steep and sway slightly plus even if you ask for breakfast at 0800 it probably won't be quite on time.. But on the other hand the style and atmosphere is like no hotel ever achieved, you are right in the Medina with a rooftop to dine on and look out to Koutoubia mosque... So what's not to enjoy?

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

In the middle of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, you can find Riad 72 an amazing traditional Moroccan multi-story house with nice interior garden,top-roof terrace with lounge seats, beautiful rooms and yummie food, @indoor hammam. When travelling the people you meet can make the difference... Inspiring where the staff at Riad 72: Asma, Aziz and Rachid thanks for your kindness, making us feel 'at home' and so welcome in Marrakesh. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms: we booked the Amal deluxe room with private salon, lavish bathtub and fresh flowers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Before arriving in Marrakech, I read the reviews and thought "what are people banging on about?", when they spoke of their riad being a peaceful haven in a crazy city. Surely everyone was being a touch dramatic? How wrong I was. Marrakech is one of the most frantic, bustling, overwhelming and (at times) difficult places we have visited. It can be tiring, but it's not without its compensations. Make no mistake, this is a place that can assault your senses and live your head spinning. So all the more reason to choose your lodgings carefully.

Riad 72 was virtually perfect in every way. From start to finish, we were treated with respect and kindness. Met at our car, our luggage was loaded into a small cart and pushed through the manic scenes of the medina. In less than five minutes, we were in and sitting down in the peaceful courtyard. Replete with banana trees, shrubs and a fountain, we sat down and were welcomed with Moroccan tea, whilst small birds landed on our table in the hope of getting a crumb or two from the delicious homemade biscuits. Matteo then explained to us everything we needed to know, using a map to show us some good restaurants and sites of interest, and highlighting the best routes to and from the riad.

Our room - the Karma Suite - was somewhere we could really unwind. A great skylight that added atmosphere. A place where we could sit with a book, and let time pass. Not that we did that too often, but it is important to have a place to rest before heading back out into the city. If you have one of the smaller rooms, there are still plenty of spaces to relax, such as the courtyard or the rooftop terrace (which, on a clear day, affords spectacular views across the city towards the Atlas Mountains).

The food in the riad is particularly noteworthy. The breakfasts (with slight variations on each of our mornings) really set us up for the day. Fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, breads and fantastic cheese. Different kinds of pancakes, too. We ordered two dinners during our stay and didn't regret it. Slightly more pricey than some parts of town, but you get what you pay for. And you don't need to order too much (we had a starter each, and shared a main, and then had dessert and felt satisfied). There are plenty of options in the town (and some good recommendations from the riad), but do reserve at least one meal on site.

We were given assistance to arrange a day trip to Ait Benhaddou (a world heritage site some way to the south... a long drive through the mountains and then desert, but a good place to go). All completely open and transparent - there was no secret that the cost was higher than had we gone to the main square and arranged through a tout, but we were assured that the guide would be competent, and that the transport would be safe, clean and modern. It ticked all the boxes, and we were very grateful for the staff at Riad 72 for arranging everything we wanted at such short notice.

Overall, a great place to stay. The city will not be to everyone's taste, but we were glad we came and experienced everything on offer (the good, and the not so good). What was beyond reproach was Riad 72. Every member of staff was friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Most spoke English (very helpful if French or Arabic are not in your repertoire). We would recommend the place without hesitation, and would stay here again should we ever head back to Marrakech. If you are heading this way, give this place a go... you're unlikely to be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the Karma Suite is worth the splurge... if not, I am confident that any of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naniwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our stay in Riad 72 was excellent and I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay within the Marrakech medina. Unlike some of the other riads we visited during our stay in Marrakech and throughout Morocco, Riad 72 has a sleek, sexy feel to it. Rooms have poured concrete showers, luxury bath products, and very comfortable beds. The bathroom in our room was open to the the bed area, so I would recommend that anyone bothered by having both bathroom and bedroom combined select a room with a separate washroom and toilet. Service here could not have been better. All of the staff was extremely gracious, helpful, and among the frendliest that we encountered throughout our trip. Breakfast was superb and the onsite hammam was a welcome break from trekking around the dusty souks.

Thanks to all of the staff at Riad 72 for making our trip in Marrakech a success!

Jeff + Rodney

Room Tip: Make sure to check if your room has an en suite but separate bathroom. The bath area in our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times and have always found it to be a luxurious and relaxing experience. The staff are attentive and the food is delicious.

As with most things in Marrakech you need to settle in and expect the unexpected. 72 is a wonderful place to retire to...I will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
1,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#18 of 499 in Marrakech
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
1,778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#6 of 499 in Marrakech
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#79 of 499 in Marrakech
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 72? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 72

Address: 72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $161 - $1,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad 72 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad 72 is a romantic retreat that mixes the best of modern Moroccan craftsmanship with contemporary Moroccan design. It has its own private hammam and, thanks to its lushly planted patio, fountain and water features, songbirds are often found here serenading the guests. The terrace is one of the highest of the medina. It offers incomparable views over the old city and onto the majestic Atlas mountains: ideal for soaking up the sun or a sunset aperitif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad 72 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 72 Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing